New Books At The Zief Law Library

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
Providing an overview of the history and methods of legal comparison as applied to the field, this topical book traces the origin, evolution and transformation of administrative law in various jurisdictions across the globe. It examines the tendencies of convergence as well as the preservation of distinctive traits within international legal systems. This book is an essential resource for students and scholars of comparative law, constitutional and administrative law, and regulation and governance.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2024
"How Government Built America" challenges growing, anti-government rhetoric by highlighting the role government has played in partnering with markets to build the United States. Sidney A. Shapiro and Joseph P. Tomain explore how markets can harm and fail the country, and how the government has addressed these extremes by restoring essential values to benefit all citizens. Without denying that individualism and small government are part of the national DNA, the authors demonstrate how democracy and a people pursuing communal interests are equally important.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This perceptive book is a much-needed exploration of the contribution of the humanities to the study of public administration. Expert authors advocate for reintegrating the humanities into this field, highlighting the ways in which the social sciences and humanities complement each other in researching global governmental processes. This pioneering book is a vital read for academics and students in public administration and management, public governance, and public policy.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
Amongst other regional organisations, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) stands out for the diversity of its ten Member States, stemming from their respective economic and political heritage, governance systems, legal institutions, stages of economic development, and exposure to or reliance on foreign trade and investments. As of 2017, however, the regional bloc has formalised its focus on economic integration and development of a regional competition law. Challenging this vision are the States' very different national competition law systems, ongoing problems with governmental intervention in the economy, and lack of effective and efficient corruption-free regulatory and juridical infrastructure. This book, the first detailed analysis of competition law in the ASEAN countries, looks at the prospects of implementation for the regional law and compares the existing systems in each Member State with detailed reference throughout to case law, legislation, institutional announcements, relevant treaties, and literature on both the ASEAN and competition law.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This research handbook provides a comprehensive exploration of the relationship between digital technologies, competition and market dynamics, from a multidisciplinary perspective. Leading specialists in the field examine the intersection between competition law and other policy areas, such as data protection, intellectual property and labour law. A distinctive feature of the Handbook is its in-depth analysis of how competition policy tools have adapted to address the challenges posed by the unique attributes of digital technologies. This focus positions the handbook as an invaluable resource for understanding the profound changes artificial intelligence will introduce to the competition policy landscape.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This timely book explores how artificial intelligence (AI) and big data contribute to the evaluation of the rule of law (covering legal arrangements, empirical legal research, law and technology, and international law), and social and economic development programs in both industrialized and developing countries. Issues of ethics and bias in the use of AI are also addressed and indicators of the growth of knowledge in the field are discussed.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025.
This informative book investigates the role of public procurement law in regulating the acquisition of artificial intelligence (AI) systems for use in public administration in EU Member States. "Buying AI" highlights the need to ensure that AI systems meet legal and practical requirements such as control, transparency and functionality, exploring the extent to which the existing public procurement laws of Member States can implement these conditions. Examining the effect of the 2024 European AI Act, this unique book is an essential resource for students and scholars of commercial law, European law, international economic law and trade law. It is also beneficial to law firms and solicitors advising on public procurement.

Publisher: Cheltenham, UK : Edward Elgar Publishing, [2024]
With "Determann's Field Guide to Artificial Intelligence Law", readers can navigate a complex field traversing new technologies, business models, risks, rights, and legal issues. The author presents practical recommendations in a user-friendly and accessible format, designed to help organizations build and maintain their AI compliance and risk mitigation programs. Practitioners in corporate legal departments and private practice, compliance officers, programmers, privacy officers, data scientists, human resources (HR) specialists, and other professionals who must address AI and related legal compliance issues will find the guidance on risk assessments and mitigation, data law compliance, intellectual property, and other AI-related topics a vital resource.

