New Books At The Zief Law Library

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This research handbook examines contemporary animal law and its relationship to the philosophical and legal idea of animal rights. Adopting an inter- and multidisciplinary approach, it explores the role of legal theory, legal practice, strategic litigation and advocacy in the global development of laws protecting animals. The "Research Handbook on Animal Law and Animal Rights" is an essential resource for scholars and students of animal law, environmental law, and legal philosophy, as well as for practitioners of law. Its practical dimensions and forward-thinking insights will greatly benefit legal practitioners and officials interested in animal status and protection.

Publisher: Oxford, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Hart Publishing, 2024.
In "AI Fairness and Beyond," Chris Reed proposes a regulatory system for ensuring that AI makes fair decisions. The book calls for a holistic understanding of fairness and argues that the AI community should bear the responsibility to explain their efforts to achieve fairness. Furthermore, regulatory and legal responses should be based on how well that explanation deals with the risks that particular AI presents, and whether it operates in accordance with the explanation in use.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
This handbook offers an important exploration of generative AI and its legal and regulatory implications from interdisciplinary perspectives. The volume is divided into four parts. Part I provides the necessary context and background to understand the topic, including its technical underpinnings and societal impacts. Part II probes the emerging regulatory and policy frameworks related to generative AI and AI more broadly across different jurisdictions. Part III analyses generative AI's impact on specific areas of law, from non-discrimination and data protection to intellectual property, corporate governance, criminal law and more. Part IV examines the various practical applications of generative AI in the legal sector and public administration. Overall, this volume provides a comprehensive resource for those seeking to understand and navigate the substantial and growing implications of generative AI for the law.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
Since its first publication in 1979, "Law, Ethics, and the Visual Arts" has been the foundational text in the field of art law. This thoroughly reorganized and updated sixth edition takes a fresh look at primary materials and commentary from previous editions, extending the book's analysis with significant changes in format and content to reflect changes in the field. This book offers a cornucopia of examples, questions, issues, and lessons for students, artists, dealers, collectors, attorneys, and any reader curious about today's complex world of the visual arts.

Boston, MA: National Consumer Law Center, 2025.
This edition covers every aspect of motor vehicle, manufactured home, and household goods repossessions and deficiency claims, as well as invalid security interests and restrictions on default, illegal self-help repossessions, notice of sale and proper disposition of the collateral, calculating and limiting deficiencies, sample pleadings, and discovery.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This comprehensive book provides an up-to-date and accessible overview of the relevant law and key issues surrounding company voluntary arrangements (CVAs). Andrew Keay and Peter Walton discuss the historical background as well as the procedural and legal requirements of CVAs and outline how CVAs can enable an insolvent company to come to terms with its situation and agree a way forward with its creditors. With a focus on the law in England and Wales, they assess the relevant procedure, investigating how the pertinent provisions in the Insolvency Act 1986 and the Insolvency Rules 2016 have been interpreted and applied. This book is an essential resource for practitioners and policymakers in company and insolvency law, as well as corporate law and governance. It will also greatly benefit academics studying corporate and insolvency law.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This book constitutes the first holistic and comprehensive analysis of corporate debt restructuring law through the lens of viability. Viability has been a largely unexplored notion in European and English scholarship, and in the US there has not yet been any systematic examination of the Chapter 11 provisions through the lens of viability. Yet, the notion is of pivotal importance because it determines which debtors are worth being rescued. In this book, Lydia Tsioli conducts an in-depth examination of Chapter 11, English restructuring frameworks and the European Directive on restructuring and insolvency. Through this examination Tsioli uncovers, critically evaluates and makes proposals for the optimal reflection of viability on their provisions, and consequently the increased 'filtering efficiency' of such frameworks.

Publisher: Austin: University of Texas Press, 2025.
Almost every American city contains neighborhoods dominated by wood frame construction -- light, cheap, combustible, and requiring the lowest upfront investment of labor and material in the building industry. Known as a Type V (five) construction in the terminology of building codes, these buildings became ubiquitous in the American urban landscape thanks to the abundance of timber, housing affordability aspirations, and the adoption of a uniform code. In "The Type V City", Jeana Ripple examines the social and spatial history of building codes and material patterns in five cities -- New York, Tampa, Chicago, Philadelphia, and Seattle -- to reframe the stories of America's building priorities, methods, negotiations, and assumptions. By examining the development of building materials and codes alongside the environmental, social, economic, and political context of each city's development, Ripple reveals previously overlooked connections between the power structures underpinning regulatory evolution and the impacts that lay just beyond the frame of city builders' priorities.

Publisher: New York: Columbia University Press, 2025.
Meritocracy, the idea that individuals should be rewarded based on their talent and hard work, is one of the most widely celebrated ideals in education, business, and government. It shapes how organizations recruit, evaluate, and promote, promising a fair system where the best rise to the top. But meritocracy has increasingly come under criticism for deepening inequality and reinforcing bias. How did a once-progressive ideal meant to level the playing field end up contributing to unfairness and privilege? What happens when organizations treat merit as their guiding principle without questioning how it's defined or applied? Most importantly, how can today's leaders recognize and fix what's gone wrong? In "The Meritocracy Paradox", Emilio J. Castilla offers timely new answers to these fundamental questions by analyzing the structure and culture of meritocracy inside organizations and providing real-world examples to show how personal biases and social barriers can undermine the values and outcomes these systems are meant to uphold.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
Financial institutions raise unique problems for corporate governance and culture that are not found in other corporate sectors. This book examines the various forms of organisational culture in financial institutions and its interplay with corporate governance and regulatory regimes. It provides a detailed survey and practical examination of key topical issues in the corporate governance and culture of financial institutions including boards and regulators, executive remuneration, ESG, regtech and AI. "Corporate Governance and Culture in Financial Institutions" is an essential resource for practicing lawyers advising in the financial services sector, culture officers and HR professionals in financial institutions. Its discussions on diversity and compliance are also greatly beneficial to financial policymakers and regulators, as well as students and academics in corporate law and banking law.

