New Books At The Zief Law Library

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina : Carolina Academic Press, [2019]
Animal law is a rapidly growing field, appearing in law schools, courtrooms, and the media on a constant basis. The study of the law regarding animals combines a review of the statutory and decisional law in which the nature--legal, social and/or biological--of non-human animals is an important factor. Owing to the rapid growth in this field, the sixth edition has updates in almost every chapter, with new focus on cases involving animals in agriculture and the complex legal challenges to laws aimed at providing them with greater protections.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025
With contributions from over 135 international experts, this encyclopedia provides an expansive overview of the emerging field of animal law. Focusing on the legal regulation of human interactions with non-human animals, the volume serves as an insightful guide to how the law can promote the wellbeing of animals as well as the environment.

Publisher: New York : New York University Press, [2025]
Laboratory animals are often used to develop medical treatments as vaccines, antibiotics, and organ transplants have all relied upon animal testing to ensure safety and success for human benefit. Yet the relationship between the scientific community's dependence on laboratory animals and the recognition of the need to treat these animals with respect and compassion has given rise to a profound tension. As animals are increasingly understood to have rights and autonomy, Carrie Friese posits that, while care and compassion for a distant other who suffers are central to humanitarianism, the idea of a distant other itself, which has shaped work with laboratory animals both historically and today, has enacted forms of highly problematic paternalism, creating a double bind. Focusing on the lives of laboratory mice and rats in the United Kingdom, and on the people who take care of, and often kill, these animals, Friese gives the name of "more-than-human humanitarianism" to contradictory practices of suffering and compassion, killing and sacrifice, and compassion and consent that she witnessed in a variety of animal facilities and laboratories. Friese proposes a new approach to the treatment of laboratory animals that recognizes the interconnectedness of all species and how human actions impact the welfare of other species and the planet as a whole.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This research handbook adopts an interdisciplinary approach to examine the nexus between competition law and corporate law, engaging with legal systems across the Americas, Asia and Europe. Combining theoretical, empirical and case-based research, leading experts in the field present insights into topical areas such as the purposes underpinning competition and corporate law, the boundaries of the firm, corporate structures and their effects on competition, and the interplay between corporate governance, compliance and antitrust enforcement. They identify commonalities or points of divergence, and explain why the joint perspective of the corporation and of the market is needed to better understand these subjects.

Publisher: Frederick : Aspen Publishing, [2023]
The original process-based text for teaching students how to write a brief, "A Practical Guide to Appellate Advocacy" illuminates each step with clear, specific guidance and annotated examples of both good and bad writing.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina : Carolina Academic Press, [2025]
The intersection of law with art and cultural heritage is a quickly changing, ever more vital field, in part due to the exponential growth in the value of the art market and in part due to the central role that cultural heritage plays in many of the world's most significant events, ranging from armed conflict to global security concerns. The new edition includes analysis of new statutory and regulatory law, such as the Safeguard Tribal Objects of Patrimony (STOP) Act, the new regulations for implementation of the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act, UN Security Council Resolution 2347 on protection of cultural heritage and the interface with international security and securitization of heritage, and the European Union regulations for import of cultural objects from outside of the European Union. Expanded treatment is given to the intersection of cultural heritage and international human rights and to the subject of restitution of cultural objects taken during colonialism, imperialism, and armed conflict.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
"Invisible Cultural Policy in America" explores the complex role of the US government in the realm of culture. Eleonora Redaelli discusses how the American public administration supports a pluralistic public culture characterized by various cultural domains, multilevel governance and a diversity of democratic values. With an interdisciplinary focus on the arts, humanities and historic preservation, Redaelli analyzes the key laws that justify the need for federal intervention in culture. This illuminating book is a vital resource for students and scholars of public administration and policy, cultural heritage studies, cultural theory, cultural geography, and art law. With a focus on American cultural policy, it will also benefit policymakers and practitioners in historic preservation and arts management, planning and public administration, and public humanities.

Publisher: Stanford, California : Stanford University Press, [2025]
Artificial intelligence has moved from the lab into everyday life and is now seemingly everywhere. As AI creeps into every aspect of our lives, the data grab required to power AI also expands. People worldwide are tracked, analyzed, and influenced, whether on or off their screens, inside their homes or outside in public, still or in transit, alone or together. What does this mean for our ability to assemble with others for collective action, including protesting, holding community meetings and organizing rallies ? In this context, where and how does assembly take place, and who participates by choice and who by coercion? "AI and Assembly" explores these questions and offers global perspectives on the present and future of assembly in a world taken over by AI.

Publisher: New York, NY : Aspen Publishers, c2003-
<2019>-: New York : Wolters Kluwer
"Bankruptcy and Article 9: 2025 Statutory Supplement" is smaller, lighter, and more portable than competing supplements. The supplement includes the entirety of UCC Articles 1, 9, and 12, as well as key excerpts from UCC Articles 2 and 8. For a bankruptcy course, the supplement also has the federal Bankruptcy Code, select provisions from the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure, the bankruptcy crimes provisions from Title 18 of the United States Code, and the bankruptcy jurisdictional provisions from Title 28.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025
This book examines common intra-group financial transactions, such as intra-group loans and cross-guarantees, highlighting their impact and treatment in the insolvency and restructuring of multinational enterprise groups. It identifies the unique challenges posed by the complex corporate and financial structures of multinational firms when one or more group entities face insolvency. It provides a comparative analysis of statutes and recent case law from three leading restructuring forums: the UK, the USA and the Netherlands. Clear, comparative and comprehensive in scope, this book offers valuable insights for judges and lawyers specializing in company, financial and insolvency law, as well as for insolvency practitioners and policymakers. It also serves as an essential resource for students and scholars in the fields of corporate law and governance, insolvency law, finance and banking law.

Publisher: New York : Wolters Kluwer, [2021]
One of the leading casebooks in the field, "The Law of Debtors and Creditors" features 39 problem sets with realistic questions a lawyer considers in managing a bankruptcy case. It also challenges the students with major policy and theoretical questions in the field. Explanatory text throughout makes bankruptcy law accessible to students and easier to teach.

Publisher: Chicago, Illinois : ABA Section of Science & Technology Law, [2019]
A biotech legal practice involves specialized subject matter and regulatory schemes that, generally, are not part of the business lawyer's repertoire and which can present many hazards for the uninitiated. Because of the expansion in biotech practice beyond the traditional organizations and their representatives, this guide can help lawyers find their way through the biotech maze. Leading experts in specialties such as patents, company formation, finance, federal regulation of research through funding, FDA regulation of biomedical research, approval of products for human use, privacy issues, litigation issues and more, will shed some light on this complex subject.

Publisher: Eagan, MN : West Academic, [2025]
This title covers the law of business associations for introductory courses, including agency, general partnerships, closely held corporations, publicly held corporations, limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, and limited liability companies.