Publisher: Hershey, PA : IGI Global, 2024
The rise of generative Artificial Intelligence (AI) signifies a momentous stride in the evolution of Large Language Models (LLMs) within the expansive sphere of Natural Language Processing (NLP). This groundbreaking advancement ripples through numerous facets of our existence, with education, AI literacy, and curriculum enhancement emerging as focal points of transformation. Generative AI's influence extends deeply into education, touching the lives of educators, administrators, policymakers, and learners alike. As generative AI becomes increasingly accessible, this comprehensive volume empowers its audience, by providing them with the knowledge needed to navigate and harness the potential of this powerful tool.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This authoritative commentary presents a comprehensive analysis of two essential model laws: the UNCITRAL Model Law on Cross-Border Insolvency (MLCBI) and the UNCITRAL Model Law on Recognition and Enforcement of Insolvency-Related Judgments (MLIJ), which aim to harmonize cross-border insolvency law. Two of the leading voices in the field, Reinhard Bork and Michael Veder, bring together a team of experts to trace the adoption and transposition of the UNCITRAL model laws from their inception through to their interpretation by national courts in various jurisdictions across Australasia, Europe, North America, South America and Africa, offering an overarching perspective alongside an evaluation of significant case law and literature.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025
This forward-looking book examines the concept and legal status of Decentralized Autonomous Organizations (DAOs). Based on blockchain technology, DAOs disrupt traditional thinking around corporate structure and organizational governance. This book explores the challenges posed by DAOs in both technological and legal perspectives and discuss how they are regulated across Europe and the US.

Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025.
This edited collection examines floating charges, a special type of security that covers a class of revolving assets, and functional equivalents across the world. The book explores common threads and points of disparity in how floating charges are used and regulated across different jurisdictions, drawing on expert insights in the field of security rights. It includes a wide-ranging comparative overview of floating security in 40 jurisdictions, as well as chapters which discuss the historical, doctrinal and practical contexts surrounding such security within the legal systems of selected jurisdictions in Africa, Asia, Europe and North America.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
Bringing together an international array of legal scholars, this discerning research handbook provides a comparative analysis of civil procedure law. Chapters examine the rules that dictate how a civil dispute is initiated, processed, decided and enforced in a court of law, comparing each aspect of the procedure across continents including Asia, Europe and the Americas. Presenting invaluable new perspectives on civil procedure law, this comprehensive handbook is an essential read for scholars and practitioners in international practice and transnational litigation. It will also benefit students and researchers interested in dispute resolution, comparative politics and sociology.

Publisher: New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2025]
In the summer of 2020, angry citizens took to the streets of Minneapolis after a recording of the murder of George Floyd went viral. They set fire to a police station, destroyed cars and shops, and clashed with police. In the summer of 2023, violent disorder broke out across France after police killed a seventeen year-old boy. In 2011, protests spread from London across England after police murdered a young Black man during a police arrest. State authorities were quick to denounce such uprisings as callous lawlessness. Were they right? Are violent protestors unscrupulous criminals, or might their revolt be justified despite its lawlessness and the heavy costs it imposes? In "No Justice, No Peace", Avia Pasternak highlights the political nature of such protests, offering an in-depth examination of these pressing questions. Combining empirical analysis of political oppression in contemporary states with a normative assessment of ordinary citizens' duty to resist oppression, Pasternak asserts that violence in protest against state injustice can be permissible, while also acknowledging its key limits.

Publisher: Oxford ; New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2025]
"What's Wrong with Stereotyping?" offers a refreshing and accessibly written philosophical take on the ethics of stereotyping. Stereotyping is woven into every aspect of human experience: conversation, psychology, algorithmic systems, and culture. It relates to generalization and induction, core aspects of rationality. But when and why it is morally wrong to stereotype? Filled with thought-provoking examples and models for social change, this book emphasizes the messiness of moral reality and the importance of looking to the past in order to understand the ethical perils of stereotyping.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2025
This handbook brings together contributions from leading scholars of constitutional theory, with backgrounds in law, philosophy and political science. Its sixty chapters not only offer an exceptional survey of the field but also provide a major contribution to it. The book explores three main areas. First, the values upheld by a constitution, including rights, freedom, equality, dignity and well-being. Second, the modalities of a constitutional system, such as the separation of powers, democratic representation and the rule of law. Finally, the institutions through which it operates, both legal and political, including courts, elections, parliaments and international organisations. It also considers the challenges confronting constitutional arrangements from growing inequality, populism, climate change and migration.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts : Harvard University Press, 2025
Every law student learns that the federal government is constrained to act only according to its enumerated powers, meaning that Congress can do what the Constitution expressly authorizes it to and nothing more. Yet Richard Primus contends that this longstanding orthodoxy-allegedly required by the text of the Constitution, the Framers' vision, and the logic of federalism-is fundamentally flawed. Through careful analysis of constitutional text and history, and of the structure of American federalism, The Oldest Constitutional Question builds a powerful argument for broad congressional authority.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025
With contributions from experts in the field, this comprehensive handbook provides a systematic overview of debates at the cutting edge of the philosophy of contract law. Engaging closely with general theories of contract law while entering into detailed theoretical discussions surrounding its principles, rules and doctrines, as well as its moral foundations makes this an essential resource for scholars and students in contract law theory, moral and political philosophy, jurisprudence and law and economics.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This research agenda provides fresh insights into fundamental issues within EU copyright law. Expert authors highlight recent trends in the scholarship and discuss the challenges posed by novel technologies such as AI and NFTs. They also expand on the need to update the law to adapt to change and present innovative analyses of various strategies to influence EU copyright policies, making this book a key resource for students, academics and practitioners within the field of intellectual property law.

