New Books At The Zief Law Library

Publisher: Louisville, CO: National Institute for Trial Advocacy, 2023.
Problems in Trial Advocacy is a practical resource for enhancing courtroom skills in legal education. The updated 2023 Edition features realistic courtroom simulations based on real civil and criminal trials. It covers key elements like opening statements, witness examinations, and closing arguments through brief fact patterns and electronic exhibits. This approach allows students to practice advocacy skills without needing to memorize an entire case. The resource is designed for adaptability across various class types, benefiting both professors and students in understanding evidence rules and courtroom procedures.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2023.
The Legal Writing Institute's Moot Court Advisor's Handbook is a valuable resource for law professors, attorneys, and anyone involved in moot court programs. It offers best practices for administering moot court programs, running internal competitions, coaching teams in external competitions, and establishing new competitions. The second edition includes a new chapter on virtual competitions, updates on ABA Standards, and numerous customizable online resources to support moot court initiatives.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts: The MIT Press, 2024.
The text discusses how advancements in AI, particularly chatbots like ChatGPT, challenge our notions of human exceptionalism and personhood. It raises questions about AI consciousness versus mimicry and the implications of more credible claims to consciousness. James Boyle's work, "The Line," explores the evolving concept of personhood, highlighting the contentious debates around the rights of corporations, animals, and when life begins and ends. The text examines the intersection of moral philosophy, science fiction, legal battles, and AI, ultimately addressing the urgent questions about our future and the definitions of personhood.

Publisher: ImprintCambridge, Massachusetts: The MIT Press, 2024.
The text discusses the need for a fundamental economic reconstruction of merger analysis to enhance the evaluation of mergers' effects and improve regulation. It argues that current methods violate key principles of decision analysis and economics, leading to shortcomings in research and policy. Louis Kaplow's work, "Rethinking Merger Analysis," critiques conventional practices in understanding and regulating horizontal mergers, identifies empirical shortcomings, and suggests improvements to better distinguish harmful mergers from beneficial ones. Key issues include flaws in the reigning market definition paradigm, underanalysis of merger efficiencies, mischaracterization of postmerger entry's role, and the neglect of dynamic factors influencing new startups. The focus is on promoting clear thinking and improving merger policy rather than advocating for specific positions.

Publisher: New York, NY: Liveright Publishing Corporation, A Division of W.W. Norton & Company, 2018.
"We the Corporations" by Adam Winkler explores the lesser-known civil rights movement of business corporations in America. The book traces the historical fight for corporate rights under the Constitution, highlighting key Supreme Court cases like Citizens United and Hobby Lobby. Winkler discusses the role of corporations from the colonial era to the present, illustrating how they sought constitutional protections similar to those of individuals. The narrative reveals that corporations utilized strategies akin to traditional civil rights movements, such as civil disobedience and legal challenges, to secure their rights. Notable figures like Daniel Webster and Thurgood Marshall played significant roles in advancing corporate rights. Ultimately, Winkler argues that this movement has impacted fundamental American rights and shaped the relationship between corporations and regulatory frameworks.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2025.
The Association Henri Capitant has worked for over eighty years to promote "continental law" in Europe. To achieve this, it has initiated the "Library of the Association Henri Capitant," which features a series of books outlining key aspects of various legal systems in a structured format. "The Legal System of Cambodia" is one of these books and covers topics such as the history, sources of law, constitutional framework, legal actors, criminal law, laws regarding persons and family, property law, contract law, delictual liability, quasi-contracts, business entities, and labor-employment law.

Publisher: Cincinnati, Ohio : Anderson Pub. Co., 1998-
This handbook includes the text of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Supplemental Rules for Certain Admiralty and Maritime Claims, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure Forms, Selected United States Code provisions, and Constitution of the United States.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2024.
"Tragedy on Trial" offers a detailed examination of the 1955 trial of Emmett Till's murderers, highlighting the numerous manipulations of justice throughout the process. Key points include the sheriff's active role in protecting the defendants, the conflicted county attorney who orchestrated jury selection, and the strategic decision to avoid charging the defendants with kidnapping. The narrative illustrates how the defense capitalized on extreme racism, relying on false accusations and discrediting Black witnesses, while utilizing unreliable medical experts. Additionally, it reconstructs the defense's closing arguments, which were directed at appealing to the biases of the jury. The book also emphasizes the courageous efforts of Mamie Till and her supporters in seeking justice. Furthermore, it corrects longstanding falsehoods from the widely read 1956 Look magazine story. Overall, the work is grounded in extensive research and is accompanied by photographs and an introduction by Lonnie G. Bunch, III, which together reveal the shocking realities and implications of the trial.