Publisher: St. Paul, MN : West Academic Publishing, [2025]
This statutory supplement is designed for use in law school courses covering agency, partnerships, corporations, and other limited liability entities. In particular, the supplement compiles the statutes, regulations, and uniform or model acts needed for the use of the casebook "The Law of Business Organizations: Cases, Materials, and Problems" (15th ed. 2025), by Professors Jonathan R. Macey and Douglas K. Moll.

Publisher: Burlington : Aspen Publishing, 2025
"Civil Procedure: A Coursebook" offers students doctrinal clarity without sacrificing analytical rigor or glossing over ambiguities. The book's accessibility, organization, and interior design support its innovative pedagogy.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina : Carolina Academic Press, 2024
The second edition of "Learning Civil Procedure" provides an updated explanation of the various issues encountered in what is often a difficult first-year course in law school. The book includes discussions of important Supreme Court decisions issued after publication of the first edition. Some of these decisions clarify an interpretation of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure while others consider new rules concerning federal subject matter jurisdiction, personal jurisdiction, and the ever-popular Erie doctrine. This edition also uses fact-based hypotheticals to show how the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and pertinent federal judicial decisions can be applied in practice.

Publisher: Athens : The University of Georgia Press, [2025]
For activists working for racial justice for decades, the year 2020 stood out from the rest. More people seemed to care about racism than ever before. Due to this unprecedented surge, was anything more accomplished than in prior efforts? Through interviews with uprising participants (a mix of first-time protesters and seasoned veterans; from both large cities and smaller towns), participant observation from three U.S. cities, and secondary data sources on U.S. and global 2020 protest actions, Eileen O'Brien documents what exactly was different about 2020 from a boots-on-the-ground vantage point.

Publisher: Stanford, California : Stanford University Press, [2025]
Dignity represents the inherent and equal worth of each one of us. It is how we think about the value of our lives. It is how we think about justice, and about the injustices that cause people to struggle and suffer. In "Dignity in America", Erin Daly explores how we can resolve the social conflicts that divide us as a nation by transforming them under the lens of human dignity. Using the language of dignity that has already taken root in international law and courts all around the world, Daly shows us how to think about controversies, ranging from affirmative action to abortion to climate justice to democracy, with a view toward enhancing our ability to live with dignity.

Publisher: Stanford, California : Stanford University Press, [2025]
In this incisive new book, Patrice D. Douglass interrogates the relationship between sexual violence and modern racial slavery and finds it not only inseverable but also fundamental to the structural predicaments facing Blackness in the present. Douglass contends that the sexual violability of slaves is often misappropriated by frameworks on sexual violence that privilege its occurrences as a question of ethics, sexual agency, and feminine orders of gendering. Rather, this book foregrounds Blackness as engendered by sexual violence, which forcefully (re)produces Blackness, corporeally and conceptually, as a condition that lacks the capacity to ontologically distinguish its suffering from what it means to be human. By employing and critically revising Black feminist theory and Afro-pessimism, Douglass reveals that engaging primarily with the sexualization of the slave forces theories of sexual violence to interrogate why this violence--one of the most prevalent under slavery--continues to lack a grammar of fundamental redress. There are no reparations struggles for the generational transfer of sexual violation and the inability of present frameworks to rectify the sexual stains of slavery lies precisely in the fact that what made this history possible continues to haunt arrangements of life today. "Engendering Blackness" urgently articulates the way our present understandings of Blackness and humanness are bound by this vexed sexual history.

Publisher: New York, NY : Teachers College Press, [2025]
This much-needed resource offers fresh, multisided viewpoints on seemingly divisive, politically polarizing issues in education, business, politics, sports, entertainment, policing, and technology. "Let's Talk About DEI" models for professionals and everyday Americans ways to productively critique, learn from, and respond to other people's perspectives on topics related to diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI). A variety of contested issues are debated, including consequences for kids who do racist things in schools, the U.S. Supreme Court's affirmative action reversal, legacy advantages in college admissions, the tumultuous tenure of Harvard's first Black president, legislative attacks on DEI initiatives, and celebrity coaches at historically Black universities.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This creative book discusses the value of poetry within the field of management and organization studies. It examines how researchers can understand poetry and incorporate it into their work, exploring ways that poetry encourages readers to defy the status quo and engage in activism. Bringing together two supposedly contrary concepts, poetry and organization, the authors highlight sensorial and feminist approaches to organization rooted in affect and embodiment. Drawing on their unique experiences, authors share their own poems and outline how these relate to organization, illustrating a poem's capacity to be either politically inclusionary or exclusionary. Combining narrative chapters with poems, they demonstrate how the organizational dimensions of renowned poetry reflect contemporary management practices. The book invites readers to consider what constitutes 'good' management, using poetry to destabilize existing paradigms concerning the social and the organized. Poetry and Organizing is an invigorating read for students and academics in business studies, organization studies and literature. Its insights into working landscapes, enriched by the authors diverse international backgrounds, expertise and perspectives, will also greatly benefit researchers and practitioners in business management

Publisher: Boston, MA : National Consumer Law Center, [2025]
"This series written by nationally recognized experts in consumer law combines perceptive analysis with a comprehensive collection of case references, statutory laws, regulations and practice hints. These volumes should become a standard reference set for attorneys advising and litigating in consumer and credit areas." — ABA Journal

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This book evaluates the impact of empirical research on regulation in contemporary consumer markets. It combines findings from a breadth of disciplines, including sociology, psychology and economics, focusing on their implications for legal frameworks and policies. It shows how empirical legal research may inform and improve consumer law and policy making. Bringing together leading experts in the field, the book also identifies legal challenges in the consumer law domain brought by digitalization and translates empirical insights into policies.

Publisher: Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This thought-provoking book examines the role of emotions in customer experience research. The authors explore methods of capturing mixed emotional states throughout the consumer journey, covering core theoretical issues and providing much-needed practical guidance. Students and academics in business, management and marketing will greatly benefit from this comprehensive overview of the impact of emotions on consumer behavior. It is also an invaluable resource for practitioners interested in measuring emotions when designing and managing a holistic customer experience.

Publisher: New Haven : Yale University Press, [2025]
This book is a captivating exploration of the profound impact of American copyright law on our online lives. By telling stories about hope, art, greed, and fear and how they have affected the legal dimensions of creativity and technological change, this book uncovers the hidden forces shaping our digital world. Gerardo Con Díaz examines the strange world of online copyrights from the 1990s to today's AI-driven era, showing how our ability to immerse ourselves in digital media depends on the erosion of what it means for people to own their creative works, online and offline.

Publisher: Austin, TX : Briscoe Center for American History, University of Texas at Austin, [2025]
Legal scholar James F. Simon has written many acclaimed books on the history of the US Supreme Court, but in this memoir, he turns his attention to a more personal subject: himself. In this engaging memoir, Simon describes the challenges of interviewing Supreme Court justices and researching constitutional history for his books and juggling his law school and family responsibilities, all the while reflecting on changing American perspectives on civil rights and liberties.