Publisher: Stanford, California : Stanford University Press, [2023]
The idea that wealthy people use their money to influence things, including politics, law, and media will surprise very few people. However, as Michael S. Kang and Joanna Shepherd argue in this readable and rich study of the state judiciary, the effect of money on judicial outcomes should disturb and anger everyone. In the current system that elects state judges, the rich and powerful can spend money to elect and re-elect judges who decide cases the way they want. "Free to Judge" is about how and why money increasingly affects the dispensation of justice in our legal system, and what can be done to stop it. This thoughtful and compellingly written book will be required reading for anybody who cares about creating a more just legal system.

Publisher: Lawrence, Kansas : University Press of Kansas, [2024]
The era of mass incarceration has been associated with the idea of "law and order," referring to the carceral regime in which politicians exploited public anxieties over crime and funneled resources into policing and prisons. As important as this system has been and remains to be, there has been a shift in recent years shaped by neoliberalism -- the political, economic, and sociocultural program that has supplanted liberal democratic legal frameworks, subordinating them to operations of the market and mandating that private entities intervene in the creation, interpretation, and enforcement of law. While courts and legislatures play a significant role in shaping legal personhood in the neoliberal United States, private, profit-driven institutions are increasingly responsible for determining the post-sentence consequences that people with criminal convictions face. The result has been a move from the courtroom to the boardroom, from a law-and-order society to a policy-and-order society. "From the Courtroom to the Boardroom" is an interdisciplinary cultural studies project that examines the role of the criminal justice system in implementing neoliberal restructuring in the United States, including the partial transfer of quasi-judicial authority to employers, landlords, lenders, social media companies, and other businesses.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This book provides a comprehensive and critical account of the law, policy and practice underpinning early release systems in international criminal law. Róisín Mulgrew explores the distinct forms that early release can take and investigates key questions. Who makes and influences early release decisions? What factors are taken into account? Can conditional release be granted? And if so, who supervises this and what happens if conditions are breached? Highlighting both institutional-specific discussions and systemic critiques of early release in international criminal law, this book provides fresh insights into the reach, depth and impact of international punishment.

Publisher: West Lafayette, Ind. : Purdue University Press, 2025
"Second Chances: The Transformative Relationship Between Incarcerated Youth and Shelter Dogs" recounts the story of Project POOCH (Positive Opportunities Obvious Change with Hounds), a program that united incarcerated boys with unwanted dogs from animal shelters. Despite challenges, the lives of many youths and dogs changed forever as a result of this program.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
Companies, lawyers, privacy officers, compliance managers, as well as human resources, marketing and IT professionals are increasingly facing privacy issues. While plenty of information is freely available, it can be difficult to grasp a problem quickly, without getting lost in details and advocacy. This is where "Determann's Field Guide to Data Privacy Law" comes in to help identify key issues and provide concise practical guidance for an increasingly complex field shaped by rapid change in international laws, technology and society.

Publisher: Philadelphia : Temple University Press, 2024
How have prospects for abolishing the death penalty changed since the 1972 Supreme Court decision, Furman v Georgia? The editor and contributors to "Death Penalty in Decline?" assess the contemporary death penalty landscape and look at the trends in and attitudes toward capital punishment and its abolition. They highlight factors that are propelling alternatives to the death penalty as well as the obstacles to ending it. At a time when the United States is undertaking an unprecedented national reconsideration of the death penalty, "Death Penalty in Decline?" seeks to evaluate how abolitionists might succeed today.