Publisher: Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 2021.
"Understanding and Navigating Discrimination in America" is a resource guide aimed at helping individuals understand and address issues related to race and discrimination. It provides accessible content, including links to organizations and support groups for reporting and managing discrimination in various settings. The book covers the history of systemic discrimination, the psychology behind racism, and its impacts on well-being. It discusses the roles of various presidential administrations in shaping racial dynamics and highlights significant historical events and movements, such as the Civil Rights Act and Black Lives Matter. Overall, it serves as a valuable tool for education and advocacy regarding discrimination in America.

Publisher: Lexington: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 2025.
"Malevolent Legalities" examines how Justice Antonin Scalia's judicial philosophy of "textualist-originalism" affects the US Supreme Court's antidiscrimination rulings. The book analyzes six key Supreme Court cases and argues that this philosophy allows for lawful discrimination through legal texts, promoting a "static law" regime that hinders progress. It introduces a methodology called "discriminatology," aimed at understanding how discrimination persists and is manipulated through legal language. The work ultimately frames textualist-originalism as a means of facilitating discrimination performed in bad faith.

Publisher: Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2023.
The text discusses the tradition of dissenting opinions among US Supreme Court justices, highlighting their role in expressing disagreement with majority decisions. It notes that the impact of these dissents has not been extensively studied. The book mentioned is the first comprehensive analysis of how past dissents influence later majority opinions, revealing which types of dissents are effective in shaping legal and policy debates. It concludes that justices are influenced by well-reasoned dissenting arguments, especially those that challenge the majority's reasoning.

Publisher: New York: Random House, 2005.
Sister Helen Prejean, a Roman Catholic nun, gained recognition with her book "Dead Man Walking," which challenged perceptions of the death penalty in America. In her follow-up work, "The Death of Innocents," she explores the moral implications of executing potentially innocent individuals. She highlights the cases of Dobie Gillis Williams, a mentally disabled man wrongfully executed, and Joseph Roger O’Dell, who was convicted on weak evidence and denied DNA testing before his execution. Prejean emphasizes the systemic issues surrounding capital punishment, including race, poverty, and the flaws in the legal system that lead to wrongful convictions. She encourages readers to confront the fundamental moral question: While opinions may vary on executing the guilty, how can anyone justify executing the innocent?

Publisher: New York: Random House, 1993.
In 1982, Sister Helen Prejean became the spiritual advisor to Patrick Sonnier, a convicted killer sentenced to death in Louisiana's Angola State Prison. During this time, she formed a deep understanding of Sonnier, the families of his victims, and the executioners, many of whom struggled with their roles. The book "Dead Man Walking" explores the complexities of capital punishment, highlighting the emotional struggles of the condemned, the victims' families, and the ethical dilemmas faced by society, delivering a powerful critique of the death penalty.

Publisher: ImprintChicago, IL: The University of Chicago Press, 2023.
The Ends of Freedom makes a strong case for an Economic Bill of Rights to provide true freedom to all Americans. It highlights the ongoing debate about the meaning of freedom, contrasting the view that it encompasses access to basic necessities with the perspective that it is solely about civil and political rights and market access. Mark Paul argues that the latter viewpoint has dominated policymaking, leading to significant inequality and poverty. He emphasizes that economic rights, such as access to housing, employment, and healthcare, have been part of American discourse since the Revolutionary War and were key to the New Deal and Civil Rights Movement. Paul advocates for the recovery of these rights, referencing FDR's proposed Economic Bill of Rights to outline a comprehensive policy agenda aimed at achieving a broader definition of freedom, which includes rights to good jobs, education, financial services, and a healthy environment. The text calls for a reclaiming of the idea of freedom to foster a more equitable and economically dynamic nation.

Publisher: New York, NY, United States of America: Oxford University Press, 2017.
The text discusses the growing inequality in twenty-first-century America and the inability of existing policies to address the wealth and income gaps. Analysts from both the left and right blame capitalism and government actions, respectively, but libertarian Brink Lindsey and liberal Steve Teles, in their work "The Captured Economy," suggest that the real issue lies in the government-corporate sector relationship. They argue that corporations manipulate policy to benefit themselves at the expense of the broader public, effectively becoming "rentiers." This results in wealth being disproportionately shifted to the wealthy, regardless of policymakers' original intentions. The authors offer reasonable policy proposals aimed at reducing corporate influence and addressing the root causes of inequality, positioning their work as essential for understanding contemporary social and economic divisions.

