New Books At The Zief Law Library

Publisher: Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield, 2023.
This one-of-a-kind, comprehensive resource provides information about the dispute resolution system, including: how to resolve conflicts through collaboration to avoid the dispute resolution process; how to prepare for state complaint investigations, mediations, and due process hearings; what is involved and what is expected in each; and what happens at the conclusion of the complaint investigation, mediation, or due process hearing, including how school staff can continue to work productively with parents. Using this book, readers will understand how to effectively use dispute resolution practices and procedures to facilitate collaborative and positive partnerships between parents and school personnel in order to better serve students with disabilities.

Publisher: Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2024.
The concept of 'solidarity' is important in social justice movements but has not been thoroughly explored in the context of animal protection, despite its relevance in the recent 'political turn' in animal ethics. This political turn highlights the need for both personal and institutional transformation to improve human-animal relations and emphasizes understanding animals' perspectives and political agency. While there has been substantial discussion on related concepts like justice and agency, solidarity remains underexplored in both scholarship and activism. This edited collection aims to address this gap by bringing together experts to provide a comprehensive examination of solidarity between species.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts: The MIT Press, 2024.
"Tech Monopoly" by Herbert Hovenkamp examines competition issues in tech markets and the potential role of antitrust law in addressing them. The book addresses concerns over the power of tech giants like Amazon, Apple, Meta, and Microsoft, exploring whether their size constitutes an antitrust issue or if the focus should be on their market power. It covers the unique characteristics of high-tech markets, including "two-sided" structures, and discusses how competitive harm should be assessed. Additionally, Hovenkamp evaluates remedies for antitrust problems, including the implications of breaking up big tech companies versus finding less disruptive alternatives. The book aims to provide accessible insights into the economics of digital platforms and the effectiveness of antitrust law in promoting competition in the tech industry.

Publisher: Boston, MA: National Consumer Law Center, 2024.

Publisher: Abingdon, Oxon; New York, NY: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2024.
This book discusses the intersection of intangible cultural heritage (ICH) safeguarding and sustainable development (SD) within the context of a UNESCO Convention. It explores how SD priorities impact the understanding and representation of ICH, challenging traditional views of heritage's social uses. The authors, coming from diverse backgrounds, analyze these themes from their unique roles as both scholars and practitioners involved in the Convention. The volume examines the complexities and implications of integrating ICH and SD in policy-making and heritage practices, targeting academics and students across various disciplines such as heritage studies, development studies, and sociology.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts: The MIT Press, 2020.
The book provides an overview of the ethical issues raised by artificial intelligence (AI), highlighting its impactful applications such as in search engines, social media, self-driving cars, and more. It discusses the complexities of these ethical concerns, including privacy, responsibility, decision-making delegation, transparency, and bias in data science. The author, Mark Coeckelbergh, explores philosophical narratives related to AI, its technological foundations, and the implications for the future of work. He also evaluates policy proposals and argues for ethical practices that integrate values into design and decision-making processes.

Publisher: Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2024.
"AI Snake Oil" by Arvind Narayanan and Sayash Kapoor addresses the confusion surrounding AI and its implications for the future. The book provides a clear understanding of how AI functions and highlights the distinction between useful AI and misleading products labeled as 'AI Snake Oil.' It discusses the potential and limitations of AI, the misleading claims surrounding it, and the harms it can cause in various sectors, including education, medicine, and criminal justice. The authors emphasize that AI isn't an existential threat, but rather, the focus should be on how people will use AI. They also warn against the risks of AI being controlled by unaccountable tech companies, aiming to empower readers to make informed decisions about AI use in their lives.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2024.
This book identifies the issues posed by human-robot interactions in substantive law, procedural law, and law's narratives, and suggests how to address them. When human-robot interaction results in harm, who or what is responsible? Part I addresses substantive law, including the issues raised by attempts to impose criminal liability on different actors. And when robots perceive aspects of an alleged crime, can they be called as a sort of witness? Part II addresses procedural issues raised by human-robot interactions, including evidentiary problems from data generated by robots monitoring humans and issues regarding both reliability and privacy. Beyond the standard fare of substantive and procedural law, and given the conceptual dilemmas posed by robots, Part III offers chapters on narrative and rhetoric, suggesting different ways to understand human-robot interactions, and how to develop coherent frameworks to do that. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.

Publisher: Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2021.
A guide to AI's thorniest implications that asks: How will we navigate our brave new world? We are at a monumental turning point in human history. AI is taking intelligence in new directions. The strongest human competitors in chess, go, and Jeopardy! have been beaten by AIs, and AI is getting more sophisticated by the day. Further, AI research is going inside the human brain, attempting to augment human minds. It may even create greater-than-human-level intelligence, leading to a new generation of artificial minds: Minds 2.0. Susan Schneider, a philosopher, argues that these undertakings must not be attempted without a richer understanding of the nature of the mind. An insufficient grasp of the underlying philosophical issues could undermine the use of AI and brain enhancement technology, bringing about the demise or suffering of conscious beings. Examining the philosophical questions lying beneath the algorithms, Schneider takes on AI's thorniest implications.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2024.
Digital Coins and Cryptocurrencies, Law and Regulation: Cases and Problems is a comprehensive legal casebook for law students, legal professionals, and academics, who seek to understand the complex legal and regulatory landscape surrounding digital coins and cryptocurrencies. The following is a list of the subject matters covered in this textbook: Modern barter system growth and development of the P2P payment networks Coinage Clause and legal tender analysis, and key Supreme Court cases Overview of blockchain technology growth and the creation of Bitcoin Application of securities and commodity laws and key cases Overview of the money transmission laws, exemptions, and cases Understanding custody of digital issue laws and regulations Overview of key SEC and CFTC enforcement cases FinCEN guidance for money service businesses in the virtual currency space Key AML laws and regulations surrounding cryptocurrencies Overview of the New York Bit License framework Overview of custody of digital assets framework Understanding DeFi, stablecoins, NFTs, and CBDC Overview of the international cryptocurrency ecosystem of laws and regulations.