Publisher: Oxford : Oxford University Press, [2025]
"Accountability after Economic Crisis" reconstructs the captivating story of how different nations responded to the 2008 economic crisis, one of the most challenging economic downturns in modern history. The book focuses on puzzling cross-country variations in policies of accountability. Why did some countries look for explanations of the economic failure and seek to hold those responsible to account, while others looked the other way? And among those countries looking for the truth, were some more successful than others? If so, were certain methods more effective than others? Is there, in fact, a best way? Iosif Kovras introduces an innovative framework to explain the varied political responses to an economic crisis, pushing the boundaries of traditional analysis by drawing on political economy, comparative politics, public administration, economic history, criminal law, and criminology.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025
"Comparative Financial Regulation" investigates the key drivers of divergence and convergence in financial regulation and analyses the consequences in terms of market efficiency, investor protection and financial stability. It adopts a broad view of the financial system and promotes a functional understanding of the regulation of securities markets, banks, derivatives and payments. Emphasizing the importance of a comparative approach to financial regulation, contributing authors present critical examinations across a variety of national jurisdictions in Asia, the Americas and Europe, going beyond the black-letter comparison of different national regulatory regimes and presenting a comprehensive overview of how the level of cross-border convergence and divergence varies across sectors of the financial system.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2023.
"The Encyclopedia of the Social and Solidarity Economy" is a comprehensive reference text that explores how the social and solidarity economy (SSE) plays a significant role in creating and developing economic activities in alternative ways. In contrast to processes involving commodification, commercialization, bureaucratization and corporatization, the SSE reasserts the place of ethics, social well-being and democratic decision-making in economic activities and governance. Identifying and analyzing a myriad of issues and topics associated with the SSE, the Encyclopedia broadens the knowledge base of diverse actors of the SSE, including practitioners, activists and policymakers.

Publisher: New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2025]
This highly original and innovative book is the first to comprehensively engage the ideas of the French social theorist and philosopher Michel Foucault from within the tradition of liberal political economy. Divided into two parts the book commences by demonstrating important commonalities between Foucault's ideas and those of a neglected 'post-modern' stream in liberal political and economic thought. Where the Foucauldian and the post-modern liberal approaches suggest that freedom requires a cultural and economic 'creative destruction' that destabilises existing modes of thought and ways of being, the pastoral dispositifs that seek to 'monitor and correct' multiple pattern anomalies are shown to stifle the space for that creative freedom. Though the book does not engage the question of whether Foucault himself moved towards endorsing liberal political economy, it throws considerable light on how key Foucauldian concerns may be addressed within the liberal tradition, and why Foucauldians may have reason to embrace a reconstituted or post-modern liberalism.

Cambridge, United States ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2025
From its origins in ancient Mesopotamia, through the advent of coinage in ancient Greece and Rome and the invention of paper currency in medieval China, the progress of finance and money has been driven by technological developments. The great technological change of our age in relation to money centers on the creation of digital money and digital payment systems. "Money in Crisis" explains what the digital revolution in money is, why it matters and how its potential benefits can be realized or undermined. It explores the history, theory and evolving technologies underlying money and warns us that money is in crisis: under threat from inflation, financial instability, and digital wizardry. It discusses how modern forms of digital money (crypto, central bank digital currencies) fit into monetary history and explains the benefits and risks of recent innovations from an economic, political, social and cultural viewpoint.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
In this thought-provoking book, expert contributors challenge dominant global development and education narratives through an academic critique of contemporary coloniality in education, and move beyond critique to provide constructive ways forward to challenge and reinvent relations of domination and empower marginalized communities. Chapter authors explore education in the context of the climate crisis, education data, material and epistemic justice, and the use of so-called 'good sense' in international education development. Moving beyond an assessment of the educational landscape, "Transforming Development in Education" advocates for regenerative, restorative, and reparative action, encouraging readers to reimagine education and development pathways which lead to more equal and sustainable futures.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2025
"Law and the 100-Year Life" addresses the growing trend of Americans living longer and healthier lives, with many reaching the age of 100. An aging nation presents new challenges for society, which must be reimagined to accommodate longer and more varied careers, multiple marriages, and defining moments of education. This volume explores the possibility of a 'third demographic dividend', a new period of productivity following middle age, and the potential for law and policy to support or divide aging citizens. Leading scholars across various fields come together to explore topics related to aging, such as health law and trusts and estates, as well as less obvious but equally important areas like housing, criminal justice, and education.