Publisher: Salt Lake City: The University of Utah Press, 2024.
A Watershed Moment explores the contrast between the idealized view of the American West as a land of endless opportunities and its actual ecological and resource limitations. The essays highlight the tensions between economic growth, personal freedom, and the constraints imposed by community values and the environment. The volume emphasizes issues of sustainability relevant to the region and offers practical solutions for land use and community planning, grounded in principles of justice, quality of life, and sustainability. Contributors include a diverse group of policymakers, managers, planners, biologists, tribal members, writers, and academics, providing a comprehensive vision for sustainable development in the American West.

Publisher: Cincinnati: Anderson Pub. Co., 1996-
This handbook includes the text of the Federal Rules of Evidence, including amendments in effect December 1, 2015 (absent Congressional action). The handbook also includes selected legislative history, the Advisory Committee Notes to the Rules and to the amendments to the Federal Rules of Evidence. A final section includes Proposed Federal Rules of Evidence Relating to Privilege with Advisory Committee Notes.

Publisher: New York, NY: Aspen Law & Business, c2001-
Federal and California Evidence Rules is useful for the California Bar Examination, which now tests both Federal and California evidence law. The resource is divided into three parts. Part I presents the Federal Rules of Evidence alongside the California Evidence Code for easy comparison, with commentary on significant differences. Part II focuses on the Federal Rules of Evidence, including text, amendments, legislative history, and case notes. -Part III covers the California Evidence Code with full text, amendments, legislative history, and important judicial interpretations. This tool aids in the analysis and understanding of evidentiary issues within both federal and state contexts.

Publisher: Eagan, Minnesota: West Academic Publishing, 2024.
This coursebook explores the law of domestic violence in the United States through interdisciplinary articles, book excerpts, historical cases, studies, policy papers, and statutes. The book fosters critical thinking by presenting opposing viewpoints and critiques of existing law.Topical coverage includes dynamics of abuse, demographic differences, torts, restraining orders, and children. Chapters on the criminal law cover partner rape, police responses, prosecution, and the prosecution of domestic violence victims. Other chapters include VAWA, firearms restrictions, military responses, confidentiality, safety, financial issues, immigration, asylum, and international human rights.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2024.
Collegiate Greek-letter organizations in the U.S. have faced legal challenges for nearly 250 years, primarily around hazing and social event liability. As these organizations have evolved, they now encounter a wider array of legal issues. The book provides an overview of essential legal topics for fraternities and sororities, organized into four key sections. Section I, "Organizational Processes," covers legal counsel, duty of oversight, director liability, governing documents, compliance with IRS regulations, and potential civil and criminal liability for board conduct. Section II, "Risk and Liability," discusses issues such as arbitration in hazing cases, sexual assault, social host liability, and liability insurance. Section III, "Constitutional Issues," examines freedom of speech, privacy rights, equal protection laws, and fair housing. Section IV, "Broader Legal Concerns," addresses antitrust laws, consumer protection, employment law, intellectual property, and property zoning issues.

Publisher: New York, NY : PublicAffairs, 2020.
Ezekiel Emanuel, a prominent doctor and bioethicist, investigates which country has the best healthcare despite the US spending nearly $4 trillion on it without achieving top rankings. In his book, "Which Country Has the World's Best Healthcare?", he profiles eleven global healthcare systems to identify excellence and performance. The comparative structure of the book helps healthcare professionals, patients, and policymakers understand which systems excel and which face significant challenges, highlighting innovative approaches from various countries, including Taiwan, Germany, Australia, and Switzerland.

Publisher: New York: Columbia University Press, 2024.
Immigration Realities, authored by Ernesto Castañeda and Carina Cione, serves as a practical, evidence-based resource that debunks myths surrounding immigration. It presents extensive research findings and emphasizes the importance of immigration to the U.S. and other countries. It covers a variety of topics, including the impact of immigration on economies, crime rates, and social welfare, while also addressing contentious issues such as border safety and Brexit. The text aims to equip readers with factual information to counter false claims about immigration.