Publisher: Columbia, South Carolina : University of South Carolina Press, [2025]
The practice of choosing state judges by popular election is a unique aspect of American democracy. First appearing in Mississippi in 1832 and then sweeping across the United States, judicial elections had a distinctly Southern origin. Prior scholarship seeking to explain the broad acceptance of the elected judiciary mainly relied on the records of Northern-state constitutional conventions. In "Democracy and the Courts", David M. Gold offers the first comprehensive exploration of the advent of this often-controversial democratic reform in the nineteenth-century American South. Making intensive use of primary sources, such as constitutional-convention proceedings, legislative journals, and newspapers, Gold explores the various paths taken by Southern states toward the elective judiciary and the reasons why some states accepted judicial elections only partially or rejected them altogether. He considers the effect of judicial elections on judicial review before the Civil War and looks to the last quarter of the nineteenth century, assessing the final and ironic triumph of the elective judiciary during the decidedly undemocratic Jim Crow era.

Publisher: Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2025
In "The Hundred Years' Trial", Alexander and Harold Gouzoules explore the century-long impacts of the historic 1925 Scopes "Monkey Trial," starting with the development of evolutionary theory and charting the resulting cultural and legal conflicts over evolution in the United States. Through a blend of legal history, scientific exploration, and cultural analysis, the authors reexamine how this landmark trial remains a pivotal moment in shaping modern debates on science, religion, and education.

Publisher: Stanford, California : Stanford University Press, [2023]
In "Supreme Bias", Christina L. Boyd, Paul M. Collins, Jr., and Lori A. Ringhand present for the first time a comprehensive analysis of the dynamics of race and gender at the Supreme Court confirmation hearings held before the Senate Judiciary Committee. Drawing on their deep knowledge of the confirmation hearings, as well as rich new qualitative and quantitative evidence, the authors highlight how the women and people of color who have sat before the Committee have faced a significantly different confirmation process than their white male colleagues. Despite being among the most qualified and well-credentialed lawyers of their respective generations, female nominees and nominees of color face more skepticism of their professional competence, are subjected to stereotype-based questioning, are more frequently interrupted, and are described in less-positive terms by senators. In addition to revealing the disturbing extent to which race and gender bias exist even at the highest echelon of U.S. legal power, this book also provides concrete suggestions for how that bias can be reduced in the future.

Publisher: Stanford, California : Stanford University Press, [2023]
In late 2018, the First Step Act was signed into law by President Donald Trump just hours before a government shutdown. It was one of few major pieces of federal criminal justice reform since the 1970s to move toward reversing the incarceration frenzy that had characterized United States policy. While it did not amount to revolutionary reform, in "Reform Nation", Colleen P. Eren investigates the act as a symbol for the larger movement's trajectory. Its unlikely passage during a period of political polarization was testament to the power of a new constellation of advocates, stakeholders, and strange bedfellow alliances. These intriguing and complex dynamics are indicative of a longer, twenty-year shift in which the movement became nationalized and mainstreamed. Using in-depth interviews with major players in the national movement, formerly incarcerated activists, celebrities, and donors, this is the first book to turn the mirror back on the criminal justice reform movement itself--the frames used, the voices heard, the capital activated among elite participants, and the bitter controversies. This snapshot in time raises much larger questions about how our democratic processes inform criminal justice policy, and where we are going in the decades to come.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2025
Intellectually innovative and bold, Alan Norrie's mature retributivism is rooted in human ontology, in the metaphysical animal that thinks and loves. Speaking to law, philosophy, criminology and criminal justice, his moral psychology considers victims who victimize, grief at violation, denial and mourning and the loving prison. Exploring ethics, psychoanalysis, social theory, testimony and film, his psychologically developed moral philosophy challenges basic assumptions about punishment and the penal equation.

Publisher: Electric Connected, LLC, 2025
Dive into the heart of the digital revolution with "The Crypto Legal Handbook", now fully updated for 2025. Written by pioneering crypto lawyer Justin Wales, this edition reflects the latest developments under President Trump's administration and its renewed crypto agenda. Expanded to include timely coverage of AI and other emerging technologies, this indispensable guide remains the definitive resource for navigating the evolving intersection of law and digital assets.

Publisher: Bloomington, Indiana : Indiana University Press, [2025]
"Decolonial Thinking" delves into the intricate web of colonial practices, terms, and ideas that have woven themselves into people's lives. It seeks to understand how the tendrils of coloniality have insidiously attached themselves to the very fabric of self-understanding. From the mundane to the profound, this exploration sheds light on our relationship with all that constitutes life. Editors María Lugones and Patrick M. Crowley have meticulously curated 11 unique articles by interdisciplinary theorists whose thought-provoking pieces compellingly address questions surrounding colonial legacies.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This timely book presents a considered analysis of age discrimination provisions and outlines constructive guidance as to how they might be reformed. It highlights the prevalence of age discrimination for all age groups but especially against older persons, demonstrating the importance of effective legal protection for this group - especially when age discrimination intersects with other grounds. Helen Meenan and Christa Tobler bring together expert scholars and legal practitioners to critically analyze how older persons are protected from age discrimination in legal frameworks internationally, regionally and nationally, appraising strengths and weaknesses in each system.

Publisher: Charlottesville : University of Virginia Press, 2025
Political scientist Michael Nelson and a team of scholars offer here a comprehensive, scholarly, and compelling account of the transformative 2024 elections and their unprecedented immediate aftermath. This diverse cast of experts scrutinizes every stage of the presidential race as well as the concurrent congressional elections in all aspects, from campaigning to media coverage to PACs and fundraising. Supplemented by critical data gathered from exit polling and voting results from primaries, caucuses, and the general election, this volume weighs the consequences of the 2024 elections not only for the presidency but for Congress and the entire U.S. political ecosystem.

Publisher: El Segundo : Nolo, 2024
The federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) helps employees balance the demands of work and family. But the law can be hard for employers to apply in the real world--especially when it comes to tracking intermittent leave, completing the proper paperwork, and determining eligibility for different types of leave. This book has the answers--in plain English--to every employer's tough questions about the FMLA. It provides detailed information, sample forms, and tools that will help you and your managers figure out who is eligible for leave, what types of leave are covered, how much leave employees may take, and how to comply with notice and other paperwork requirements.