Publisher: Lexington, Kentucky: University Press of Kentucky, 2025.
A piece of paper with a previously undisclosed truth has the power to bring you to your knees. While sorting through her late mother's belongings, Johnisha Matthews Levi discovered a document indicating that her father had served time in Lorton Correctional Complex. This revelation, along with rumors about an FBI investigation of her deceased parents' "private business," leads Levi to unearth the hidden history of her family. She ties this story to public policy, demonstrating how state lottery legalization and the War on Drugs disrupted the Black institutions and communities in Washington, DC. Levi's stirring memoir centers on her brilliant but troubled father, a Black World War II radioman who, facing economic barriers after his naval service, reinvents himself as a "numbers man" for an underground gambling operation. The job enables John Matthews to provide for his loved ones and to achieve a level of success far beyond his childhood dreams in the impoverished Jim Crow South. In the process, he becomes an indirect target of law enforcement. By examining the circumstances of her father's incarceration, Levi explores how multiple generations of the Matthews family have been haunted by the specter of violence against Black people. "Number's Up" offers a unique but quintessentially American story of survival through ingenuity as it asks: Is forgiveness the sole means of moving forward?

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts: The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2025.
A revelatory history of the laws that conditioned the everyday lives of Chinese people in the American West -- and of those who negotiated, circumvented, and resisted discrimination. Beth Lew-Williams describes a legal architecture redolent of Jim Crow but tailored to people often referred to only as "John Doe Chinaman" or "Mary Chinaman" in official records. Enforced by police and tax collectors, but also by schoolteachers, missionaries, and neighbors, these laws granted the Chinese only limited access to American society. Cementing stereotypes of Chinese residents as criminals, invaders, and predators, they regulated everything from healthcare to education, property ownership, business formation, and kinship customs. Yet in the face of these limitations, Chinese communities reacted resourcefully. Many fought, evaded, and manipulated these laws, finding ways to maintain their prohibited traditions, resist unfair treatment in court, and insist on their political rights. Drawing on archives across the US West, "John Doe Chinaman" reveals the depth of anti-Chinese discrimination beyond federal exclusion and tells the stories of those who refused to accept a conditional place in American life.

Publisher: Stanford, California: Stanford University Press, 2025.
What would it look like to place race at the center of international legal scholarship? From its inception in the 70s and 80s, critical race theory's target was the field of law, revealing it to be a repository for racial power. This particular critique of law was explosive because of law's putatively apolitical status, making it a unique site for an intellectual sit-in that has forever changed the way that race and racism are understood in American society. Several decades later, as indicators of populism and white nationalism spread across North America and Europe, critical race theory remains markedly absent from discourses in global affairs and international law. This volume opens the door for CRT to enter the international sphere. Featuring contributions from 30 of today's leading scholars from around the world, "Race, Racism, and International Law" explains how the concept of racial difference sits at the foundation of the legal, political, and social structures of hierarchy that shape the contemporary global order.

Publisher: New York: New York University Press, 2023.
Since the publication of the third edition of "Critical Race Theory: An Introduction" in 2017, the United States has experienced a dramatic increase in racially motivated mass shootings and a pandemic that revealed how deeply entrenched medical racism is and how public disasters disproportionately affect minority communities. We have also seen a sharp backlash against Critical Race Theory and a president who deemed racism a thing of the past while he fanned the flames of racial intolerance and promoted nativist sentiments among his followers. Taking note of all these developments, this fourth edition covers a range of new topics and events and addresses the rise of criticism from right-wing websites, think tanks, and foundations, some of which insist that America is now colorblind and has little use for racial analysis and study. This book is essential for understanding developments in this burgeoning field, which has spread to other disciplines and countries.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
In "The Changing Constitution," Richard H. Fallon Jr. explores the constitutional law of the United States as reflected in decisions of the Supreme Court, including recent blockbusters. Fallon analyses controversial rulings addressing topics such as freedom of speech and religion, the Second Amendment right to bear arms, abortion, affirmative action, gay rights, and the powers and prerogatives of the President. Examining modern controversies from a historical perspective he argues that it's impossible to understand U.S. constitutional law without recognizing the political and institutional forces that always have brought, and will continue to bring, innovations and occasional reversals in constitutional doctrine. Fallon also highlights distinctive aspects of the current era, including the judicial philosophies of the sitting Justices. This intellectually sophisticated overview of constitutional law and Supreme Court practice additionally discusses anxieties about whether and how the Justices, who can overrule their own precedents, are meaningfully constrained by law.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This timely and comprehensive book reveals the multifaceted nature of modern contract law and practice. Providing a broad overview of research methods in contemporary contract law, it identifies the various modes of inquiry and argumentative techniques in this dynamic field, providing theoretical depth and practical tools for legal scholarship. Yuliya Chernykh and Joshua Karton bring together a range of specialists in contract law research to address emerging topics within legal scholarship that work well with a combination of methodological approaches.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
How can our criminal law retain legitimacy in an era of growing awareness about the complexities of human vulnerability and the far-reaching harm of punitive attitudes? "The Boundaries of Blame" makes a fresh contribution to the evolving scholarship on the relationship between criminal responsibility and social justice. It challenges the constricted view of personhood underpinning doctrines of responsibility, encouraging new conversations about the role of circumstances like deprivation and trauma in excusing wrongdoing. Testing entrenched boundaries can provoke resistance, but pushing past these limits is essential to fostering a more just framework of state blame in our present time and place. Louise Kennefick proposes a bold yet pragmatic response in the form of a Universal Partial Defence, grounded in the Real Person Approach - a blueprint that offers a practical and humane pathway towards a fairer measure of criminal accountability.