Publisher: Eagen, MN: Foundation Press, 2024.
The Seventh Edition of Transnational Business Problems offers a conceptual and problems-based approach to international business law in less than 600 pages, making it suitable for a one-semester course. The book begins with four introductory chapters covering the role of international lawyers, dispute resolution, and the interaction of international and domestic law. It then presents eight problems related to various transactions, such as transnational sales and mergers, emphasizing both contractual and regulatory issues, often starting with sample contracts. Utilizing primary source materials, it encourages students to engage with realistic legal issues while highlighting broader policy concerns like corporate responsibility and investment restrictions. The content reflects global business diversity, focusing on regions like China and the European Union. Rooted in a rich intellectual legacy, the book views transnational business issues as interconnected with transnational legal processes. The latest edition is fully updated through early 2024, with revised chapters and supplemental annual updates for educators.

Publisher: New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2024.
In "The Big Steal," Jonathan Barnett explores the intertwining of ideological beliefs and business interests leading to weakened legal protections for inventors and artists in U.S. patent and copyright law. This shift occurred alongside the digital economy's growth, with the Supreme Court, Congress, and antitrust regulators diluting protections against unauthorized use of intellectual property. Advocates in the scholarly and tech communities supported this erosion under the notion that "information wants to be free." Barnett argues that this depropertization risks the innovation ecosystem by transferring economic value from original creators to digital intermediaries and vertically integrated companies, thus threatening robust knowledge economies.

Publisher: Chicago: ALA Editions, 2021.
The text highlights a guide designed for library faculty dealing with copyright questions from students and colleagues. Authored by lawyer and copyright librarian Benson, it offers concise explanations for quick reference and training. Key features include: Practical discussions on legal concepts illustrated by 52 scenarios; Coverage of topics such as the TEACH Act, public domain, DMCA take-down notices, and fair use interpretations in recent court cases; Information on Creative Commons licenses and library rights concerning digital collections and special displays; Guidance on copyright issues related to academic theses and historical student dissertations; and Insights into the Marrakesh Treaty and interlibrary loan limitations. Overall, the guide aims to provide reliable answers regarding copyright matters in a community college library setting.

Publisher: Oakland, California: University of California Press, 2024.
In this book, author Ruben J. Garcia argues that we must center the minimum wage as a tool for fighting structural racism. Employing the lessons of critical race theory to show how low minimum wages and underenforcement of workplace laws have always been features of our racially stratified society, Garcia explains why we must follow the leadership of social movements by treating increases in minimum wage levels and enforcement as matters of racial justice. Offering solutions that would benefit all workers, especially the immigrants and people of color most often made victims of wage theft, Critical Wage Theory is essential reading for anyone who seeks a more just future for the working class.

Publisher: St. Paul, MN: West Academic Publishing, 2021.
This book examines the federal statutory protection against employment discrimination, highlighting the themes of workplace equality that are embodied in the civil rights laws. Like prior editions, this edition features many recent cases, including Bostock v. Clayton County, new developments in the law and a substantial revision on the ADA and the materials relating to sex discrimination. The book also includes diverse contemporary scholarship drawn from critical race theory, feminist legal theory, history, social science, and law and economics, among other disciplines. The authors' extensive materials framing the cases are designed to prepare students thoroughly for practice in this rapidly changing field of law.

Publisher: Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1994
The post-World War II years in the United States were marked by the business community's efforts to discredit New Deal liberalism and undermine the power and legitimacy of organized labor. In Selling Free Enterprise, Elizabeth Fones-Wolf describes how conservative business leaders strove to reorient workers away from their loyalties to organized labor and government, teaching that prosperity could be achieved through reliance on individual initiative, increased productivity, and the protection of personal liberty. Based on research in a wide variety of business and labor sources, this detailed account shows how business permeated every aspect of American life, including factories, schools, churches, and community institutions.- Publisher

