Cases & Jurisprudence - Human Rights Research - The Basics - LibGuides at University of San Francisco School of Law

Treaty Bodies, Tribunals & Regional Courts - Selected Sources

Here are some sites that are useful for finding human rights decisions from courts and other tribunals (including the United Nations human rights treaty bodies).

Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL) This link opens in a new window
See the "International Human Rights Law" and "International Law in Domestic Courts" modules. The "Human Rights" module coverage includes: African Comm'n on Human and Peoples Rights; African Court of Human and Peoples' Rights; East African Court of Justice; European Court of Human Rights; Inter-American Court of Human Rights; UN Committee against Torture; UN Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women; UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination; UN Human Rights Committee; and more.

Courts & Tribunals Collection - World Legal Information Institute
Search or browse decisions of almost 40 international courts and tribunals. [Free; no access restrictions.]
Human Rights Jurisprudence - UN OHCHR
Flexible, powerful search engine for all decisions from these U.N. human rights treaty bodies: the Human Rights Committee (CCPR); the Committee against Torture (CAT); the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW); (CERD), the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities; (CRPD); the Committee on Enforced Disappearances (CED); the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR); and the Committee on the Rights of the Child (CRC).
WorldCourts.com
WorldCourts emphasizes human rights. Covers several dozen tribunals and U.H. human rights bodies. The search engine is relatively basic. [Free; no access restrictions.]
Inter-American Court of Human Rights / Corte Interamericana de Derechos Humanos
Decisions are available in Spanish and English via the Court’s web site. Advanced search lets you find decisions by subject or by date. [Free; no access restrictions.]
IACHR Project Database - Loyola Law School of Los Angeles
Summaries of Inter-American Court of Human Rights merits judgments from the first case in 1988 to the present. Searchable by topic, country, Inter-American Convention on Human Rights article, reparations, case name, judge, and more. A project of Loyola Law School of Los Angeles.
European Court of Human Rights
Includes: judgments; pending cases; basic texts; court rules; background information. This site's "HUDOC" database lets you search for case law from the Court.
United Kingdom Cases: European Human Rights Reports - Westlaw
Not limited to cases regarding the United Kingdom! Coverage is: "full-text decisions from the European Court of Human Rights and selected reports and decisions from the European Commission of Human Rights, as well as settlements and resolutions of the Committee of Ministers." Coverage begins in 1979. Selected decisions from 1960 to 1979 are also available. [For authorized Westlaw subscribers.]
African Human Rights - Case Law Analyser
"Human rights decisions of African supra-national mechanisms." "Aims to offer the most comprehensive access to African human rights law and case law...." [Free; no access restrictions.]
African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights
Includes Cases (with judgments and orders in contentious matters and advisory proceedings), as well as documents, legal information, and background information. [Free; no access restrictions.]
African Human Rights Law Reports
Selected domestic court decisions, plus decisions of the African Comm'n on Human and Peoples' Rights and relevant decisions the U.N. treaty bodies. Downloads of each year's reports are available, but there is no search function. Covers cases from 1981 to the present. [Free; no access restrictions.]
Bayefsky.com - Guide to United Nations Human Rights Treaties
Bayefsky's documents by theme and documents by state features help pinpoint "concluding observations" and other documents on specific nations' practices. [Last updated in 2005. Try the UN's Universal Human Rights Index to find more recent UN treaty-body documents.]