Publisher: New York: Columbia University Press, 2025.
"Principles of Bitcoin" presents a holistic framework for understanding one of the most misunderstood inventions of our time. By stripping away the hype, jargon, and superficial analysis that often surrounds the crypto industry, this book uncovers the true ingenuity behind Satoshi Nakamoto's creation and its profound implications for the future of money, governance, and individual freedom. Vijay Selvam analyzes the technology, economics, politics, and philosophy of Bitcoin, making the case that only through this holistic understanding can we gain an appreciation of its true meaning and significance. Readers are invited to consider Bitcoin as a tool for individual empowerment, a catalyst for economic autonomy, and a challenge to traditional monetary systems.

Publisher: Durham: Duke University Press, 2025.
In recent decades, feminist epistemologies and postcolonial studies have called for decentering knowledge in the social sciences and humanities, bringing to light perspectives from ignored or undervalued groups and areas of the world. However, there has been less interest in the specific infrastructures and practices that make decentering possible. Drawing from science and technology studies, "Decentralizing Knowledges" examines how to bring about such change. Contributors explore the practices of knowledge production and circulation that favor and nurture nonhegemonic standpoints in academic fields, disciplines, and institutions--what they call epistemic decentralizing. They combine theoretical and philosophical inquiry with empirical and historical case studies in settings ranging from palliative care in Taiwan, the repatriation of archaeological remains to Peru, and an experimental research platform in Kenya to a center of interdisciplinary ethnography in Ecuador and duck hunting as a knowledge practice of many indigenous Sámi people. Throughout, the contributors provide an overview of the complex processes required to challenge mainstream epistemology.

Publisher: Durham: Duke University Press, 2025.
When Danilyn Rutherford and her husband Craig noticed that their six-month-old daughter Millie wasn't making eye contact, they took her to their pediatrician. And an optometrist. Then a neurologist. Later, to a team of physical and occupational therapists. None of the doctors could give Millie a diagnosis, but it was clear that her brain was not developing at the rate it should. At an age when some children take their first steps, Millie had the cognitive ability and motor skills of a three-month-old. Three years later, Craig died suddenly of a heart attack and Danilyn found herself on the precipice of her anthropology career as a widow and single mother, still trying to solve the puzzle posed by Millie's inaccessible mind. Now in her twenties, Millie has never been able to express herself verbally, but she has a thriving social environment rooted in the people around her and in things her companions and family can see, hear, smell, and feel. Life in Millie's world is far richer than might be immediately evident to those who think and communicate in conventional ways. "Beautiful Mystery" explores what it means to be a person in the spaces between what we can and cannot say, and how we can fight to care for those we love when they don't have the language to fight for themselves. Through her unique lens as a mother and an anthropologist, Rutherford tells the story of arriving in Millie's world, what she found there, and how Millie showed her that words aren't always what makes us human.

Publisher: Chicago, IL: The University of Chicago Press, 2025.
University of Chicago economist Gary Becker won the Nobel Prize largely for his advancement of human capital theory -- the idea that investing in a person's knowledge and skills has a wide range of economic effects. Becker's writing on the subject was technical, but his teaching, especially in his famous doctoral course at Chicago, remains legendary for its accessibility, brilliance, and applications to everyday life. In "Human Capital for Humans," economist and former Becker student Pablo A. Peña channels this classroom approach to produce an accessible, essential guide to understanding the science that has become synonymous with modern life and the economy. With an illustrative and immersive style, Peña unpacks the human capital approach to domains such as parenting, aging, marriage, health, and household labor. The result is an intellectually elevated, essential introduction for learners and teachers of this subject across business, management, economics, policy, and beyond.

Publisher: Princeton, New Jersey: Princeton University Press, 2025.
In "How Progress Ends", Carl Benedikt Frey challenges the conventional belief that economic and technological progress is inevitable. For most of human history, stagnation was the norm, and even today progress and prosperity in the world's largest, most advanced economies--the United States and China--have fallen short of expectations. To appreciate why we cannot depend on any AI-fueled great leap forward, Frey offers a remarkable and fascinating journey across the globe, spanning the past 1,000 years, to explain why some societies flourish and others fail in the wake of rapid technological change.

Publisher: Oakland, California: University of California Press, 2025.
Movement is the lifeblood of capital, even more so than growth. If goods, people, and information don't flow, then profits don't either. Ensuring that laborers, shipping containers, media, commercially valuable data, and much else are in the right place at the right time demands a subtle choreography. Enter logistics. Susan Zieger argues that logistics is the foundation of power in our time. Blending detailed historical research with real-life stories that crystallize the human and ecological consequences of supply chains, "Logistics and Power'" shows how the pursuit of efficient movement has come to organize economies while disordering societies and selves.

Publisher: Oakland, California: University of California Press, 2025.
Karl Marx's writings on enslavement and labor have fallen out of favor among historians, but David McNally injects new life into them. "Slavery and Capitalism" gives the first systematic Marxist account of the capitalist character of Atlantic slavery -- using colonial travel literature, planter records and diaries, and slave narratives -- to support the claim for enslaved labor in the plantation system as capitalist commodity production. Weaving together history, political economy, and radical abolitionism, McNally demonstrates that plantation slaves formed a modern working class. He highlights the self-activity of enslaved people fighting for their freedom and reframes their resistance as labor struggles over production and reproduction, with significant implications for US and Atlantic history and for understanding the roots of racial capitalism.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This thoroughly revised second edition examines the current state of literature in law and political economy, drawing on scholarship across a variety of subject areas, geographies and orientations. Contributing authors tackle questions of money and finance, commodities, labour, markets, property and larger questions of economic inequality and justice. The chapters capture contemporary debates on themes such as digital data and investment and unpack complex historical and theoretical shifts in the dynamics of institutional change.

Publisher: Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2025.
In "Irrational Together," economic sociologist Adam S. Hayes takes readers on a fascinating journey to uncover the often unseen social forces that shape our financial behavior. Drawing on original research and engaging real-world examples, Hayes challenges not only the notion that economic decisions are purely rational but also the prevailing behavioral economics view that irrational choices stem primarily from individual beliefs. Instead, he argues that our economic choices and actions are deeply embedded in our social and cultural contexts and that understanding these influences is needed to fully grasp the complexities of financial decision-making.