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, LLC, 2024.
The book introduces the foundational assumptions of American law and legal argument, which influence how lawyers and judges interpret legal documents and address legal issues. It highlights that lawyers inherently use these concepts, while law professors often expect students to identify them independently. The book explores the interplay between logic and historical context in law, the impact of pre-Revolutionary English common law on American law, and significant developments in the 19th and early 20th centuries. It emphasizes how lawyers utilize "lawtalk" to navigate legal problems. Aimed primarily at first-year law students, the book also appeals to prospective law students and those interested in legal reasoning.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina : Carolina Academic Press, 2021.
Law Professor's Desk Reference serves as a how-to guide for faculty members, addressing the everyday issues that shape legal education as well as the growing external social and economic pressures reconceptualizing the study of law. Law school faculty members are expected to be legal scholars, effective teachers, and engaged institutional partners, but the information essential to develop these fundamentals skills has not been published in one single source, until now. The book provides a foundation to help faculty develop the best practices for student learning and engagement. It provides an important summary of learning outcomes, formative assessment, summative assessment, course design, and the operational mechanics needed to be an effective classroom and online teacher. The book offers faculty members a roadmap to develop meaningful scholarship with practical advice on how best to create a sustainable scholarly agenda. It explores the role faculty play in shared governance for their institutions. It addresses academic freedom, hiring procedures, tenure, and status issues. It also covers accreditation and various regulations on accessibility, accommodation requirements, Title IX, employment laws, plagiarism, and much more.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2024.
This text discusses the evolution and professionalization of the law professor role in the U.S. from the late nineteenth century to the present, particularly in light of critiques following the 2008 economic collapse. It highlights the controversy surrounding legal education and its practicality for law practice. The text provides historical context for legal education in Europe, England, and the U.S. It explores the ongoing conflict between the scholar and practitioner models of law professors, as well as several hybrid models. The discussion is informed by traditional and contemporary rhetorical theories and concludes by advocating for alternative discourse to benefit all stakeholders in legal education.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, LLC, 2023.
The book presents a post-pandemic vision for legal education, emphasizing the need to eliminate the LSAT and create a non-discriminatory admissions process. It proposes accepting a larger 1L cohort at reduced costs with most content delivered online in a hybrid format. A "baby bar" would be administered at the end of the first year, allowing only about half to advance, while the rest receive a master's degree in American Law, qualifying them as LLLTs to help address the justice gap. Additionally, it advocates for enhanced experiential learning and intentional professional identity formation in the 2L and 3L years. These ideas, while initially radical, are already being tested in some places, and the ABA is moving in this direction. The book offers guidance on gradually adopting these changes over the next decade.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2021.
This book discusses the shift in legal education towards emphasizing lawyering skills, such as legal writing, research, and advocacy, which are now viewed as essential in the curriculum. However, law schools still face challenges due to a divide between doctrinal and skills courses, which hampers effective student learning. The book mentioned features contributions from over twenty law professors who advocate for integrating skills into doctrinal courses and provide strategies for achieving this integration to enhance student learning outcomes.

Publisher: ImprintDurham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2023.
The text discusses the emergence of accredited law schools offering online programs, highlighting the challenges and successes students face. It introduces a book designed to assist beginning online law students during their first year, providing valuable advice applicable throughout their entire journey. Co-authored by non-traditional online law students, the book includes insights from a diverse range of individuals, including parents, working professionals, and those with varying academic experiences.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2024.
This textbook is designed to aid students struggling with legal document drafting, focusing on predictive memos and persuasive briefs. It teaches fundamental legal writing skills using the CREAC and C-RAC paradigms, addressing key areas such as organizational structure, effective paragraph use, issue and rule identification, headings, research, citation, grammar, and punctuation. The main thesis is based on the author's "White-Glove Inspection," a ten-step proofreading system aimed at producing error-free documents. Additionally, the book introduces concepts to help students grasp legal reasoning, utilizing engaging terms and analogies to illustrate well-crafted legal analysis.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2024.
"Plain English for Lawyers," a popular resource for almost 40 years, is now in its seventh edition, co-authored by Amy Sloan. This updated edition retains its key approaches while introducing new exercises, principles of document design, guidance on using generative AI for writing, and best practices for pronoun usage and avoiding gendered language. The book is designed to be approachable for law students. It received the Golden Pen Award from the Legal Writing Institute in 2005, which promotes legal writing scholarship and has over 1,300 members from ABA-accredited law schools, law teachers, and practicing lawyers globally.

Publisher: El Segundo, CA: Nolo, 2024.
"Legal Research" is a comprehensive guide for individuals needing quick answers to legal questions at home, work, or in academic settings. The book presents simple research methods and legal writing styles to efficiently locate statutes, regulations, and case law. Updated for its 20th edition, it covers both traditional and online research techniques, with practical examples and clear instructions. Key resources include legal encyclopedias, codes, court cases, and online search engines, helping users streamline their research and avoid information overload.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2024.
"Mastering Legal Analysis and Drafting" focuses on the essential structure and techniques of legal drafting, emphasizing a few fundamental rules of legal analysis. The book aims to help legal drafters identify these rules and apply them to effective legal writing across various formats. It includes discussions on legal analysis, general drafting principles, and specific types of legal documents such as client letters, demand letters, research memoranda, motions, appellate briefs, contracts, and legislation. The final chapter emphasizes the importance of writing to build a record, summarizing key concepts from the book. The second edition updates reflect recent advancements in legal practice, research, citation, and technology.