Publisher: Chicago, Illinois: American Bar Association, Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section, 2024.
James J. McDonald, Jr., author of How to Be a Star Associate: A Guide to Excelling in Your Early Legal Career states: "Most of what makes a lawyer a star involves smart choices, hard work, and the ability to relate to people. You also need skills to succeed in a law firm that you probably did not learn in law school. You can develop those skills, and this book can help you." Applying lessons learned during his forty years of law practice, and from hiring, training, and mentoring dozens of lawyers, McDonald shows new lawyers and lawyers-to-be how to survive and thrive in today's larger law firms. This book covers all of the basics of law firm associate life, including picking the right firm, getting the job, learning the craft of practicing law, finding the right mentors, learning how to write persuasively, going to court, managing the workload to stay busy without becoming overwhelmed, and much more. The book also teaches lawyers how to provide five-star client service in a two-and-a-half-star world, hone their client development skills in the "internal marketplace" in their law firm, and think about business development from day one. This book provides a practical guide for lawyers who hope to become successful partners in their law firms.

Publisher: Chicago, Illinois: American Bar Association, Solo, Small Firm, and General Practice Division, 2024.
Unlike overload in other demanding professions, attorney stress is specific to the legal world and can't be tackled with one-size-fits-all advice. In Lawyer Like an Athlete, clinical psychologist and attorney wellness expert Dr. Amy Wood presents a power-packed program for achieving peak performance that sports figures strive for under unrivaled pressure. Dr. Wood's techniques include internal/external balancing, thought conditioning, envisioning the win, and more. They are grounded in her research and coaching with attorneys. Proven through her popular "Lawyer Like An Athlete" workshops, her clear explanations and thought-provoking prompts and exercises are easy to follow and integrate into the relentless reality of lawyering. Success stories from career athletes and Dr. Wood's own clients provide the ongoing motivation and inspiration necessary to make progress in the face of common attorney dilemmas. By zeroing in on enhancing attorney productivity and happiness with interventions potent enough for the intensity of lawyering, this long-overdue book shows attorneys how to "go pro" in their cutthroat field, without sacrificing well-being.

Publisher: San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, A Wiley Brand, 2014.
Unleash the transformative power of face-to-face groups The third edition of this ground-breaking book continues to advance its mission to support groups to do their best thinking. It demonstrates that meetings can be much more than merely an occasion for solving a problem or creating a plan. Every well-facilitated meeting is also an opportunity to stretch and develop the perspectives of the individual members, thereby building the strength and capacity of the group as a whole. This fully updated edition of The Facilitator's Guide to Participatory Decision-Making guides readers through the struggle and the satisfaction of putting participatory values into practice and helping them fulfill the promise of effective group decision-making. With previous editions already embraced worldwide by business and community leaders and consulting professionals, this new book is even more insightful and easy to use. This new edition includes 60 pages of brand-new skills and tools, many new case examples, major expansion and reorganization of the advanced sections of the book, and new chapters.

Publisher: Boston, Massachusetts: Harvard Business Review Press, 2024.
The text discusses the shift from traditional bureaucratic leadership to a new paradigm influenced by generative AI and remote work. It highlights the transition from an industrial era to a digital, transparent, and complex environment. The authors, Kim Clark, Jonathan Clark, and Erin Clark, explore two competing models of leadership: the old paradigm focused on control and power, and the new model that empowers and inspires people. They emphasize the negative effects of the legacy leadership model, such as lost human potential and stifled innovation, which they describe as "organizational darkness." The new model promotes positive leadership that cares for people, fosters their growth, and encourages collective problem-solving. The authors argue that the soul, heart, and mind of leadership are essential for effective leadership, advocating for attentiveness to personal and organizational dimensions. They provide insights into the moral aspects of leadership and propose a framework for implementing the new model to create a vibrant leadership system.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, LLC, 2022.
The second edition of Understanding California Community Property Law explains the California community property system concerning property ownership during marriage. Statues are updated and quoted where relevant. Case law is updated and explained. Issues of ownership during marriage, community property management and control, liability, partition, dissolution, premarital contracts, transmutations, and contracts between intimate partners are covered. Understanding California Community Property Law specifically extends the field by contextualizing the California Multiple-Party Accounts Law and the California Domestic Violence Prevention Act within the community property system. Each chapter includes a series of concise examples that illustrate how the California Family Code applies. Appellate cases are reported by judicial district.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts: Harvard University Press, 2024.
The text discusses David Rabban's book, which interprets academic freedom as a First Amendment right. It analyzes legal cases related to academic freedom and its connection to free speech in American universities. Rabban emphasizes the importance of professors' expert speech in contributing to knowledge, as highlighted in the 1915 AAUP Declaration. He argues that potential discipline of professors for controversial views undermines their integrity and function. Academic freedom not only applies to professors but also influences university decisions and students' learning interests. The book advocates for a broader understanding of academic freedom that could extend to other professionals like journalists and librarians, providing a comprehensive perspective on its significance as a First Amendment right at a time when it faces challenges.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts: Harvard University Press, 2024.
Cass R. Sunstein's "Campus Free Speech: A Pocket Guide" addresses the complexities of free speech on college campuses. While free speech is essential for education and the pursuit of truth, it does not equate to unrestricted expression. Sunstein outlines the boundaries of permissible speech regulation within educational institutions, noting that universities can impose reasonable restrictions aligned with their missions. Key scenarios discussed include the punishment of students who disrupt speakers versus those who voice offensive opinions, the limits on faculty expression, and the role of private universities regarding First Amendment adherence. Sunstein also considers whether universities should take official stances on public issues. This guide serves as a vital resource for navigating the current debates surrounding free speech in academic settings.