Publisher: Oxford, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2025.
"The Wealth of Freedom" argues for universal basic income and universal capital grants, the fair taxation of inheritances and wealth, participatory democracy in the workplace, in investment, and in the design of public services, and for strong trade unions as key elements in a radical republican economy of the common good. Internationally, a radical republican economy of the common good calls for us to restructure existing systems of transnational governance and to support a major investment programme to address the climate emergency in a fair, reparative way. Focusing on demands for a Green New Deal, Stuart White shows how the book's institutional proposals may help to develop this agenda. The struggle for such a programme is the terrain on which we must now assert creative popular sovereignty over the economy to ensure that it does work for the common good.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This handbook provides an overview of corruption within the context of higher education. It examines the underlying issues involved in corruption as well as the damaging impact on scholarly cultures and the academic enterprise. Leading and emerging global experts discuss how the success of universities is particularly dependent on an honest community of scholars and students, as well as on a research culture based on the tradition of peer review and open analysis. They identify the ways in which corruption can enter academia through direct and indirect student involvement and in monetary or non-monetary forms, including cheating in exams, plagiarism, academic promotions, student admissions and financial crimes. Timely and engaging, this handbook an essential resource for scholars and students of education policy, academic integrity, corruption studies and sociology, as well as policymakers and practitioners in university management and higher education.

Publisher: Stanford, California: Stanford University Press, 2025.
The personal nature of domestic labor, and its location in the privacy of the employer's home, means that domestic workers have long struggled for equitable and consistent labor rights. The dominant discourse regards the home as separate from work, so envisioning what its legal regulation would look like is remarkably challenging. In "Bringing Law Home," Katherine Eva Maich offers a uniquely comparative and historical study of labor struggles for domestic workers in New York City and Lima, Peru. She argues that if the home is to be a place of work then it must also be captured in the legal infrastructures that regulate work. Yet, even progressive labor laws for domestic workers in each city are stifled by historically entrenched patterns of gendered racialization and labor informality. Maich finds that coloniality is deeply embedded in contemporary relations of service, revealing important distinctions in how we understand power, domination, and inequality in the home and the workplace.

Publisher: Chicago, Illinois: The University of Chicago Press, 2025.
In "Making Precarity Work," sociologist Laura A. Orrico shows how Los Angeles's Venice Beach boardwalk, a magnet for tourists, is also a workplace, one that wouldn't exist without the motley crew of people selling art, drinking, performing, using drugs, and working odd jobs. Orrico lifts up this workplace as a collective accomplishment, demonstrating how it can be a safety net to manage insecurity and inequality for those opting into its flexible and precarious structure, as well as how the LA government's efforts to stabilize this work often disrupt the success of this collaborative ecosystem. She also presents the ways this work can exacerbate those very inequalities. Sharing the personal stories of boardwalk workers, Orrico considers these juxtaposed realities and asks her audience to question how we can and should respond to a society whose best option for the disadvantaged is precarity.

Publisher: El Segundo, California: Nolo, 2025.
Federal and state employment laws have seen a raft of changes in recent years, from family and medical leave rights to workplace safety and employee privacy. The Employer's Legal Handbook covers the most common and current employment law issues including: applications, interviews, and hiring; must-have personnel policies; wage and hour laws; employee discipline and performance reviews; health insurance and other employee benefits; employee taxes and payroll; family and medical leave; employee privacy; illegal harassment and discrimination; and terminations, downsizing, and layoffs. The 17th edition includes updated employment laws for all 50 states and explains the latest developments in employment law, including how to manage remote workers.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This book provides a cross-cultural analysis of how legislatures, judiciaries, NGOs, and corporations worldwide address workplace sexual harassment. Informed by the ongoing cultural relativism v. universalism debate and four models of gender and policy, Cher Weixia Chen analyzes a vast range of data, including national workplace sexual harassment laws across 193 countries, 37 judicial decisions from the highest courts of 10 common law countries, and policies from 30 NGOs in six countries and the 50 largest global corporations, injecting new vitality into the existing literature on sexual harassment.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2020.
The fifth edition of "Work Law: Cases and Materials" incorporates new developments in a variety of areas, including: the boundaries of the employment relationship and developments in the post-pandemic labor market; federal and state regulatory efforts to rein in non-compete agreements and a new case on trade secrets (Allstate Insurance Co. v. Fougere); current issues surrounding employee privacy; emerging algorithmic management practices and their implications across different areas of work law; cases and regulation affecting employee speech, and new problems on public employee speech and on the academic freedom of university professors; protections against sex discrimination, including the Supreme Court's decision in Bostock v. Clayton County, Georgia; the Fair Labor Standards Act, including a new case on off-the-clock work (Perry v. City of New York); and arbitration of employment disputes, including coverage of the Supreme Court's treatment of the transportation exemption (Saxon v. Southwest Airlines, Bissonnette v. LePage Bakeries Park Street).

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2025.
War is bad for nature, yet relatively little attention has been devoted to environmental military ethics by just war theorists and philosophers of war. Most wars since 1945 have been civil conflicts, often in areas containing the greatest biodiversity. Combining environmental ethics with ethics of war, this book examines how the environmental crisis should challenge and change the rules of war.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
A timely guide to the growing and fast-changing body of sustainability law in mining and energy, this book navigates the increasingly complex picture as the world struggles with the energy transition and climate change. John A.P. Chandler explores how companies, many of which produce environmental, social and governance (ESG) reports, can deal with heightened regulation as well as reporting and disclosure requirements for climate change and sustainability risks.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
Luigi Corrias and Ronald Tinnevelt bring together distinguished scholars from diverse academic backgrounds to analyse pressing issues such as the fate of European cooperation, the rule of law, and sustainability. The book identifies ways in which European law and politics interact within the process of integration, discussing the persecution and abandonment of refugees as well as the fight against illiberal democracies. It outlines European histories of colonialism and imperialism, delving into the role of the European intellectual in the age of technical reason. The book also explores how familial structures and the notion of security can be attributed to the formulation of European ideals. Designed for students, academics, policymakers, and lawyers in European law and politics, the book provides unique insights and novel frameworks for understanding the complex dynamics of the EU.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This research handbook provides a critical examination of the landscape of EU securities law, including crypto-markets, financial innovation and the Capital Markets Union. It explores the enforcement of EU securities regulation and related instruments, such as the EU Takeover Regulation. Leading specialists discuss the full length and breadth of the subject, from the history and theory of securities regulation to emerging challenges such as those posed by crypto-assets and crypto-markets. They consider mandatory disclosure, short-selling regulation and growth markets, shedding light on the regulatory framework governing the investment and disclosure requirements of environmental, social and governance assets. The "Research Handbook on EU Securities Law" is an essential reference for scholars and students of financial law and European law. Its forward-thinking insights will also greatly benefit practicing lawyers and industry stakeholders in the field of securities.