Publisher: Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2024.
This book discusses how corporations utilized mass media to promote capitalism as a natural and patriotic concept, blurring the lines between propaganda and public service. It highlights the use of various materials like public service announcements and educational films, categorized as "sponsored economic education media," to reinforce ideals of "free enterprise." These efforts, funded by corporations, presented an idealized view of American industrial growth and conflated corporate privileges with individual rights. The text also emphasizes the ongoing dominance of this rhetoric and its association with the current challenges of disinformation, while revealing how the production and distribution of these materials shaped a particular understanding of corporate responsibility, marginalizing alternative value systems.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, LLC, 2024.
"Mastering Native American Law" is a comprehensive overview of Tribal nations governance and law, federal Indian law, and the dynamics between Tribal Nations and state governments. The third edition includes updates on key legal developments, including recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions and the Indian Child Welfare Act. The book covers essential topics such as Native American Property Law, Criminal Jurisdiction in Indian Country, Tribal Government, Family Law in Tribal Nations, and more. It serves as a practical guide for law practitioners and is suitable for various educational courses, providing a clear understanding from historical to contemporary issues in Tribal Nations law and policy. Chapter 10 focuses on the evolution of collective rights in international documents relevant to Tribal Nations.

Publisher: Singapore: Springer, 2023.
The book examines privacy and identity during the early twentieth century, particularly through the lens of the socio-technological changes of modernism around the two world wars. It highlights how influential thinkers of the time, who were largely overlooked by 1948, failed to shape the Universal Declaration of Human Rights despite their relevant ideas about privacy rights. The text reviews case studies on the right to privacy, data protection, and the right to be forgotten, concluding with an analysis of how these rights need to be re-evaluated in the digital age.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2024.
"Owning Our Values" explores systemic racism through the lens of property law, focusing on topics relevant to the bar exam. The text highlights the evolving discourse on systemic racism in law schools and emphasizes the disappointment some students may feel with traditional first-year curricula. Natasha Varyani, drawing on her expertise in Property and Critical Race Theory, presents each chapter in two parts: the first examines the historical impact of property law on various identity groups, while the second offers practical exercises aimed at developing culturally responsive legal skills, including questions from the Next Generation Bar Exam.

Publisher: Durham: Duke University Press, 2024.
In "Reproductive Labor and Innovation," Jennifer Denbow discusses the negative impact of a focus on technoscientific innovation within contemporary American society, particularly on care work and reproductive labor. She argues that neoliberalism has led to the weakening of social welfare programs, placing the burden of problem-solving on individuals, often those who are feminized and racialized. Denbow contends that the emphasis on innovation as a solution to social issues benefits corporate innovators while marginalizing those involved in reproductive labor. She also highlights how technologies aimed at improving reproductive processes obscure underlying structural injustices. Ultimately, Denbow calls for a reevaluation of the value placed on innovation and advocates for collective support of reproductive labor.

Publisher: New York: New York University Press, 2024.
"Sex Work Today" is a comprehensive exploration of modern trends in sex work, including digital practices like camming and sugar dating. It features thirty-one essays by diverse contributors, highlighting both the challenges and benefits of sex work across different contexts. Key themes include issues of discrimination, autonomy, job satisfaction, and the impact of federal policies on sex workers. The volume emphasizes the importance of understanding these topics while centering marginalized voices and addressing global implications of policy misalignments in the sex industry.

Publisher: Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2024.
Between the 1870s and 1930s, American social reformers collaborated with the government to transform prostitution into an international political concern, promoting sexual self-control as essential to civilization and American exceptionalism. In "Empire of Purity," Eva Payne highlights how efforts to eradicate prostitution and trafficking led to the criminalization of these practices internationally, often harming the very women they aimed to protect. The push for anti-trafficking agreements reflected American laws and advanced an ideology of racial hierarchy, depicting women of color and immigrants as threats. Payne emphasizes the complex experiences of sex workers, challenging simplistic views of choice versus coercion. The book connects the regulation of sexuality to American imperial ambitions and illustrates how these issues continue to influence contemporary domestic and international policies.