Publisher: Oxford, England ; New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2025]
Many older Americans today are poorly prepared to finance their retirement years, and such under-preparedness is especially acute for members of disadvantaged racial and ethnic minority groups. The studies herein provide a range of perspectives on the causes and consequences of retirement wealth inequality, along with suggested opportunities to close the gaps. The contributors explore new datasets, analyze historical trends in income and wealth disparities, and evaluate alternative wealth and inequality measures. They also evaluate the roles of differential access to financial, housing, and human capital, and the role of the social security program.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This timely book explores the ways in which the future of work and associated digital technologies are imagined in contemporary society. Drawing on a wealth of original research, the book features detailed case studies that link broad sociological concepts to everyday practice. Building on the view that ideas about the future matter, the authors examine four imaginaries, namely work as rational, work as human-machine collaboration, work as freedom and work as self-improvement. They discuss how these imaginaries of work and technology risk shaping unwanted futures, and outline different scenarios that reflect an ideal future working world.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025.
This forward-thinking book focuses on current and future challenges facing employment law in Australia, New Zealand and the UK. Leading experts in the field discuss the need for legislative intervention in the three nations and examine differences in their judicial attitudes. Chapters explore the need for stronger regulatory employment models to ensure the economic security and personal autonomy of workers while also highlighting the need for enhanced support and flexible working conditions, particularly for casual workers and those on the margins of the workforce. An essential resource for students in employment law, human resources management and industrial relations, this book will also benefit government policy advisors and employers researching labour market regulations.

Publisher: New York : Oxford University Press, 2025
"Empowering Workers in an Age of Automation" explores how labour market policymakers should respond to the threats and opportunities that arise from automation, artificial intelligence, and other forms of technological progress. The book's aim is twofold. First, it is to develop and defend a novel philosophical framework for theorizing about the demands of social justice in the labour market, which Parr calls 'the empowerment model'. Second, it is to examine a range of concrete political controversies relating to labour markets and the future of work in the light of the empowerment model. The analysis presented is wide-ranging, and includes discussion of technological unemployment, the four day work week, the gender earnings gap, working from home, and role of higher education.

Publisher: New York : Columbia University Press, [2025]
This book challenges dominant understandings of both economic inequality and the future of work. Leading scholars in law, social sciences, and the humanities consider the production and reproduction of global hierarchies by revisiting and deploying three critical approaches that emerged in the late twentieth century: racial capitalism, world-systems theory, and critical legal distributional analysis. They demonstrate that these methods -- especially when brought together -- offer new insights into the forces that entrench the asymmetries of power and wealth that are too often shorthanded as inequality. "Hierarchies at Work" features powerful, grounded studies of the dynamics of work and livelihood in sites ranging from garment factories in Jordan and palm oil fields in Colombia to dairy farms in the United States. These studies underscore the necessity of thinking about the future of work and livelihoods through their racialized past and present and recognizing the systemic role of law in unequal distribution.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
Green communication can improve a firm's reputation and performance, regardless of their genuine green conduct. This book investigates the greenwashing phenomenon and maps how firms mislead consumers by not delivering on their environmental promises. Chapters uniquely combine a business perspective with a more philosophical outlook, considering the wider implications of organisations not fulfilling important ethical promises, like societal polarisation and change of corporate scope. Academics focusing on management and marketing, particularly green marketing and corporate social responsibility, will find this book to be an insightful read. It is also invaluable to practitioners in corporate communications, and will help policymakers in understanding current washing practices.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts : The MIT Press, [2025]
Throughout our history we have dealt with extreme events, sometimes adaptively, by coping or even thriving with them, and sometimes disastrously, by repeatedly ignoring their lessons. Now extreme events and disasters are increasing in frequency and severity, and their signals are difficult to read. In "Fire and Flood", Thomas Princen argues that the most useful signals may be those coming from fires and floods, both historically and today. This book looks to past and present events to imagine -- and to construct -- a regenerative future.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025.
This commentary presents an in-depth exploration of what is widely regarded as the most important International Maritime Organization (IMO) convention on vessel source pollution. Leading international experts provide an authoritative analysis of the International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships 1973/78 and its subsidiary instruments, collectively known as MARPOL. "The International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships" is invaluable to practitioners and professionals in ministries and departments of transport, national maritime administrations, intergovernmental organizations, shipping industries and international NGOs. It is also an essential resource for students and academics in international environmental law, law of the sea and international maritime law.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
In the face of 'Anthropocene' pressures and challenges, moving away from an imaginary of human mastery toward an appreciation of nonhuman and more-than-human agencies is now an urgent ethical task. This thoughtful, enriching set of essays and conversations offers a unique exploration of themes and questions concerning a lively world 'in trouble'. Provocative, stimulating, playful, insightful, and prescient, the reflections in this book invite readers into imaginative and ecologically open ways of envisioning an entangled world.