Publisher: Stanford, California : Stanford University Press, [2023]
"Laboring for Justice" highlights the experiences of day laborers and advocates in the struggle against wage theft in Denver, Colorado. Drawing on more than seven years of research that earned special recognition for its community engagement, this book analyzes the widespread problem of wage theft and its disproportionate impact on low-wage immigrant workers.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
Discussing the law in theory and in practice, "Comparative Environmental Law" identifies the ways in which regulatory systems converge or diverge, examining key developments in international legal frameworks from every continent. Expert contributors review different comparative approaches and examine how these can be applied to the study of environmental law. They outline environmental impact assessments at project level and explore the importance of information disclosure in pollution management. Chapters also present insights into environmental human rights policies, covering compliance and enforcement, as well as biodiversity and water laws across the Americas and Europe.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This encyclopedia examines modern polar law and the specific legal regimes applicable in the Antarctic and the Arctic. It outlines related areas of international law, including the law of the sea and environmental law, providing an invaluable overview and encouraging further research. Analyzing a breadth of topics, including biodiversity, marine protected areas and maritime zones, the encyclopedia reflects increased global attention on the polar regions, their resources, environment, and governance. The "Elgar Concise Encyclopedia of Polar Law" is an essential resource for students and scholars in environmental law, international law and what is now a distinctive polar law. Its breadth of invaluable insights will also greatly benefit international lawyers and polar officials.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This book outlines how an accelerated move to cleaner energy is a global imperative, and one that is especially challenging for emerging economies which often face extreme inequalities, unemployment and poverty. Contributing authors consider perspectives from the Global North and South to underscore the importance of an energy transition which is both inclusive and fair.

Publisher: Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar Publishing, [2025]
This newly and fully revised fifth edition explores the two opposing paradigms of sustainability in an insightful and accessible way. Eric Neumayer contends that central to the debate on sustainable development is the question of whether natural capital can be substituted by other forms of capital. Proponents of weak sustainability maintain this is possible, whilst followers of strong sustainability regard natural capital as non-substitutable. Using global warming and other major environmental issues as examples, he shows how policies and solutions radically differ depending on which paradigm is more plausible.

Publisher: New York : New York University Press, [2025]
"Regulating the Body" examines the practice of legal regulation of the body and how it has been justified. The essays in this anthology trace the ideological, moral, and religious arguments for increasing the reach of regulation and authorizing punishment for infractions. Bringing together leading scholars in the law and humanities, this volume examines the practices and discourses used to regulate the body, concentrating on scenarios where ethical and legal inconsistencies abound. The regulations examined herein range from the sale of gametes, parental rights over children's genetic information, debates about masking, discourse regarding vaccines and abortion, anti-transgender legislation, and the control of inmates' bodies on death row

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
The law currently sees bodies as passive material upon which our values are inscribed rather than as an active part of the production of normative values. Rethinking current legal understandings of embodiment, this book proposes that peoples' experiences of embodiment play an important role in the development of normative values and that the legal system should adopt an embodied understanding of all individuals. Examining perspectives from multiple sub-disciplines, the book develops an extended concept of embodiment from the physical body to the environment through discourse, activities and information.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This book explores the use of EU law by Big Tech in the transatlantic context. Elaine Fahey examines how digital platforms utilize both top-down and bottom-up approaches to litigate, lobby and lawyer global standards, analyzing their attempts to strategically exploit the legislation. Drawing on detailed case studies, chapters cover aspects of EU law ranging from data transfer and data protection to intermediary liability and competition law. They critically assess Big Tech's direct engagement with consumers and its relationship with the EU as a global digital actor, outlining the state of many sectoral battles it has waged with European regulators and courts. Fahey considers how Europe's initial first mover advantage on data regulation is used in practice, emphasizing the transnational dimension of data while investigating Big Tech's efforts to take advantage of this. Ultimately, the book underscores the importance of adopting a holistic approach to the legal challenges posed by Big Tech in a globalized world.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This thoroughly revised fourth edition of "EU Internet Law" provides a state-of-the-art overview of EU Internet regulation. Andrej Savin critically evaluates EU policymaking and governance, assessing the latest developments in the field. Savin discusses the constitutional context within which the internet is regulated alongside the policies that have informed this regulation. He explores EU lawmaking and key updates to the case law of the Court of Justice of the European Union, and also compares EU and US solutions to the challenges of the digital world. The book also investigates crucial issues including electronic commerce, platform regulation, jurisdiction, intellectual property and AI. Timely and engaging, "EU Internet Law" is a vital resource for students and scholars of commercial, economic and information law as well as internet and technology law across the EU and globally.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This book provides an in-depth analysis of the jurisdiction in cross-border corporate insolvency proceedings within EU member states, investigating the rationale, structure and functioning of the grounds to initiate and supervise the proceedings according to the European Insolvency Regulation (Recast). It explores personal, territorial, and substantive scopes of the insolvency courts' jurisdiction, as well as its interplay with the jurisdiction of other courts and Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) mechanisms.

Publisher: Burlington : Aspen Publishing, 2025
A flexible, concise, and engaging casebook, "Evidence: Cases, Commentary, and Problems" focuses on core concepts and central controversies in evidence law, presented through tightly edited cases, stimulating commentary from a wide range of perspectives, and carefully crafted problems. The sixth edition, while as streamlined and teachable as its predecessors, includes excerpts from more than seventy new cases (including six from the United States Supreme Court), portions of close to thirty new articles by a diverse array of scholars, excerpts from new Advisory Committee notes, and half a dozen new problems. There are new materials on evidentiary issues in cases of sexual assault and abuse, along with new cases and commentary addressing, for example, the use of rap lyrics as evidence, the challenge of "deep fakes," the evidentiary uses of artificial intelligence, issues of race and gender in character evidence and impeachment, and other key topics.

Publisher: Toronto ; Buffalo ; London : Aevo UTP, an imprint of University of Toronto Press, 2025
Set against the vibrant backdrop of New York and Chicago, "Insist That They Love You" presents a comprehensive biography of Craig Rodwell, an unheralded yet pivotal figure in the militant gay rights movement of the 1960s and 1970s. This compelling biography inspires readers to reflect on the power of truth, courage, and action to further social change.

Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, 2024
"On Sex and Gender" focuses on three sequential and consequential questions: What is sex as opposed to gender? How does sex matter in our everyday lives? And how should it be reflected in law and policy? All three have been front-and-center in American life and politics since the rise of the trans right movement: They are included in both major parties' political platforms and are the subject of ongoing litigation in the federal courts and of highly contentious legislation on Capitol Hill. Doriane Coleman challenges both sides to chart a better way. In a book that is equal parts scientific explanation, historical examination, and personal reflection, she argues that denying biological sex and focusing only on gender would have detrimental effects on women's equal opportunity, on men's future prospects, and on the health and welfare of society. Coleman shows that the science is settled, but equally there is a middle ground where common sense reigns and we can support transgender people without denying the facts of human biology. She livens her narrative with a sequence of portraits of exceptional human beings from legal pioneers like Myra Bradwell and Ketanji Brown Jackson to champion athletes like Caster Semenya and Cate Campbell to civil rights giants like Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Pauli Murray. Above all, Coleman reminds us that sex not only exists, but is also good--and she shows how we can get both sex and gender right for society.