Publisher: New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2025.
"Raising a Nation" offers a new framework for thinking about a comprehensive, inclusive child care system: one that supports families in all their diversity, whether they want to utilize a licensed child care program, family member, or have a parent as the primary child care provider. Elliot Haspel makes ten distinct but interlinking cases for why every American -- whatever their political affiliation, and whether or not they have young children or any children at all -- has a stake in ensuring a strong child care system to facilitate strong families and a strong nation. This groundbreaking book opens up conversations that can finally push child care from being seen as a private responsibility to being viewed as an essential part of the American social fabric.

Publisher: New Haven: Yale University Press, 2025.
The United States is unusual among wealthy western nations in the degree to which the law channels public benefits and private economic resources through marriage. This remains so despite seismic changes in American family life in the last several decades of the twentieth century. In "Marital Privilege", Serena Mayeri tells the stories of parents and partners, activists and lawyers who challenged the legal primacy of marriage by making innovative constitutional claims in courts and launching grassroots efforts to change laws and practices that penalized non-marital relationships. But even though reforms eliminated the most visible discrimination against women, people of color, and children born to unmarried parents--and, eventually, against gay and lesbian Americans--marriage's privileged status endured. "Marital Privilege" explains how, as American law selectively incorporated principles of liberty and equality, the benefits of marriage became increasingly unavailable to those who needed them most.

Publisher: Northampton, Massachusetts : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2019.
In this significantly updated second edition of "European Fashion Law", Rosie Burbidge explores the fundamental legal issues that fashion businesses should be aware of in order to thrive in the modern marketplace. Using a logical and easy-to-follow structure, Burbidge outlines the lifecycle of a brand and highlights relevant legal considerations at each stage of the development of the business, from registering initial designs to achieving global expansion. Accessible and informative, this book is essential reading for those running a fashion business and their in-house legal teams. For lawyers in practice, the book is an invaluable point of reference when advising fashion and retail clients. The book is also a key resource for students of fashion, design, retail, commercial law and intellectual property.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
"Outgunned No More" comprehensively addresses the changed legal landscape under which governments and private citizens can sue the gun industry for contributing to and sustaining the gun violence epidemic in the US and Mexico. The book canvasses federal and state efforts to regulate firearms through gun control measures, arguing that these regulatory measures have proven ineffective to stem gun violence. Instead, recourse to robust consumer protection and mass tort litigation provides the best avenue for holding the firearms industry accountable.

Publisher: Vancouver: UBC Press, 2025.
"The Forgotten Realities of Men" explores the complexities of contemporary masculinity, providing an empathetic look at men's lives while rejecting the politics of anger and resentment that often pit their challenges against those of women. Through in-depth research, ethnographic analysis, and interviews, the contributors shed light on aspects of men's lived experiences that tend to be downplayed or overlooked, foregrounding the diverse circumstances characterizing men's lives and illuminating their impact on physical and mental health, family dynamics, professional responsibilities, intimate relationships, and personal identity. By fostering respectful debate, this compassionate collection serves as a call for solutions to many pressing issues facing men today.

Publisher: Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2025.
What two things do most mass shooters, terrorists, or violent extremists have in common? Most of us know the first: they are almost always men or boys. But the second? They are almost always virulent misogynists, homophobes, or transphobes -- even if they are also motivated by racism, antisemitism, or xenophobia. Yet, despite all evidence, the bright red thread of misogyny running through these attacks is barely acknowledged by the media or even experts -- and this failing leaves us powerless to stop the violence. In "Man Up", Cynthia Miller-Idriss, a leading expert on extremism, addresses this crucial oversight head-on, revealing how an epidemic of misogyny -- both online and off -- and a patriarchal backlash are driving an exponential rise in mass and far-right violence. She also offers essential strategies that all of us -- including parents, teachers, and counselors -- can use to fight the rising tide of violence, beginning with recognizing the misogyny that pervades our everyday lives.

Publisher: Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2025.
The stories narrated in "Sodomy's Solicitations" are undoubtedly stories of racism, sexism, homophobia, and transphobia, but they are also stories of other political problems -- and political possibilities. Fischel indicts U.S. sex offender regulatory regimes as state-sponsored sexual violence; offers a qualified defense for sexual expression in public; and argues that animal sexual abuse laws, with their exemptions for industrial agricultural practices, authorize the suffering they were enacted to deter. He also makes the case that laws criminalizing the exchange of sex for money are unconstitutional, and proposes that the best way to protect trans and queer children might just be to enfranchise them. "Sodomy's Solicitations" champions a right to queerness across rather than within identity formations -- a right to relatively unpoliced gender, sexual, and intimate pluralism.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This handbook examines voluntary assisted dying (VAD) laws through the lens of regulatory theory, bringing together global experts to discuss the law and practice of VAD in all permitting jurisdictions. They explore contested questions about eligibility, including access for minors, those with mental disorders, and those who express feeling 'tired of life', as well as examining how best to regulate this practice. Chapters delve into case studies of medical assistance in dying and euthanasia, addressing holistic approaches, as well as the matter of organ and tissue donation. This book also evaluates key factors in policymaking, such as choice and autonomy, conscience, palliative care, disability rights, feminism and First Nations' experiences. The "Research Handbook on Voluntary Assisted Dying Law, Regulation and Practice" is a vital resource for students and academics in human rights law and health law, as well as health and legal practitioners, administrators and policymakers.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This handbook provides an overview of research on palliative and end of life care in its social context. It examines key theories, methods, and research findings, presenting crucial social science and public health perspectives. International scholars discuss a range of issues including population ageing, growing pressures on health and social care systems, assisted dying, and new cultural responses to human mortality and bereavement. They delve into detailed case studies, such as the genealogies of culturally specific nursing, home care in Europe, patient and public involvement in the UK, end of life care pathways in Japan, and palliative care in resource-poor settings within African countries. Adopting an interdisciplinary approach, the handbook also addresses models of end of life care in relation to wider society, and outlines future research priorities.