Publisher: Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, Massachusetts : Edward Elgar Publishing Limited, 2023.
This ground-breaking book presents interdisciplinary educators with classroom tools and strategies to integrate environmental justice into their courses. Providing accessible, flexible, and evidence-based pedagogical approaches designed by a multidisciplinary team of scholars, it centers equity and justice in student learning and course design. It further presents a model for community-based faculty development that can communicate those pedagogical approaches across disciplines. Providing detailed instructions and reflections on teaching effectively and inclusively, "Teaching Environmental Justice" will be an invaluable resource for faculty and graduate students teaching modules in environmental justice in courses across disciplines. It will also be essential reading for researchers of teaching and learning seeking insight into cutting-edge classroom practices that center equity and justice in student learning.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
There are a plethora of new and older instruments from the EU designed to regulate the digital space, and this unique practical guide presents a systematic overview of regulations and directives in place, helping the reader navigate the field of information and communications technology (IT) law in the EU. Coverage of regulatory regimes includes the law on electronic communications, data security, data protection and data economy, with key legislative instruments and major court decisions explained. This guide is a valuable resource for practitioners, researchers and stakeholders seeking to broaden their understanding of EU digital regulation. Students and scholars in European law, information and media law, internet and technology law, and telecommunications law will also find this to be a helpful starting point.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This research handbook focuses on the internal market aspects of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) pillar of the European Economic Area (EEA). Leading academics, judges, and practitioners examine the EEA internal market in a structured and systematic manner. Throughout, they provide an in-depth analysis of the free movement and horizontal aspects of the EFTA pillar of the EEA. Contributing authors in this book address the free movement of goods, persons (including workers and social security), services, establishment, capital and payments within the EFTA pillar. They also dissect the flanking policies that apply, including competition, state aid, banking, insurance, transport, intellectual property, consumer protection, and the environment. Overall, it is a comprehensive examination based on EEA primary law, EEA secondary law, EFTA Surveillance Authority practice, and the EFTA Court's case-law.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This pioneering book explores the child's right to identity, and the concept of selfhood, in both domestic and cross-border contexts. It highlights life events and transformations that children and young people often experience in the field of international family law and related areas which may impact on their identity, and considers the legal protections available to them. The book highlights the likely consequences of conflict, discrimination and oppression on children and young people, revealing how the associated events and transitions, as well as those emanating from more positive foundations, often influence the evolution and integration of their identities over time. The book suggests a range of improvements to help ensure that children's right to identity is more frequently taken into account in the international family justice field, ultimately improving the decisions being made about vulnerable children and young people.

Publisher: New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2025]
Although a lot has been said about the stunning success of the marriage equality movement, not much is known about why the global struggle over gay marriage has varied across countries with respect to the severity of the conservative backlash and the legacy for LGBTQ equality. In this book, Omar Encarnación presents a cross-national exploration of the politics of "gay marriage wars" by looking at how gay marriage has been framed in Spain, the United States, and Brazil.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2024
Metaphysics is the study of what there is and what it is like. "The Metaphysics of Gender" questions the existence and nature of gender and alleged gender categories. In recent years, the metaphysics of gender has shifted from being a rather marginal part of metaphysics to being a growing area of interest. Moreover, growing attention to the metaphysics of gender and the social domain have given rise to fruitful methodological questions about what metaphysics is about and what are the best methods to pursue metaphysical inquiries.