Forensic mental health professionals provide a range of services to courts, attorneys, law enforcement agencies, and correctional facilities. Yet despite the importance of understanding the law, most forensic mental health professionals do not have any formal legal training, which can make it challenging for them to develop a sufficient understanding of relevant legal cases, rules, and statutes. "Forensic Mental Health Practice and the Law" is an up-to-date, scholarly, and comprehensive primer that provides foundational knowledge about the laws most relevant to forensic practice. The authors address topics that are most applicable to forensic mental health professionals in their varied roles as clinicians, researchers, and consultants, including relevant court cases, statutes, court rules, administrative regulations, and ethical standards and guidelines. As they show, having knowledge of the legal system and relevant laws can lead to several benefits for forensic mental health professionals, including increased competence in performing forensic mental health assessments, conducting forensically relevant research, providing consultation to the legal system, and communicating results to legal decision-makers.

Publisher: Oakland, California : University of California Press, [2025]
"Indefensible Spaces" examines the policing of housing through the story of a Black community building in the Antelope Valley, Los Angeles County's northernmost outpost. Tracing its evolution from a segregated postwar suburb to a destination for those priced, policed, and evicted out of Los Angeles, Rahim Kurwa tells the story of how the Antelope Valley resisted Black migration through the policing of subsidized housing--and how Black tenants and organizers fought back. This book sheds light on how the nation's policing and housing crises intersect, offering powerful lessons for achieving housing justice across the country.

Publisher: Ithaca : ILR Press, an imprint of Cornell University Press, 2025
"Lessons from Eviction Court" goes behind the disturbing statistics of evictions and homelessness to provide the first-hand experience of a lawyer who is in eviction court each week, standing alongside people who are losing their homes. Fran Quigley provides a clear and emphatic prescription for how we can end evictions and homelessness in the United States, with the stories of struggling clients serving as the introduction for discussions of the reforms needed.

Publisher: Princeton, New Jersey : Princeton University Press, 2025
Immigration agents have a frontline view of the racial, economic, and legal inequalities that undocumented migration reflects--and yet most agents do not think of the role their jobs play in those inequalities. Instead, they consider themselves law enforcers, trained to confine their work strictly to crime control and security. In "Bordering on Indifference", Irene Vega offers an original, detailed analysis of the rationales that shape how U.S. immigration agents understand and carry out their professional responsibilities. Drawing on interviews with ninety immigration agents--Border Patrol Agents and ICE Deportation Officers, most of whom are Mexican Americans from the region around the border--Vega examines why they took the job and how their training and socialization shape the ways that they grapple with the racial and moral issues raised by their work.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This concise encyclopedia provides a comprehensive overview of the rapidly developing field of migration and asylum law. It brings clarity on key terms and critical notions, while challenging misconceptions in this highly politicized sphere. Bringing together a diverse array of leading and emerging scholars and practitioners from across six continents, this encyclopedia examines a broad range of topics and perspectives, such as diasporas, border control, racism and the human rights of migrants. Students, scholars and researchers interested in migration and asylum will greatly benefit from this book. It is also a vital reference for practitioners and policy makers.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This insightful book discusses the predicament of asylum seekers across European states and the reception policies that constrain their movements. Juan Ruiz Ramos argues that, even when these policies do not amount to detention, they interfere with an often neglected right: the freedom of movement within the State. The author approaches this crucial issue through the lens of migration exceptionalism, illustrating how international law establishes lower human rights standards in the context of migration than in other circumstances. He outlines the complexities surrounding the right to freedom of movement for asylum seekers, as it only applies to those 'lawfully within' a country. Students and scholars of human rights and public international law will greatly benefit from this incisive book. It is also a vital resource for policymakers, lawyers and campaigners working in refugee law, as well as practitioners in NGOs and institutions that support refugee and migrant rights.

Publisher: Ottawa, Ontario : University of Ottawa Press, 2025
The health crisis, the migration crisis, the humanitarian crisis, and the climate crisis. The repeating reference to the idea of crisis to label numerous social upheavals suggests that we now live in a world defined by crisis. Yet the urgency inherent in a crisis often leads to the normalization of rights violations and increased surveillance, profiling and arbitrary arrests, making visible the state's control over bodies, and certain bodies, in particular. "Migration and Racialization in Times of Crisis" explores the colonial, racist and sexist underpinnings of various declarations of crisis, as well as their effects. Taken together, these contributions show that the state of crisis manifests as a condition for the maintenance of racial and patriarchal capitalism.

Publisher: Clause 8 Publishing, 2025
Rapid advances in digital and life sciences technology continue to spur the evolution of intellectual property law. As professors and practitioners in this field know all too well, Congress and the courts continue to develop intellectual property law and jurisprudence at a rapid pace. For that reason, this new casebook has been significantly augmented and revised. Volume I surveys philosophical perspectives, trade secret law, and patent law.

Publisher: Clause 8 Publishing, 2025
"Intellectual Property in the New Technological Age" provides an in-depth survey of the rapidly evolving field of intellectual property law. Volume II covers copyright law, trademark law, and state intellectual property law protections (including the right of publicity).

Publisher: Clause 8 Publishing, [2025]
"Intellectual Property Statutes: 2025" offers a compendium of the principal U.S. intellectual property statutes and international treaties. It integrates convenient tools for navigating the materials and is designed to be used in conjunction with intellectual property casebooks.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025
The "Research Handbook on Intellectual Property Licensing" explores the complexities of intellectual property licensing law from a comparative perspective through the opinions of leading experts. This major research tool analyses the features of specific types of licensing agreements and also addresses other practical issues which apply across different types of licensing transactions, such as the treatment of licensing in bankruptcy and the use of arbitration for solving licensing disputes.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
Adopting an actors-focused approach, this research handbook engages with complex dynamics between states, people and businesses with respect to trade law and development. Sonia E. Rolland brings together scholarly and policy experts who articulate contemporary research on the linkages between trade, sustainability, food security, intellectual property, industrial policy and the digital economy, amongst many others. The "Research Handbook on Trade Law and Development" is an essential resource for scholars and students in international trade, international economic law and law and development. Its unique insights on alternative approaches to trade law and negotiations will also greatly benefit international policymakers and business executives.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
How does international law entitle individuals to challenge violations of international law before domestic courts? Developing the novel concept of access rights, Leander Beinlich takes a thorough look at the domestic adjudication of international law through the lens of individual rights. "Access to Domestic Justice for Violations of International Law" presents crucial insights into the value, risks and limitations of individual rights at the intersection of international law and foreign relations law, demonstrating how access rights put to a test the doctrinal hurdles and normative concerns impeding access to justice in this area.