Publisher: Toronto; Buffalo; London: University of Toronto Press, 2024.
In The Life and Death of Freedom of Expression, Richard Moon argues that freedom of expression is valuable because human agency and identity emerge in discourse - in the joint activity of creating meaning. Moon recognizes that the social character of individual agency and identity is crucial to understanding the value of expression and also its potential for harm. The book considers a range of issues, including the regulation of advertising, hate speech, pornography, blasphemy, and public protest. The book also considers the shift to social media as the principal platform for public engagement, which has added to how speech can be harmful while undermining the effectiveness of traditional legal responses to harmful speech. The Life and Death of Freedom of Expression makes the case that the principal threat to public discourse may no longer be censorship, but it is rather the spread of disinformation, which undermines public trust in traditional sources of information and makes engagement between different positions and groups increasingly difficult.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2024.
No serious attempt to answer the question 'What is hate speech?' would be complete without an exploration of the outer limits of the concept(s). This book critically examines both the ordinary and legal concepts of hate speech, contrasting social media platform content policies with national and international laws. It also explores a range of controversial grey area examples of hate speech. Part I focuses on the ordinary concept and looks at hybrid attacks, selective attacks, reverse attacks, righteous attacks, indirect attacks, identity attacks, existential denials, identity denials, identity miscategorizations, and identity appropriations. Part II concentrates on the legal concept. It considers how to distinguish between hate speech and hate crime, and examines the precarious position of denialism laws in national and international law. Together, the authors draw on conceptual, doctrinal, linguistic, critical, and diachronic analyses to map the new frontiers of the concepts of hate speech.

New Haven; London: Yale University Press, 2024.
A detailed and compelling examination of how the legal theory of originalism ignores and distorts the very constitutional history from which it derives. In this comprehensive and novel critique of originalism, Jonathan Gienapp targets originalists' unspoken assumptions about the Constitution and its history. Originalists are committed to recovering the Constitution laid down at the American Founding, yet they often assume that the Constitution is fundamentally modern. Rather than recovering the original Constitution, they project their own understandings onto it, assuming that eighteenth-century constitutional thinking was no different than their own. They take for granted what it meant to write a constitution down, what law was, how it worked, where it came from, and how a constitution's meaning was fixed. In the process, they erase the Constitution that eighteenth-century Americans created. By understanding how originalism fails, we can better understand and interpret the Constitution.

Publisher: Portland, OR: Trial Guides, LLC., 2023.
The text discusses the importance of storytelling in the courtroom. Perdue, a seasoned trial lawyer, shares techniques that can help lawyers effectively tell compelling stories to persuade juries. The book builds on concepts from his previous work, offering practical lessons and exercises across various case types, including auto accidents and medical malpractice. Key elements include jury selection, effective opening and closing arguments, and the impact of evidence, language, and nonverbal communication on a jury's perception. Perdue aims to equip both new and experienced lawyers with the skills to create impactful trial narratives that resonate with jurors, fostering a deep sense of justice.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom: Ethics International Press, 2024.
In its simplest definition, Jury nullification occurs when a jury returns a not guilty verdict for a defendant it believes to be legally guilty of the crime charged. To put this explicitly, a jury nullifies when, despite believing both a) that the defendant did, beyond a reasonable doubt, commit the act/omission in question, and b) that such behavior is, in fact, prohibited by law, nevertheless declares the defendant innocent. This book explores the specific philosophical aspects of the phenomenon. Is jury nullification a right? A power? A mere ability? A privilege? A pernicious form of juror malfeasance? Is a system that allows for jury nullification more, or less just, than one that does not? This important book fills a gap in the current scholarship around jury nullification.

Publisher: Washington: Academica Press, 2024.
The Law of Interrogations and Confessions examines the evolution of U.S. court approaches to regulating law enforcement interrogations. It discusses key topics such as the due process of voluntariness, the Escobedo v. Illinois case's "focus of the investigation" test, the Miranda v. Arizona ruling on the Fifth Amendment, and the Sixth Amendment's right to counsel. The book by Henry F. Fradella highlights lower court interpretations of Supreme Court precedents, including definitions of "custody," timing and delivery of Miranda warnings, the implications of multiple interrogations, waivers, and the preservation of counsel rights during interrogations after charges have been initiated.

Publisher: Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2023. This book delves into a multitude of practices that, although deemed "lawful" by courts, are undeniably "awful" and unethical. From police officers employing deceit to extract confessions or consent to search, to prosecutors manipulating innocent individuals to relinquish their rights and plead guilty, to excessive force by law enforcement, these practices erode public trust in the criminal legal system and deny justice to those affected. With a critical examination of these deeply flawed tactics, this volume goes beneath the surface to explore their profound impact on the ethical standards and emotional health of justice system practitioners. It forcefully argues for a reclaiming of The Social Contract and for peace officers and prosecutors to unequivocally reject these unethical methods and recognize the urgent need for a criminal justice system that truly embodies ethics and fairness. This work equips police officers, prosecutors, judges, and legislators with invaluable research, enabling them to actively advocate for a transformed system that ethically serves justice for all in the post-George Floyd era.

Publisher: Lanham: Lexington Books, 2024.
One of the most controversial subjects in criminal law is whether or not we should continue to use capital punishment as the ultimate punitive sanction. The intended focus of The Problem with Capital Punishment and Why It Should Be Abolished in America is to take a harsh, critical look at theories in support of the use of this form of punishment and expose the truth about capital punishment: it is extremely costly; it is arbitrarily applied; there have been too many innocent persons exonerated from death row; and the only consistency with execution seems to be that of the mentally ill, the poor, and those without adequate legal representation and by using methods that are inhumane and "cruel and unusual". This book shows that our current system of capital punishment is fraught with error, insanely expensive, and administered in such a manner that the possibility of executing a completely innocent person is not only possible but likely if we continue upon our present course. After reading this book, the reader will be left with no reasonable doubt that the time has come to abolish capital punishment in America.