Publisher: New York: Berghahn, 2024.
To better understand migration governance and the concrete, daily practices of civil servants tasked with enforcing state laws and policies, it is important to focus on documents, which are core artefacts of bureaucratic work. These can include certificates, letters, reports, case files, decisions, internal guidelines and judgements in both digital and paper form. Based on ethnographic studies in various geographical and bureaucratic contexts, this collection shows how civil servants produce statehood, restrict migrants' movements and engage with migrants' strategies to make themselves legible. It contributes to the study of the state as documentary practice and highlights the role of paperwork as a powerful practice of migration control.

Publisher: Ithaca, New York: Cornell University Press, 2025.
"The Politics of Sanctuary" examines sanctuaries as spaces where activists oppose what they see as an unjust restrictive regime trapping immigrants in conditions of legal liminality. Drawing on her fieldwork in New York City, Vojislava Filipcevic Cordes explores the politics of immigrant exclusions, and depicts how immigrants in sanctuary cities stake claims for their rightful presence. She argues for a more inclusive political life of expanded urban citizenship for undocumented immigrants, asylum seekers, and refugees through the mechanisms of sanctuary practice. Blending a participant-observation case study of the immigrant-organized New Sanctuary Coalition with urban politics and theory, this book also offers ideas for how sanctuary practices, supported by governance and social-service arrangements, can promote legitimate claims to immigrant urban membership and belonging.

Publisher: Oakland, California: University of California Press, 2025.
Immigrant residents seeking legal status in the United States face a catch-22: the documents that they must present to immigration officials -- bank records, paycheck stubs, and contracts in their own names -- are often challenging for undocumented people to obtain. In this book, Susan Bibler Coutin analyzes how undocumented immigrants and the attorneys and paralegals who represent them attempt to surmount this and other documentary challenges. Based on four years of fieldwork and volunteer work in the legal services department of an immigrant-serving nonprofit and in-depth interviews with those seeking status, "On the Record" explores these complex dynamics by taking seriously both documents themselves and the legal craft that has developed around their use.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This book explores the dynamics of historical and contemporary migration flows to China. It analyzes the social, economic, cultural, and legal developments that arise from migration to China and provides a comprehensive overview of legal and policy changes in the field, demonstrating the connections between immigration policy reforms and broader economic and societal developments.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This book examines the exhaustion doctrine of intellectual property (IP) rights, under which the rights of an IP owner are terminated after a predetermined exercise of those rights. It situates the law of IP exhaustion against a backdrop of legislative debate, policy, and technological developments across jurisdictions.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
"Enforced Disappearances" discusses the UN human rights (both treaty bodies and special procedures) response to the key challenges of missing persons and enforced disappearances, including reparations, family rights, involvement of non-state actors, and the migration context. The book also includes several illustrative case studies from Latin America, Africa, Mexico, Western Balkans, and the Asia-Pacific region, which demonstrate the current challenges and problems relating to enforced disappearances in domestic or regional settings.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
Since its establishment, the work of the Human Rights Council (UNHRC) has been subject to many interpretations, with differing theories proffered and conclusions drawn. This thoroughly revised second edition of "The UN Human Rights Council" dissects every aspect of the organization's work. Drawing from decades of firsthand experience, Eric Tistounet examines the efficiency of, and interactions between, UNHCR mechanisms, providing an overview of the structure, functions and evolution of the Council and its processes. Updated chapters provide a clear guide to the Council’s institutional framework, the complexities of its decision making and the delicate interplay between diplomacy and human rights advocacy.

Publisher: Oxford; New York: Hart Publishing, 2024.
"Citizenship and Human Rights" argues that universal human rights and different national citizenship regimes are incompatible, setting out a legal-philosophical critique of the tension between them. It explores whether the emergence of postnational models of citizenship that aim at decoupling human rights and citizenship succeed in overcoming tensions between the universal and the particular. The author argues that it is illegitimate to speak of universal human rights, universal human dignity, or universal social justice; it is only by recognising this reality that a much needed transformation of human rights and citizenship can be undertaken in a meaningful way. This provocative and compelling work will appeal to both human rights and citizenship lawyers, as well as others involved in human rights law at NGOs, governments, and international organisations.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This research handbook examines the many ways in which health engages human rights law. It also explores current debates which challenge traditional perspectives of rights and identifies potential new directions in which human rights law might venture, including the legal status of medical devices, a human right to medicines and conscientious objections to assisted dying. Elizabeth Wicks and Nataly Papadopoulou bring together renowned experts who pose important questions about the limits of human rights, and the law more broadly, as new threats and opportunities related to health emerge. This book is a vital tool for students and scholars of human rights law and health law. Its forward-thinking approach to both the role of human rights and the conceptualization of health will also greatly benefit practicing lawyers and legal policymakers seeking to reform the field.