Publisher: Stanford, California : Stanford University Press, [2024]
The United Nations (UN) has always loomed large in international conflicts, but today accepted wisdom declares that the organization has lost its way. "Liberating The United Nations" is a thorough review of its founding and history that tracks critical junctures that obscured or diverted the path to a powerful and just UN that abides by international law. Based on the extensive expertise of two former UN-insiders, Richard Falk and Hans von Sponeck, the book goes beyond critique and diagnosis, proposing ways to achieve a more effective and legitimate UN. The historical sweep of the book offers a uniquely broad perspective on how the UN has evolved from the time of its establishment, and how that evolution reflects, and was defined by, world politics. The book explores these themes through the specific cases of intervention in Palestine, Iraq, and Syria. "Liberating The United Nations" hopes to reinvigorate the original vision of the UN by asserting its place in a world of amplifying chauvinistic nationalism. Falk and von Sponeck argue for how important the UN has become, and could be, in aiding with the transnational and global challenges of the present and future, including pandemics, environmental crises, and mass migration.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
The "Research Handbook on Intelligence and International Law" brings together expert scholars and practitioners to comprehensively assess how international law applies to the work of the intelligence community. This research handbook is an essential resource for students, academics, practitioners, and policymakers working in international law and intelligence studies.

Publisher: New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2025]
How do changes in international organizations (IOs) come about? How do IOs adapt to respond to crises and unforeseen needs of their members, and what roles do the secretariats, and their heads play in this process? "International Organization Initiatives" deals with these questions and shows how IOs, their secretariats and executive heads launch and implement innovative activities. It sheds light on both proactive and reactive approaches to institutional evolution. Bringing together distinguished scholars of international organizations and experienced practitioners, this volume showcases and investigates IOs' adaptive capacity, their achievements, and limitations.

Publisher: [Washington, D.C.] : Association of American Law Schools, [2024]
"As higher and legal education continue to evolve, gaining a comprehensive understanding of law school faculty is increasingly important. To this end, the American Law School Faculty Study provides a snapshot of law teaching and today and is the first of its kind to detail faculty career pathways and work experiences as well as recent hiring trends in legal education." -- from publisher's website

Publisher: Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
Foregrounding the importance of schemata in learning, "Teaching Lawyering Skills" presents an integrated approach to the overall pedagogical theory of law. Stefan Krieger challenges the traditional stark dichotomy between doctrinal analysis and practice skills, arguing that skills education requires development of strategic reasoning in practice. This fascinating book focuses on two main cross-cutting themes: effective investigation, analysis and presentation of facts; and effective questioning, listening and responding. Addressing these two themes in both dispute and transactional contexts, it outlines a unique course that centers the skills of fact investigation, interviewing, negotiation, deposition-taking, and direct and cross examination of witnesses. Utilizing empirical research in the cognitive sciences and medical education pedagogy, this innovative book will be essential for law school instructors of simulation, clinical and externship skills courses. It will also appeal to trainers of new law graduates and paralegals at law firms, government law offices and nonprofits.

Publisher: Durham, North Carolina : Carolina Academic Press, [2025]
Developing a strong professional identity is crucial for success in the legal field. To help law students navigate this process effectively, "Critical Lawyering Skills" provides practical tools and exercises. The workbook format enables students to practice these skills rather than simply reading about them. By engaging with the CLS material, law students will gain a clearer perspective on their role as a lawyer and the responsibilities that come with it, which will serve students well as they transition from law student to practicing attorney.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts : Harvard Law Review Association, 2025
This new edition of the Bluebook provides the comprehensive standardized citation for the legal profession in the United States.

"The 8th edition of "Prince’s Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations" is a trusted and authoritative reference for decoding and generating abbreviations across the full spectrum of American legal literature. With nearly 36,000 entries, including newly expanded coverage of scientific and medical terms, this comprehensive guide is essential for legal professionals, students, and researchers alike." --Publisher's website

Publisher: Eagan, MN : West Academic, [2025]
"Principles of Legal Research" provides a comprehensive yet concise coverage of resources and research methods suitable for all researchers. It explains the latest features of the major legal research platforms as well as hundreds of other free and subscription online resources. An introductory survey of research strategies is followed by discussion of major secondary source types, thorough treatment of the sources of U.S. law created by each branch of government, chapters on specialized resources for practitioners, and an overview of international and foreign law. This wholly revised edition adds coverage of artificial intelligence and its use in legal research, and other features include summary introductions to the book's parts, a reorganized case research chapter, and an expanded section on American Indian law. Legal citation tips and instructive illustrations are also included throughout, and an appendix lists multivolume treatises by topic.

Publisher: Chicago : ALA Editions, 2025
Through its focus on questioning who creates information, addressing algorithmic biases, and advocating for the inclusion of marginalized voices, critical information literacy (CIL) can serve a vital function in navigating our complicated world. This collection uplifts voices from across the field -- including those from public, school, and academic libraries -- to provide practical approaches that all librarians can adopt and adapt for their particular library settings. Readers will learn practical approaches for integrating CIL into instruction and praxis regardless of their level of experience; gain tools to better engage with the complexities of today's information landscape and empower their communities to do the same; be introduced to the theoretical frameworks of CIL through chapters that take a historical look at critical race theory in academic library instruction, CIL and feminist critique, and the intersection of queer pedagogy and CIL; discover in-depth profiles of programs happening in various library types, from algorithmic literacy and a targeted wiki-edit-a-thon event to an outreach initiative targeting groups historically excluded from post-secondary education; receive guidance on introducing CIL concepts to their peers and coworkers through professional development programs, such as introducing CIL practices into K-12 school culture, a CIL skills instruction program developed by public librarians to serve the everyday needs of information consumers, and a zine-making exercise for practicing reflection that embodies CIL; and find ready-to-use lesson plans and outlines, with suggestions on tailoring them to a variety of library types.

Publisher: Chicago : ALA Editions in collaboration with Core, 2025
In the form of generative AI, libraries are facing technological transformation of unprecedented speed and scale. Both controversial and disruptive, the sudden ubiquity of AI has already triggered uncertainty as well as the need for rapid adaptation. As AI reshapes how humans learn, work, and interact with information, libraries across the ecosystem--from public to academic, from school to special libraries--must resist the temptation to merely serve as static support and instead claim the center by becoming a dynamic, positive influence. By blending theory and concepts with an unswervingly pragmatic approach, this book will introduce readers to foundational principles and frameworks for navigating the so-called "Age of Intelligence" that provide useful guiderails no matter how AI technology actively evolves.