Publisher: New York, NY: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2023.
This groundbreaking book uncovers how anti-Black racism has informed and perpetuated anti-literacy laws, policies, and customs from the colonial period to the present day. As a counternarrative of the history of Black literacy in the United States, the book's historical lens reveals the interlocking political and social structures that have repeatedly failed to support equity in literacy for Black students. Arlette Ingram Willis walks readers through the impact of anti-Black racism's impact on literacy education by identifying and documenting the unacknowledged history of Black literacy education, one that is inextricably bound up with a history of White supremacy. Willis analyzes, exposes, illuminates, and interrogates incontrovertible historical evidence of the social, political, and legal efforts to deny equal literacy access. The chapters cover an in-depth evolution of the role of White supremacy and the harm it causes in forestalling Black readers' progress; a critical examination of empirical research and underlying ideological assumptions that resulted in limiting literacy access; and a review of federal and state documents that restricted reading access for Black people. Willis interweaves historical vignettes throughout the text as antidotes to whitewashing the history of literacy among Black people in the United States and offers recommendations on ways forward to dismantle racist reading research and laws. By centering the narrative on the experiences of Black people in the United States, Willis shifts the conversation and provides an uncompromising focus on not only the historical impact of such laws and policies but also their connections to present-day laws and policies. A definitive history of the instructional and legal structures that have harmed generations of Black people, this text is essential for scholars, students, and policymakers in literacy education, reading research, history of education, and social justice education.

Publisher: Chicago; London: The University of Chicago Press, 2024.
The book discusses the Western energy crisis, particularly the California electricity market failures that began in April 2000. While some attribute the crisis to economic fundamentals and political ignorance, sociologist Georg Rilinger offers an alternative perspective focused on the challenges of market design. He highlights the unique characteristics of electricity that complicated market introduction, leading to the creation of infrastructures intended to optimize market behavior and grid management. However, these well-meaning designs ultimately created opportunities for market manipulation and destructive actions. Rilinger's work not only explains the California energy crisis but also provides a broader framework for understanding markets as products of organizational planning and the limitations of social engineering.

The recent past has seen a rise in litigation seeking to hold specific private and public actors liable for their contribution to and impacts of climate change, with a relatively low success rate. This highlights the need for further research into the reasonable and just distribution of responsibility for mitigation and adaptation. This book unites renowned researchers from various disciplines to explore the challenges and opportunities of assigning responsibility and liability for climate change to specific actors. Thereby, the importance of interdisciplinary scientific dialogue on climate change is strengthened, and a new generation of jurists is to be provided with novel arguments for protecting our climate system.

Publisher: Stanford, California: Stanford University Press, 2024.
In a nation lacking a comprehensive social safety net, people often scramble to find private solutions to structural problems. While existing scholarship primarily focuses on how adults, particularly mothers, navigate systematic gaps in social support, Language Brokers shifts our attention to bilingual children securing crucial resources for their families. Drawing upon interviews with working-class Mexican and Korean American language brokers, as well as healthcare providers, and months of participant observation in a Southern California police station, Hyeyoung Kwon reveals how children of immigrants translate more than simple verbal exchanges. Living at the intersection of multiple forms of inequality, these youth creatively use their in-between status to resolve structural problems to ensure their families' basic citizenship rights are upheld in interactions with teachers, social workers, landlords, doctors, and police officers. In an era of widespread racialized nativism, Language Brokers provides a critical examination of American culture, laying bare the contradictions between the ideals of equality and the exclusion of immigrants. Kwon underscores that dichotomous and racialized understandings of "deserving" and "undeserving" immigrants, embedded in everyday interactions and institutional practice, inform the routine ways in which immigrant youth attempt to cultivate belonging for their families.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2024.
In 1960, consensual sodomy was a crime in every state in America. Fifty-five years later, the Supreme Court ruled that same-sex couples had the fundamental right to marry. In the span of two generations, American law underwent a dramatic transformation. Though the fight for marriage equality has received a considerable amount of attention from scholars and the media, it was only a small part of the more than half-century struggle for queer family rights. Family Matters uncovers these decades of advocacy, which reshaped the place of same-sex sexuality in American law and society - and ultimately made marriage equality possible. This book, however, is more than a history of queer rights. Marie-Amélie George reveals that national legal change resulted from shifts at the state and local levels, where the central figures were everyday people without legal training. Consequently, she offers a new way of understanding how minority groups were able to secure meaningful legal change.

Publisher: New York: Columbia University Press, 2024.
In the early twentieth century, wage loans emerged as a significant financial resource for workers across the U.S., from various backgrounds. However, this led to exploitative practices by lenders, prompting Progressive and New Deal reformers to target these "loan sharks" and advocate for fair credit to combat industrial poverty. Unfortunately, these reforms tended to benefit only the white middle class, reinforcing exclusionary credit markets that marginalized other groups. Simon Bittmann's "Working for Debt" highlights how the fight against wage loans revealed class, race, and gender divides in the American credit system, illustrating the lasting impacts of these dynamics on social stratification and inequality.

Publisher: New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2024.
Food Crime provides a comprehensive look at the various forms of deviance and criminality within the conventional food system. It helps frame the discussion of food deviance and crime, advocates the concept of "food criminology" as a topic of study, and is the first text to analyze the conventional food system from farming through to sales and consumption and systemically show the resulting harms.

Publisher: Jackson, Miss.: University Press of Mississippi, 2024.
This book discusses the concept of "gun lore," which encompasses the narratives, rituals, customs, and art related to firearms in the United States. The book Gunlore: Firearms, Folkways, and Communities explores various gun-related community groups formed for reasons such as self-protection, hunting, and political identity. It examines diverse topics, including the fetishization of firearms, online discussion boards, and survivalist communities. The essays aim to deepen the understanding of how firearms function within these communities and highlight their significant role in American culture. Ultimately, gun lore serves as a method of self-expression, reflecting complex and often controversial aspects of society.

Publisher: Oakland, California: University of California Press, 2024.
The book "The Danger Zone Is Everywhere" by George Lipsitz argues that good health is influenced by social factors as much as biological ones, emphasizing the interconnectedness of the racial health gap and the racial wealth gap. It highlights how housing insecurity and discrimination contribute to public health issues and perpetuate an unjust racial order. The author discusses the exacerbation of housing discrimination's impacts through racial bias in appraisals, policing, and algorithms that link race with risk. Additionally, the book showcases grassroots community mobilizations that are fostering new legislation and organizational efforts for social justice in health care and the law.