Publisher: Chicago, Illinois: American Bar Association, Family Law Section, 2024.
This is a practical and comprehensive guide to international ART law and practice for practicing lawyers. It covers surrogacy, gamete donation and family formation, as well as technical, legal and practical issues to be considered on any international ART journey.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This book investigates the EU’s role in promoting democracy and human rights in post-Mubarak Egypt, with a focus on the EU funded Civil Society Facility (CSF) instrument. Bassant Hassib and Christian Kaunert assess projects under the 2011-13 CSF in terms of their structure, funding, complementarity, focus areas and implementation.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This book explores transnational Nordic cooperation from a broad historical and political perspective. It examines the history of Nordic collaboration from early civil society initiatives to comprehensive official cooperation, as well as responses to recent challenges such as defence and foreign policy. Leading experts discuss Nordic cooperation forms and forums operating in areas including labour market policy, the welfare state, Sami regional developments, the environment and gender equality policies.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This book explores how the domestic courts of states across Europe, North America and Oceania have defined and applied their substantive laws in universal jurisdiction trials for core international crimes. It considers what 'universal justice' looks like in the national courtrooms of diverse states and probes the extent to which there is uniformity in the pursuit to punish universally condemned crimes. Contributors analyze the relevant domestic laws in each state and examine their compatibility with the established international legal standards on war crimes, crimes against humanity and genocide. Using a consistent analytical structure, they present selected universal jurisdiction trials from these states and study the charged crimes, modes of liability and grounds for excluding criminal responsibility. "Universal Jurisdiction over Core International Crimes: Law & Practice" is a vital read for legal scholars in international criminal and jurisdictional law.

Publisher: Oakland, California: University of California Press, 2025.
Over the past six decades, the federal courts have been constrained by Congress, by the executive, and especially by the Supreme Court to the point where they can no longer do what we count on them to do. Reynolds Holding recounts how the erosion of federal court power and people's ability to seek justice has undermined our constitutional system and charts a way to repair the damage done. Combining archival and legal records with hours of intimate interviews with the principal characters and their clerks, colleagues, friends, and families, he animates the lives and work of the judges who are the first, and usually only, stop for ordinary people seeking justice. Holding makes the bold case that judges are good for democracy and should have more power, not less.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This insightful book examines the U.S. Supreme Court in a broad historical context, concentrating on the influence of political movements, military and economic developments, the arts and technology on the law and vice versa. Exploring major case law in each period from the Age of Enlightenment and the Civil War to the Watergate Scandal and the present day, James Hart illustrates the role of the Supreme Court in American society. Using historical research to construct a sense of time and place that moves beyond purely legal issues, Hart analyzes major Justices against the socio-legal backdrop of each era. The book creates a cohesive picture of how the personalities and perspectives of key Justices affected the Court's jurisprudence and made it what it is today.

Publisher: New York: One Signal Publishers, Atria, 2025.
Something is deeply rotten at the Supreme Court. How did we get here and what can we do about it? Crooked Media podcast host Leah Litman shines a light on the unabashed lawlessness embraced by conservative Supreme Court justices and shows us how to fight back. With the gravitas of Joan Biskupic and the irreverence of Elie Mystal, Leah Litman brings her signature wit to the question of what's gone wrong at One First Street. In "Lawless," she argues that the Supreme Court is no longer practicing law; it's running on vibes. By "vibes," Litman means legal-ish claims that repackage the politics of conservative grievance and dress them up in robes. Major decisions adopt the language and posture of the law, while in fact displaying a commitment to protecting a single minority: the religious conservatives and Republican officials whose views are no longer shared by a majority of the country.

Publisher: Washington, DC: Association of American Law Schools, 2024.
"The First 125 Years: An Illustrated History of the Association of American Law Schools" chronicles the development of AALS from the moment of its creation through today. It traces the growing number of AALS member schools; profiles the breadth of AALS contributions to scholarship, teaching, and law school curricula; and describes how AALS grew from a 'good old boys' network' to a democratized organization that not only embodies but champions core values of excellence, integrity, diversity of viewpoints, and devotion to justice and public service. Led by former AALS Executive Director Judy Areen with co-author Jean Waterman, "The First 125 Years" is the first detailed history of the association and features archival photos from many of our member schools.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This book provides a strong introduction to the principal domains of legal knowledge by examining a structured list of legal maxims, many originating in medieval Roman and canon law. Oriented by historical and methodological approaches, it explores legal thought and reasoning through a comparative lens.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina: Carolina Academic Press, 2025.
The Bluebook provides the rules for legal citation, but it can be intimidating and frustrating to use. With its simple building-block approach, this survival manual teaches how to understand and master the essential rules for legal practitioners.

Publisher: Cham: Palgrave Macmillan, 2025.
Tuning into the collective understanding of law as lived experience, "Literature and the Legal Imaginary: Knowing Justice" seeks to understand and inhabit the intersection between judicial procedure, legal thinking and imaginative practice, where epistemic processes that elude the formal discourses of law and legal history are generated and brought into view. Bringing together scholars from literary studies, legal history, theology and law, this collection of essays eschews flat description in favour of layered analysis, cognisant of the plurality of concept, practice and representation. In using a literary lens, it treats apparent binaries or distinct registers as interlinked constituents of an ecology, and navigates the gap between abstract jurisprudence and the affective, composite, social event of justice or judgment. Its perception of 'literature', likewise, is capacious: including imaginative method, literary strategies used by law and its cognate disciplines, and hermeneutic and critical methods. Its notion of epistemology encompasses the condition of judicial knowledge as well as its process, psychology and ethics: it attempts to know justice while simultaneously attending to what justice knows, fails to know, or resists knowing.

Publisher: St. Paul, MN: West Academic Publishing, 2025.
This trailblazing work, now in its Twelfth Edition, continues to be the standard of pretrial texts, covering litigation practice and theories, strategies, and tactics. It is widely adopted in skills and clinic courses, advanced civil procedure seminars, civil procedure classes, as well as in pretrial litigation classes. This benchmark book covers the skills and techniques applicable to pretrial and prehearing practice before judges, arbitrators, and administrative officials while the extensive text provides examples and illustrations of successful litigation practice.