Publisher: New York ; London ; Oxford ; New Delhi ; Sydney : Bloomsbury Academic, 2026
This ground-breaking new legal librarianship book serves as an invaluable resource for practicing law librarians who want to be at the forefront of information technology and law libraries. Law librarianship is a constantly evolving field that has seen major shifts in practice over the past several years including the post-pandemic trend towards remote and hybrid work, the increased prominence of virtual services, the outsourcing of library staff, burgeoning cybersecurity risks, and the advent of generative AI. Law librarians have adroitly adapted to all of these changes and have once again proven their resilience. "Law Librarianship Practice" is a cutting-edge book that provides insights into the latest emerging trends and technologies in academic, government, and law firm librarianship. This book offers guidance from forward-thinking library leaders on how they are tackling the challenges of law librarianship today including; managing remote workforces, negotiating with vendors, navigating outsourcing services, planning for emergencies, riding out law firm mergers, succession planning, and more.

Publisher: New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2025]
While many solutions have been proposed to combat misinformation on social media, most are either ineffective, expensive, or do not work at scale. What if social media users could help mitigate the misinformation they're also responsible for proliferating? In "Observed Correction", Leticia Bode and Emily K. Vraga consider both the power of and the barriers to "observed correction"-- users witnessing other users correct misinformation on social media. Bode and Vraga argue that when people view others directly and publicly correct misinformation on social media, their understanding of the topic becomes more accurate. Yet, while many members of the public value correction, Bode and Vraga find that they are often reluctant to correct misinformation they see on social media. This same reluctance to correct is seen among expert fact checkers and health communicators, compounded by the constraints of limited resources and competing priorities. To empower people to respond to misinformation, Bode and Vraga offer a set of practical recommendations for how observational correction can be implemented.

Publisher: New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2025]
Intelligence is all around us. We read about it in the news, wonder who is spying on us through our phones or computers, and want to know what is happening in the shadows. The US Intelligence Community or IC, as insiders call it, is more powerful than ever, but also more vulnerable than it has been in decades. It is facing the threat of rival intelligence services from countries like Russia and China while fighting to keep up with new technology and the private sector. Still, the IC's greatest struggle is always with the American people, who expect it to keep them safe but not at the cost of their liberty and principles. This foundational problem is at the center of "The Spy and the State". Based on original research and a new interpretation of US history, this masterful book offers a complete history of American intelligence from the Revolutionary War to the present day. Jeffrey Rogg explores the origins and evolution of intelligence in America, including its overlooked role in some of the key events that shaped the nation and the historical underpinnings of intelligence controversies that have shaken the country to its constitutional core.

Publisher: Washington, DC : Georgetown University Press, [2025]
A comprehensive and readily accessible guide to help nonprofit leaders use the law to advance their missions Rules of the Road for Nonprofit Leaders offers a translation of the convoluted nonprofit legal framework into terms that nonprofit leaders without a law degree can understand. Schmidt provides a lens through which nonprofit leaders can see how these laws can help them pursue their missions and be responsive to the changing needs of the nonprofit sector and of society. This book shows nonprofit leaders, board members, and volunteers how nonprofit law relates to all aspects of nonprofit management.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
Payment services are now heavily regulated in many jurisdictions and subject to a growing body of law. The second edition of "Payment Services: Law and Practice" provides an updated overview of the key areas of payments law and regulation in the EU and UK, as well as introductions to analogous legal regimes in the United States, Hong Kong, Singapore and Africa.

Publisher: Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar Publishing, [2025]
This insightful handbook provides a comprehensive overview of affective polarization, covering various subfields and theoretical frameworks and proposing avenues for further research. It highlights issues of conceptualization, methodology, causes, consequences, and interventions. It offers a comparative approach, examining the phenomenon across societies and political systems and providing evidence from Asia, Europe and the Americas. The "Handbook of Affective Polarization" is an essential resource for students and academics in political science, sociology, political psychology, and adjacent fields. Policymakers and practitioners working in public administration and management will also greatly benefit from its forward-thinking insights and strategies for mitigating affective polarization.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This insightful book explores the question of why there are so few successful corruption-related prosecutions in Anglophone African countries and considers how this situation can be addressed. John Hatchard analyses the unique challenges faced by anti-corruption investigators and prosecutors in effectively implementing the requirements of the criminalization pillar contained in the United Nations Convention Against Corruption. Through analysis of anti-corruption legislation and judicial pronouncements, Hatchard demonstrates how to make the fairness approach effective with a view to strengthening the criminalization pillar. This unique and influential book is of worldwide interest for students and academics studying law, politics and business. Its practical insights will also greatly benefit anti-corruption agencies, legal practitioners, policymakers, law reformers, civil society organizations and the corporate sector.

Publisher: New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2025]
Over the course of the last century, there has been an outsized incidence of conflict between democracies and personalist regimes -- political systems where a single individual has undisputed executive power and prominence. In most cases, it has been the democratic side that has chosen to employ military force. "Why Democracies Fight Dictators" takes up the question of why liberal democracies are so inclined to engage in conflict with personalist dictators. Building on research in political science, history, sociology, and psychology and marshalling evidence from statistical analysis of conflict, multi-archival research of American and British perceptions during the Suez Crisis and Gulf War, and non-democracies' understanding of the threat from Saddam Hussein's invasion of Kuwait, Madison V. Schramm offers a novel and nuanced explanation for patterns in escalation and hostility between liberal democracies and personalist regimes.

Publisher: [Eagan, Minnesota] : Foundation Press, [2023]
"Privacy and Data Protection Law" introduces a dynamic and rapidly growing field of law that is also fun to teach. Along with traditional topics like torts or the Fourth Amendment, it focuses on complex statutory and regulatory regimes that matter most to privacy law today. The book mixes conventional case excerpts with regulatory materials, hypothetical problems, robust coverage of global privacy law, and exploration of new technological frontiers.