Publisher: Eagan, Minnesota: West Academic Publishing, 2023.
This compact, comprehensive title offers a thorough overview of the history, constitutional basis, statutory structure, regulatory provisions, administrative procedure, and ethical principles related to immigration law and practice. Updated to reflect developments including the Trump administration's impact on immigration law and the Biden Administration, it is valuable both as a teaching and a practice reference.

Publisher: Lanham, Maryland: Lexington Books, an imprint of The Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group, Inc., 2023.
This book examines the asylum claims and rights of children seeking refuge in the United States, focusing on two key questions: the influence of factors beyond the law in immigration judges' decisions and the federal courts' reactions to executive policies affecting these minors. Utilizing over 12,000 immigration court decisions and 200 federal court cases, the book reveals that while political factors can impact decision-making, courts continue to uphold the legal rights of unaccompanied minors, often resisting harmful immigration policies from various presidential administrations. It serves as an essential resource for understanding the complexities surrounding asylum claims for children in the U.S.

Publisher: Seattle: University of Washington Press, 2024.
In 1974, Judge George Boldt issued a landmark ruling that recognized the fishing rights and tribal sovereignty of Native nations in Washington State, known as the Boldt Decision. This ruling had significant implications for Indigenous law and resource management across the U.S. and highlighted the importance of salmon in the cultures of the Pacific Northwest. In the 1960s, Native people began reasserting their fishing rights based on 19th-century treaties, leading to violent conflicts with state officials and non-Indian fishing interests, known as the "fish wars." Ultimately, Boldt decided that the tribes had the right to half of the state's fish, a decision later affirmed by the Supreme Court. This case initiated collaborative management of salmon and marine resources and is considered one of the most significant civil rights cases of the 20th century.

Publisher: Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 2024.
"The Disinformers" is a collection of essays edited by Lance Porter that explores the origins and impacts of disinformation campaigns on social media, particularly following the 2016 U.S. presidential election and leading up to the January 6, 2021 Capitol Riot. The book highlights how foreign interference, particularly from Russia's Internet Research Agency, contributed to rising tensions and the spread of false information, undermining public trust in election security and media. The essays analyze the mechanisms of disinformation, platform policies that allow it to thrive, and its effects on various demographic groups, providing essential insights into the ongoing challenges that disinformation poses to democratic processes worldwide.

Washington, DC: Brookings Institution Press; Lanham, Maryland: co-published by Rowman & Littlefield, 2024.
This book discusses the issue of disinformation fueled by cheap digital technology and organized networks, which thrives in a toxic political environment. In "Lies that Kill," experts Elaine Kamarck and Darrell West explore how to recognize and combat disinformation through case studies on various topics like elections and public health. They argue that society can avoid a post-truth world by promoting citizen education, enhancing digital literacy, and implementing regulation and international negotiations to reduce disinformation risks.

Publisher: Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2024.
"Legal Stories" explores the historical relationship between copyright law and narrative-based media development from the Copyright Act of 1909 to the Copyright Act of 1976. Gregory Steirer utilizes archival material and actor-network theory to illustrate how narrative-based property influenced intellectual property law in the twentieth century. He emphasizes a broader perspective on intellectual property that includes the practices of authors, editors, and fans, highlighting the law's improvised nature and its evolution outside of courtrooms. Through case studies of notable properties like Sam Spade, Cthulhu Mythos, and Conan the Barbarian, Steirer offers insights into the practical operation and transformation of copyright law.

Publisher: Abingdon, Oxon; New York, NY: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2024.
This book discusses the implications of artificial intelligence (AI) in generating inventions and creative works, focusing on the question of whether intellectual property (IP) laws should protect these creations. It examines the support for research, development, and innovation if IP laws are not applied to AI-generated works, and considers whether IP rights should belong to the human creators of AI technology or the AI systems themselves. The book evaluates existing laws' relevance, explores different international approaches, and envisions new governance frameworks to balance the interests of creators, investors, and end users of AI-generated works.

Publisher: Oxford, United Kingdom; New York, NY; Oxford University Press, 2021.
This book discusses the importance of the 1951 Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees and its 1967 Protocol for securing international protection. The fourth edition of this book provides thorough revisions and fresh analysis on various challenges, including refugee status, asylum applications, protection standards, internally displaced persons, preventive protection, and the situation of vulnerable groups like women and children. It also examines the role of the UNHCR, the Palestinian situation, and the protection possibilities under the European Convention on Human Rights. Additionally, this edition covers forced migration linked to disasters and climate change, making it a crucial resource for practitioners and students in the field.

Publisher: New York: New York University Press, 2024.
The book discusses the shift in the U.S. approach to refugee resettlement, which once accounted for two-thirds of global resettlements but has recently seen significant cuts and discriminatory policies. Alise Coen's book explains how the contentious political climate, particularly following the Syrian conflict, has turned refugees into partisan symbols for both Democrats and Republicans. It highlights the role of rhetoric and identity narratives in shaping divisive policies, examining the influence of race, gender, and nativism on migration issues. The book analyzes the rhetoric surrounding refugee admissions during the Trump and Biden administrations and warns of the implications for U.S. responsibility-sharing in global displacement.

Publisher: Oxford, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2024.
The prohibition of torture and cruel treatment is a central international human rights norm that safeguards individual dignity and integrity. It has evolved in response to challenges, particularly during the 'war on terror,' broadening its application and becoming more intricate. This prohibition now interacts with various human rights fields, including non-discrimination, international criminal law, and humanitarian law. The analysis highlights the relational nature of torture within power structures and the complicity of international law in perpetuating suffering, including issues like mass incarceration and climate change. To remain relevant in the twenty-first century, the prohibition must reconcile the tension between focusing on direct state violence and addressing broader forms of suffering and power imbalances.