Publisher: Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2024.
Exploring the evolution and resilience of systems for the separation of powers, this book rethinks how different architectures can defend democracies against adverse shocks and help them adapt to change. Frank Vibert shows that the separation of powers is a learning system that can adapt to the tasks of modern government, especially by combining the reasoning of experts with political strategy without reverting to technocracy. "Rethinking the Separation of Powers" is an essential read for students and scholars of political science, law, behavioural science, social psychology and philosophy, and researchers interested in strategies for effective policy-making.

Publisher: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania: Temple University Press, 2025.
"The Hidden Face of Local Power" explicates the purpose, role, and consequences of appointed boards in U.S. cities. Mirya Holman finds that cities create strong boards that generate policy, consolidate power, and defend the interests of businesses and wealthy and white residents. In contrast, weak boards pacify agitation from marginalized groups to give the appearance of inclusivity, democratic deliberation, and redistributional policymaking. Cities preserve this strong board/weak board dichotomy through policymaking power, institutional design, and by controlling who serves on the boards. This book examines the role of boards in the development of urban political institutions, the allocation of power in local politics, and the persistence of inequality. In doing so, the author provides a new view of the failures of local democracy along with ideas for improvement.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This book highlights the inequity and lack of sustainability generated by the modern conception of property as the cornerstone of the world-capitalist economy that has led to the Anthropocene. Through a comparative analysis of the right to property in various contemporary Western constitutions, Clara Esteve-Jordà examines its evolution as capitalism moves into a late neoliberal phase.

Publisher: El Segundo, CA: Nolo, 2025.
"The California Landlord's Law Book: Rights & Responsibilities" contains information on how to screen prospective tenants--without discriminating illegally; prepare (and enforce) leases and rental agreements; determine whether the state-wide rent control and eviction protection law applies to your property; collect and return security deposits; raise the rent and change other terms of the tenancy; hire, work with, and fire property managers; keep up with repairs and maintenance; restrict subletting and short-term rentals; act promptly when rent is late; and terminate a tenancy.

Publisher: Berlin; Boston: De Gruyter, 2025.
This study explores the ways in which theological ideas regarding the nature of God shaped the jurisprudential and legal landscape of Islam. Focusing on the traditionalist theological and jurisprudential thought of Ibn Taymiyyah (d. 728/1328) and Ibn al-Qayyim (d. 751/1350), this study traces the way in which these towering scholars critiqued the dominant theological-jurisprudential tradition of their day, which was influenced by dialectical theology. Against the dialectical theologians, Ibn Taymiyyah and Ibn al-Qayyim argued that an authentically fideist, consistent and rational theory of Islamic law could only emerge from an acceptance of the reality of God's voluntary attributes.

Publisher: Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, an imprint of Springer Nature Switzerland, 2024.
The rise of a significantly large (and young) Muslim population in the West, possessing no historical tradition of being a minority in a non-Muslim environment, has led to a recurring debate about the integration of Muslims into Western societies and the compatibility of Islam with Western values. The proliferation of Islamic sites to which thousands of Western Muslims turn to request a fatwā, i.e. a religious legal opinion on any issue, hints at the urgency felt by these Muslims to find a way out of this conflictual dialectic, since most of their questions concern precisely how to reconcile Islamic principles with some aspect of modern life in the West. The pervasiveness of these internet fatwās is a striking phenomenon worth of study that can help finding answers to the longstanding debate about the integration of Muslims in the West and in modern societies. This book presents a scientific study aimed at answering these questions through a statistical and discourse analysis of a large corpus of more than ten thousand fatwā questions extracted from the huge fatwā databases available on the internet.

Publisher: Graz: Helmut Leitner, HLS Software, 2015.
"Pattern Theory" summarizes the work of an important contemporary thinker, the architect and systems theorist Christopher Alexander, an emeritus professor at the University of Berkeley, California. He suggests a new scientific paradigm that stands in opposition to the traditional causal mechanistic paradigm of natural science and offers a new knowledge format as a way to enable people and support their participation in design processes. Pattern theory allows us to change our thinking, to rethink our world and to move towards a fairer society, leading to more participation and higher sustainability.

Oakland, California: University of California Press, 2025.
Sometimes only an outsider can show how an industry works -- and how that industry works upon the world. In "Tech", sociologist Olivier Alexandre takes us on a revealing tour of Silicon Valley's prominent personalities and vibrant networks to capture the way its denizens live, think, relate, and innovate, and how they shape the very code and conduct of business itself. Even seasoned observers will gain insight into the industry's singular milieu from Alexandre's piercing eye.

Publisher: Nashville, TN: HarperCollins Leadership, 2025.
Each chapter of "The Little Book of Data" illustrates one of the core principles of solving problems with data featuring stories from experts with first hand experience. The stories are told in a fast-moving, sometimes comic style, and cover a wide frame of reference from adtech to climate tech, the bubonic plague, tiny submarines, genomics, railroads, bond ratings, and meat grading. Along the way, Evans injects lessons from his own career journey and offers practical thought-starters for readers to apply to their own organizations.

Publisher: New York: Oxford University Press, 2025.
Throughout its history, the growing influence and significance of the United States on the world stage coincided with its legacy of human rights violations. However, with each momentous societal shift America encountered, Presidents have taken the opportunity to address the atrocities of America's past. "Presidential Visions of Transitional Justice" provides a wide-ranging look at how American Presidents not only influence foreign policy but leverage their power and influence to address the challenges of political violence and transition globally.

Publisher: Northampton: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This incisive book fills a critical gap in understanding the future of international law in the Hydrocene, an era defined by profound impacts on the global water cycle. It outlines the entire gamut of legal mechanisms available for the three natural states of water: liquid, gaseous, and solid.

Publisher: Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2025.
Mothers and fathers use their time differently, with women spending roughly twice as many hours on family labor as men. But what about the gendered differences in the ways women and men think? "What's on Her Mind" provides an illuminating look at the cognitive labor that families depend on and reveals why this essential aspect of family life is disproportionately handled by women -- even in couples that aspire to practice equality.