Publisher: El Segundo, CA : Nolo, 2025
If you rent out residential real estate, you need to create documents that are legally valid where your rental property is located. Every state has its own rules when it comes to what landlords must include in their leases, and one-size-fits-all forms simply cannot comply with every state's laws. This book gives you a template and several 50-state law charts, which you can use to create a lease or monthly rental agreement that will work in your state. This new edition also covers topics relevant to today's landlords, such as the wisdom of asking for applicants' criminal history, the issues to consider when asking for attorneys' fees, and how to evaluate tenant screening reports.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
In "Rethinking the Law of Private Property", eminent legal scholars consider how private property rights might be transformed and realigned to better cope with modern challenges. They rethink current paradigms around private property and natural resource ownership in light of police power regulations, health rules and expanded land-use regulations.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This insightful book outlines the remedies for private law wrongs such as breach of contract, breach of fiduciary duty, breach of trust and torts. With a focus on English law, it provides an accessible, up-to-date and commercially centered overview of this complex field. Katy Barnett and Sirko Harder discuss remedies at common law, in equity and under statute. Students and scholars of private and commercial law will greatly benefit from this clear and accessible book. It is also a vital resource for overseas lawyers who are seeking to understand private law remedies in English law, as well as policymakers, judges and commercial litigators.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This book examines reproductive rights and their complex interaction with the law and with society, exploring differing perspectives and placing these in their respective cultural, social and religious contexts. Kerry O'Halloran explores the socially divisive question of abortion and, using examples from both developing and developed countries, considers how context determines the legal position. He also addresses a plethora of issues surrounding related reproductive rights including maternity care, IVF, adoption and surrogacy, genetic engineering and establishing the reproductive rights of trans persons. In navigating all of these, O'Halloran reflects on fundamental questions such as where the public and private divide lies in exercising one's right to autonomy, and how reproductive rights have contributed to the progression of gender parity. The book carefully identifies internationally established legal benchmarks with references to key principles, policies and case law, and explores future developments in reproductive health, such as the rights of men giving birth and pioneering ways of determining foetal sentience.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This insightful book investigates the growing use of digital technologies to support welfare provision and examines which digital tools can have the greatest impact. It explores how these technologies influence and are influenced by social and cultural relations, working life, education, healthcare, markets, and organizations. Vasilis Galis and Vasileios-Spyridon Vlassis bring together renowned experts who analyze digital technologies for welfare provision as sociotechnical phenomena, that is, the welfare state is mutually constructed by welfare practices and digital technologies, an outcome of organizational reconfiguration, political-economic visions, and socio-technical imaginaries. They demonstrate that digitalization is not simply a question of implementing digital technologies but also an introduction of new governmental ideas that transform both the public sector and its services as well as inter-state and state-society relations. The book explores how the rapid implementation of digital tools in the provision of welfare services is bringing fundamental changes to welfare and provides experienced-based accounts of the transformations occurring in public service work.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025
This prescient book examines social ordering and governance in the digital universe. It demonstrates how attempts to enact regulations in virtual spaces cannot replicate laws and market arrangements in the real world, advocating for an alternative 'new law' to enable safe, sustainable and beneficial digital communities. Mark Findlay discusses how this 'new law' could be achieved and the challenges it might face, addressing ideas of inclusive and collaborative governance, digital self-determination and communal bonding in virtual spaces. He outlines the differences between the metaverse and 'realspace' which call into question conventional legal reasoning and appreciations, rethinking current reductive paradigms of the virtual universe as an outpost for private property and exchange markets. "Governing the Metaverse" ultimately explores the notion of law as an enabler of change rather than an enforcer of the status quo and emphasizes the potential of this more adaptable interpretation of the law to create an empowering digital world.

Publisher: New York : Random House, 2025
The internet of today is a far cry from its early promise of a decentralized, democratic network of innovation, connection, and freedom. In the past decade, it has fallen almost entirely under the control of a very small group of companies like Apple, Google, and Facebook. In "Read Write Own", tech visionary Chris Dixon argues that the dream of an open network for fostering creativity and entrepreneurship doesn't have to die and can, in fact, be saved with blockchain networks. He separates this movement, which aims to provide a solid foundation for everything from social networks to artificial intelligence to virtual worlds, from cryptocurrency speculation--a distinction he calls "the computer vs. the casino." With lucid and compelling prose--drawing from a twenty-five-year career in the software industry--Dixon shows how the internet has undergone three distinct eras, bringing us to the critical moment we're in today.

Publisher: Eagan, MN : Foundation Press, [2024]
Through its excellence in scholarship, clarity, and ease of use, this casebook engages readers in critical thinking about Tort Law and its operation in modern social and technological settings. It sets forth crisply-edited classic tort cases, new Tort Law trends, and nuances in developing case law that impact the law and its application in the real world. Principal cases are not discarded just for the sake of change but because new cases reflect important changes in the law and present current doctrine in insightful and highly effective ways. The casebook goes beyond judicial decisions and includes key tort-centered legislation and comparative perspectives where relevant, encouraging students to understand the English and American common law foundations of Tort Law and to debate modern trends within various policy prescriptions. Unbiased in its approach and organized in manageable sections of information, the casebook is a long-tested and superb tool for productive and stimulating classroom debate. In its long history, neutrality of viewpoint has been the aspiration of every author. It has served generations of students in opening avenues of inquiry.

Publisher: St. Paul, Minn. : West, ©2024
This casebook is organized to facilitate the study of law in the first year of law school with a focus on the study of tort law in particular. This casebook is unique, as its authors are both award-winning law teachers whose methods and strategies have been studied and featured in the Harvard University Press book, "What the Best Law Teachers Do". As people of color, first-generation lawyers, and experienced law teachers, both authors have invested significant time throughout their careers exploring and developing effective teaching tactics and techniques to maximize the learning of all students in their classrooms. As a result, they have designed this casebook with both students and instructors in mind.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This perceptive book analyses the determination of the outer limits of the continental shelf, examining how the related articles from the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea are interpreted and applied by coastal states and the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf (CLCS). Yunjun Li illustrates that the CLCS has not sufficiently achieved its aim, which is to facilitate coastal states determining the outer limits of their continental shelves. This is proved by first examining the Rules of Regulation and the Guidelines adopted by the CLCS, then exploring the application of these rules, and finally recognizing the problems that have arisen from their application. This illuminating book is a vital resource for students and scholars of public international law and law of the sea. Thorough and detailed, it will also benefit policymakers and practitioners working in the related area.

Publisher: New York : New York University Press, [2025]
Mainstream representations of #MeToo frame it as a global feminist campaign that originated in the US and focused on high-profile American actors and executives. But the debates about gender-based violence that #MeToo catalyzed were felt worldwide. Despite the global uptick of the movement, there are very few feminist accounts of the transnational politics of #MeToo. This anthology frames #MeToo as a movement with uneven itineraries, goals, and outcomes. The essays in this volume take a transnational and comparative feminist approach to #MeToo, focusing on the multiple ways that feminist voices from Argentina, Egypt, India, Pakistan, South Korea, the US, and the UK have pushed the boundaries of what counts as politics, justice, solidarity, violence, precarity, and vulnerability. In doing so, this volume shows how an engagement with #MeToo allows us to extend and sharpen the empirical, theoretical, and methodological parameters of transnational feminist thought. A blend of global activist and academic work, #MeToo and the Politics of Transnational Feminism offers a necessary transnational framing of the #MeToo movement.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
In this timely book, Catherine Carol explores the portrayal of Western culture as denying the existence of 'woman' through the instrument of law. Carol posits that the dominance of legal positivism within politico-legal domains has contributed to the ease with which governments enforce gender ideology through the delivery of what she suggests are anti-human programs and policies which aim to conceal the truth about human nature. The author considers the fact that human beings are materially embodied and situated in the natural world and suggests that there are normative conclusions which arise from this. Carol appeals to natural law as the rational standard by which to challenge these programs and policies supported by positive laws, to suggest that law must coincide with what is 'right' to acquire binding force. Women's law is the specific recognition of natural law by women, and the book proposes the obligation to discern that the natural law remains for women everywhere, even when they are precluded by the laws of their community from doing so.