Publisher: Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2024.
Geoffrey P.R. Wallace's work explores the role of the public in international law, challenging the traditional view that focuses only on governments and elites as the main players. He introduces the concept of "popular international law," emphasizing that ordinary people are significant legal actors with the ability to engage in international legal matters. Wallace argues that the public is neither powerless nor uninformed, possessing the capacity to understand and contribute to international legal rules. The book provides a comprehensive analysis of international legal politics from the perspective of everyday individuals, highlighting their importance in international affairs.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2024.
This book reexamines the concept of sustainable development in international law through a non-Western lens, focusing on Africa's legal and historical context. It argues for the importance of non-Western legal norms as a foundation for redefining sustainable development. By emphasizing eco-legal philosophies, the study proposes that ecological integrity should be central to sustainable development's conceptualization and implementation. Although centered on Africa, the insights and arguments presented have broader applicability, contributing to global discussions on nature, rights, and development.

Publisher: ImprintCheltenham, UK; Northampton, MA, USA: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2024.
This book discusses the importance of a holistic, trauma-centered approach to legal education, challenging the traditional austere view of the legal profession. Co-editors Mallika Kaur and Lindsay M. Harris compile insights from various legal academics to highlight strategies for integrating emotions into law teaching. The chapters critique different pedagogical methods, including the use of violent imagery and the Socratic method, while emphasizing the need for sensitivity in addressing both emotional and non-emotional legal topics. "How to Account for Trauma and Emotions in Law Teaching" serves as a vital resource for legal educators aiming to foster engaging and inclusive learning environments, beneficial for lawyers, law students, and trauma professionals.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, [2024.
"Bad Words: A Legal Writer's Guide to What Not to Say" is a resource aimed at improving legal writing by advising writers to minimize the use of adjectives and adverbs. The book is structured with three main sections: 1. A "Top 50 to Avoid" list of commonly misused adjectives and adverbs, with explanations of their negative impact on writing. 2. A dictionary-style compilation of additional words, phrases, and rhetorical devices to limit or avoid, along with reasons for their exclusion. 3. A "Bonus Material" section featuring categorized lists of less significant words to avoid. The book also includes an alphabetized table for easy reference of over 2,000 words and phrases addressed in the book.

Publisher: St. Paul, MN: West Academic Publishing, 2023.
"Legal Writing and Global Lawyering Skills" is a resource designed for new lawyers that emphasizes essential writing and lawyering skills. It covers objective and persuasive legal writing, as well as skills like oral argument, alternative dispute resolution, and client interaction. The book uniquely incorporates cross-cultural and transnational law practice considerations, addressing foreign legal systems and intercultural competence. It is suitable for various course lengths and includes updates on professionalism, feedback, judicial writing, implicit bias, and statutory interpretation, aligning with new ABA Standards on professional identity, bias, and cross-cultural competency.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2024.
"Legal Writing Made Simple: A Step-by-Step Approach" simplifies the legal writing process by offering clear formulas for both objective and persuasive writing. It introduces the macro-formula CRAC (Conclusion, Rule, Analysis, Conclusion) and provides detailed micro-formulas for each component. The book uses a federal employment discrimination claim to guide readers through the stages of litigation and writing, including research, understanding the law, case assessment, argumentation, and finalizing work. The aim is to ensure that readers never face a blank page without direction, using real-life examples to aid their understanding.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2024.
"The Case for Effective Legal Writing" is a unique book that connects writing techniques to real-world legal outcomes. It emphasizes the importance of writing skills in the legal field, highlighting how they can influence case results. The book covers topics such as tone, diction, grammar, syntax, and punctuation, supported by illustrative court cases. Each chapter includes explanations, notes, questions, and practical exercises to enhance understanding. It is intended for use in various legal writing courses and serves as a valuable resource for law students at different levels.

Publisher: Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2024.
In 1999, England and Wales proposed controversial measures for the preventive detention of individuals labeled as 'dangerous people with severe personality disorders'. Ailbhe O'Loughlin's book, "Law and Personality Disorder," explores the ongoing tension between protecting public safety and respecting the rights of these individuals. The book examines the interplay of criminology, psychiatry, psychology, and law, highlighting the state's dual obligation to safeguard the public while ensuring rehabilitation opportunities for offenders. O'Loughlin critiques how human rights law can inadvertently support coercive measures, noting that criminal law often punishes those with mental disorders despite evidence of diminished responsibility. The book identifies gaps in sentencing, mental health, and human rights law, offering comprehensive insights and proposals for reform.

Publisher: Abingdon, Oxon; New York, NY: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2023.
"The Law in War" is a comprehensive resource that addresses operational, humanitarian, and accountability issues during armed conflict with a focus on international law's impact on military operations. The second edition includes updates on international humanitarian law and introduces a new chapter on international human rights law, covering law enforcement conduct in hostilities. Key topics include the status of combatants, civilian protection, targeting, POW treatment, weapons law, and the role of private security contractors. It serves as an essential text for students and professionals in fields like international law and military operations.

Publisher: Oxford, United Kingdom: Oxford University Press, 2023.
The text discusses the traditional principle of equality among combatants under the laws of armed conflict, regardless of the justice of their wars. It highlights the revisionist perspective, which argues that just combatants in unjust wars should be viewed as innocents, making their deaths akin to murder. Dr. Prieto Rudolphy's book, *The Morality of the Laws of War: War, Law, and Murder*, examines this conflict between revisionist arguments and existing legal norms, proposing a new perspective on the legal equality of combatants. Rudolphy argues that regulating war is a moral compromise and emphasizes the need to improve laws to align them with an ideal of peace. The book serves as a comprehensive resource for understanding contemporary ethical debates on warfare.

Publisher: Durham: Duke University Press, 2024.
In 1980, Charles Wetli- a Miami-based medical examiner and self-proclaimed "cult expert" of Afro-Caribbean religions- identified "excited delirium syndrome," which was later used by medical examiners to describe deaths of Black individuals during police interactions, attributing fatalities to drug-induced superhuman strength rather than police actions. Aisha M. Beliso-De Jesús critically examines this diagnosis in her work "Excited Delirium," highlighting its flawed criteria and connection to the criminalization of Afro-Latiné religions. She argues that the concept exemplifies systemic racism, shifting blame for state violence from authorities to the victims, and she sheds light on the broader implications of medicalized violence against people of color in the U.S.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts: The MIT Press, 2023.
Wendy H. Wong's book, "We, the Data," emphasizes the importance of extending human rights into the realm of data in our data-intensive world. Wong argues that the pervasive data collection threatens our autonomy, community, dignity, and equality, and highlights the necessity for stakeholders to engage in discussions about technology, ethics, and policy. Wong advocates for recognizing the role of data in defining our humanity, asserting that individuals are more than just data sources. The book explores crucial topics such as data rights, facial recognition technology, posthumous rights, and the right to data literacy, calling for accountability from data collectors. Ultimately, it aims to establish a foundation for claiming human rights in the digital age, akin to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Publisher: New York: Oxford University Press, 2024.
The book discusses the renewed interest in private law theory among legal scholars in the U.S. and globally. It highlights that traditional categories like tort, property, and contract law are insufficient for thorough doctrinal analysis. The essays in "Interstitial Private Law" emphasize the importance of understanding interstitial concepts—such as legal personhood, agency, consent, estoppel, equity, remedies, and restitution—that connect these fields. This collection aims to enhance the scholarly agenda for private law theory by exploring these critical interstitial aspects, contributing to a more comprehensive understanding of private law systems.

Publisher: Abingdon, Oxon UK; New York, NY: Routledge, 2024.
This volume reviews the evolving field of legal ethics, focusing on the professional regulation of lawyers and the significant changes facing the legal profession globally. It highlights the diverse scholarship, including philosophical and interdisciplinary approaches, that has developed over the past 50 years. With contributions from scholars across multiple countries, the collection provides critical insights and commentary on the current landscape and future directions of legal ethics scholarship. It serves as an essential resource for scholars and students while also appealing to those in legal theory, the philosophy of law, and applied ethics.

Publisher: Athens: The University of Georgia Press, 2024.
On January 22, 1973, the Supreme Court's Roe v. Wade decision established abortion as a constitutional right, marking a significant victory for the women's rights movement. This decision was overturned on June 24, 2022, in Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization. The book "Roe v. Wade: Fifty Years After," coedited by Rhae Lynn Barnes and Catherine Clinton, examines the social, political, legal, and cultural transformations that occurred over the past fifty years regarding reproductive rights. It features insights from scholars and historians who discuss the historical context of abortion, the evolving legal and cultural landscape, and the influence of various social movements. The volume emphasizes important questions about life, rights, and the intersection of race, class, and geography in reproductive health. It also highlights the global implications of the struggle for reproductive freedom in the U.S.

Montreal; Kingston; London; Chicago: McGill-Queen's University Press, 2024.
The text discusses how streaming sites like Pornhub have mainstreamed sexually explicit content, altering its social role. Online pornography now influences personal relationships, social norms, and legal systems similarly to platforms like Google and Facebook. Elaine Craig examines the impact of mainstream porn on sexual culture, focusing on themes such as incest and rough sex, and explores the legal framework surrounding porn companies. She argues for the application of legal mechanisms on corporate-owned platforms to protect sexual integrity, especially of women and girls, while acknowledging the limits of law in shaping cultural norms regarding sexuality.

Publisher: New York, NY: Routledge, 2024.
The book examines emerging issues in criminology and criminal justice as they relate to LGBTQ+ individuals, featuring contributions from international researchers. It addresses how sexual orientation and gender identity affect access to justice, as well as improving the practices of justice practitioners in relation to LGBTQ+ clients. Key topics include support for myths about male sexual assault victims, police responses to same-sex intimate partner violence, barriers to accessing police liaison officers, media framing of the 2016 Pulse nightclub shooting, and interventions for LGBTQ+ women and girls in corrections. This resource is valuable for academics and students in various fields related to criminology and criminal justice.

Publisher: Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2024.
The text discusses the lack of a dedicated academic field for studying social and political change, despite the numerous individuals and organizations striving to make a difference in society. It highlights the book "How Change Happens," which aims to connect academic research and practical activism by featuring insights from various disciplines and the experiences of Oxfam. The second edition includes a chapter on the role of digital technology in activism and examines the challenges posed by populism and reduced civic space for those advocating for positive change.

Publisher: Boston: Beacon Press, 2024.
Written by journalist Alison Owings, "Mayor of the Tenderloin" tells the story of Del Seymour, who overcame 18 years of homelessness and addiction to become a respected advocate in San Francisco's Tenderloin neighborhood. Owings highlights Del's journey from addiction and struggles with homelessness to founding Tenderloin Walking Tours and Code Tenderloin, an organization that helps marginalized individuals find and maintain employment. The narrative includes perspectives from Del’s family, friends, and community members, emphasizing his commitment to giving back and supporting those facing similar challenges. The book offers a portrayal of homelessness in a city known for its stark divide between wealth and poverty, capturing Del's efforts to address these issues.

Publisher: New York: New York University Press, 2018.
The book discusses how negative biases against women of color are ingrained in search engine results and algorithms. It highlights that searches for "black girls" often yield sexually explicit terms and stereotypes, while searches for "white girls" produce different results. In her book, "Algorithms of Oppression," Safiya Umoja Noble critiques the notion that search engines provide an equal platform, asserting that data discrimination is a serious social issue. She argues that the interests of private entities and the monopolization of search engines lead to biased algorithms that favor whiteness and marginalize people of color, especially women. Noble's extensive research reveals a pervasive culture of racism and sexism in online discoverability, aiming to raise awareness of these troubling trends and discriminatory practices in the digital age.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts: The MIT Press, 2019.
In "Artificial Unintelligence," Meredith Broussard critiques the enthusiasm for applying technology to all aspects of life, highlighting that many systems are poorly designed. She emphasizes the fundamental limits of technology and warns against assuming that computers always function correctly. Broussard argues against technochauvinism, asserting that technology is not always the solution to social problems. Through various experiments—such as using a driverless car, analyzing AI in education, predicting Titanic survivor outcomes, and attempting to repair campaign finance with AI—she illustrates the limitations of technology. Ultimately, she advocates for understanding these limits to make informed choices that can improve society.

publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts: Harvard University Press, 2016.
The text discusses how corporations are increasingly monitoring personal behavior through data collection related to work habits and Internet usage, creating detailed and invasive profiles. It emphasizes the need for transparency regarding how firms use this information, as hidden algorithms can significantly impact reputations and economies. The author, Frank Pasquale, highlights the commonality of self-serving behavior within these firms, which often remains concealed by legal and technical complexities. Although there have been fines and regulatory efforts, the underlying issues persist. The call to action is for greater accountability from Silicon Valley and Wall Street, ensuring that their decisions are fair, nondiscriminatory, and subject to public scrutiny.

Publisher: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2024.
The volume "Prehistories of the War on Terror" explores the connections between contemporary U.S. military actions in the War on Terror and historical imperial conflicts. It discusses how the U.S. has historically classified its enemies as terrorists, linking past military endeavors—from settler colonial wars to twentieth-century conflicts— to current practices. The essays highlight the importance of local histories and the impact of U.S. interventions, analyzing how public discourse often suppresses discussions of sovereignty, extraction, and inequality. The contributors argue against a singular narrative leading to 9/11 and emphasize the necessity of examining multiple historical paths to understand the present and advocate for a more just future.

Publisher: Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2024.
The book explores how America's democratic crisis stems from a disconnect between the Constitution and modern, partisan politics. Authors Paul Pierson and Eric Schickler argue that national politics has overshadowed local dynamics, leading to significant polarization that differs from past eras. Since the 1960s, clearer ideological identities in the Democratic and Republican parties, along with the increasing power of the national government and various technological and economic changes, have intensified this polarization. The authors warn that this self-perpetuating division makes the political system susceptible to authoritarian movements, particularly within the contemporary Republican Party, which can exploit the unique aspects of the Constitution. The book provides insights into the implications of these shifts for American governance and democracy.

Publisher: New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2024.
"Battleground" explores the Electoral College strategies used by US presidential campaigns from 1952 to 2020, highlighting their significance on election day. While academic research often downplays the impact of campaigns compared to economic conditions and socio-political trends, this work reveals that campaign strategies can still be crucial in shaping election outcomes. Utilizing internal campaign records and novel data sources, the authors identify the strategies employed by major presidential campaigns, evaluate their execution, and analyze the influence of state-by-state candidate visits and advertising. The findings indicate that presidential campaigns have become increasingly strategic and effective, underscoring the continued importance of campaign strategies in modern elections.

Publisher: Durham: Duke University Press, 2024.
In "Judicial Territory," Shaina Potts discusses how the post-World War II expansion of US judicial authority has affected the American empire, particularly regarding economic decisions of postcolonial governments. She introduces the concept of "judicial territory" to describe the transnational influence of US courts. Potts argues that US law serves as a tool for geopolitical and economic interests by allowing the United States to oversee global financial and economic relations, especially concerning private US companies and foreign state-owned enterprises. She posits that US law not only addresses globalization but actively shapes it, integrating the entire world into the US economic framework.

Cambridge, Massachusetts; London, England: The MIT Press, 2024.
"The Game That Never Ends" by Julien Mailland is a guide to the legal history of the videogame industry aimed at nonlawyers. It explores notable legal cases, including why FIFA 15 was recalled in France, the renaming of Vodka Drunkenski to Soda Popinski, and a Dutch-American company's ban on distributing a Pac-Man clone. Each chapter presents a legal issue and its impact on the industry and gamers, while interludes called "The Lawyer's Corner" offer deeper insights into specific cases. The book aims to provide a comprehensive, nuanced understanding of the global legal landscape of videogames.

Publisher: Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2024.
This book discusses the socio-political and economic causes of conflicts over water, highlighting grassroots movements like Brazil's Movimento dos Atingidos por Barragens (MAB) and environmental activists in Pittsburgh. It examines how these movements communicate and organize against water privatization and "water grabbing," emphasizing the importance of collective struggle and popular organization beyond just water issues. The book, based on extensive fieldwork, employs anticolonial and feminist research methods to illustrate global communications and organizing related to water, showcasing the exchanges of knowledge and strategies between movements in the Global North and Global South.

Publisher: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2023.
"Frontiers of Gender Equality" provides various interdisciplinary retrospective views of the struggles to eliminate gender discrimination in national courts and international human rights treaties. The book illustrates how gender discrimination continues to be normalized and camouflaged, and how it intersects with other axes of subordination, such as indigeneity, religion, and poverty, to create new forms of intersectional discrimination. Given the increasingly porous exchanges between domestic and international law, various national, regional, and international decisions and texts are examined to determine how better to breathe life into equality from the perspectives, for instance, of Indigenous and Muslim women, those who were violated sexually and physically, and those needing access to necessary health care, including abortion. The conclusion suggests areas of future research, including how to translate the concept of intersectionality into normative and institutional settings, which will assist in promoting the goals of gender equality.

Publisher: Oakland, California: University of California Press, 2024.
In the United States, the second-wave feminist fight to achieve legal and societal recognition of men's violence against women leaned heavily on the victim-offender binary, which has since become inscribed in funding schemes, legal remedies, and intervention approaches. In Broken, scholar-practitioner Lisa Young Larance draws on her extensive in-depth qualitative inquiry and practice experience with women who have participated in antiviolence intervention to explain how this binary erases the trauma histories of those who both survive and cause harm. Calling for a more holistic conception of interpersonal violence, Broken illuminates the connections across race, class, and sexual orientation that facilitate women's healing and repair.