Publisher: Corvallis : Oregon State University Press, 2025
Nestled against the Cascade Mountains, former lumber town Bend, Oregon, entices residents who long to live in a wonderland of sagebrush and forests. But like so many other communities across the West, Bend has too few homes for everyone clambering for access. In "High Desert, Higher Costs", Jonathan Bach takes a closer look at the housing crisis in this mid-sized city that is both the population center for rural Central Oregon and a major recreation area. Bach uses Bend as a lens into the growing housing crisis in the region, where residents and tourists alike prize access to outdoor recreation, and housing issues have been brewing for decades.

Publisher: New York : Columbia University Press, [2025]
This book is a comprehensive and accessible overview of sex trafficking in the United States, examining its underlying dynamics and sharing key research findings. Andrea J. Nichols examines the backgrounds and experiences of survivors, traffickers, and buyers, showing how social and structural dynamics affect trafficking in the United States. She details common risk factors for victimization, emphasizing weak social institutions and safety nets. This book's intersectional approach foregrounds the ways social oppression and marginalization contribute to heightened vulnerability, accounting for the roles of race, ethnicity, citizenship status, sexuality, gender, age, and disability.

Publisher: Pittsburgh : University of Pittsburgh Press, [2025]
"By transporting waves of newly arrived immigrants along rail lines from both coasts, railway companies played an active role in repopulating the interior of the country. Spaces of Immigration follows the travel routes of immigrants during a foundational period of American infrastructure -- from ports of arrival to train cars and depots to settlements -- showing how the built environment of the railways fostered segregation through physical isolation and reinforced hierarchies according to race, ethnicity, and class."

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025.
This book brings together leading experts to provide original and contemporary perspectives on the evolution and current state of Geographical Indications (GI) at European and global levels. It also explores the challenges this dynamic field is likely to face in the foreseeable future. With careful analysis of the latest trends shaping this area of Intellectual Property Law, the book explores the evolution of GI systems across the globe.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This book explores the interactions between intellectual property (IP) laws and other legal disciplines, examining potential policy implications raised by the growing influence of different legal frameworks on IP principles.

Publisher: Cheltenham, UK : Edward Elgar Publishing Limited, 2025.
This pioneering book explores the relationship between intellectual property (IP) and cannabis. Expert scholars from across the globe reflect on the legal, cultural, and socio-economic significance of cannabis, addressing the difficulties of adapting legal frameworks to this unique and multifaceted product. Providing novel interdisciplinary insights into the controversies and complexities of the law surrounding cannabis, this book is an essential read for students and academics in intellectual property law, pharmaceutical law, innovation and economics. It is also an invaluable toolkit for policymakers in governments and tribunals, as well as commercial entrepreneurs.

Publisher: Stanford, California : Stanford University Press, [2024]
"Faith in Rights" explores why and how Christian nongovernmental organizations conduct human rights work at the United Nations. The book interrogates the idea that the secular and the religious are distinct categories, and more specifically that human rights, understood as secular, can be neatly distinguished from religion. It argues that Christianity is deeply entangled in the texture of the United Nations and shapes the methods and areas of work of Christian NGOs. To capture these entanglements, Amélie Barras analyzes -- through interviews, ethnography, and document and archive analysis -- the everyday human rights work of Christian NGOs at the United Nations Human Rights Council.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This incisive book examines how states bear responsibility for human rights protection when they cooperate. Focusing on the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR), it explores the challenges of international cooperation to international human rights law and uncovers how, nonetheless, human rights provisions may turn into an international human rights law of cooperation and regulate inter-state interaction. Prisca Feihle discusses the meaning of international cooperation to human rights law, engaging in detailed analysis of case-law to illustrate how the European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR) addresses cooperation between states in a range of areas including migration policies, surveillance measures or criminal investigations. Developing a comprehensive framework for states' human rights responsibilities in international cooperation, she puts forward insightful recommendations on what human rights law under the ECHR demands of states beyond these specific subject matters.

Publisher: Cheltenham, UK : Edward Elgar Publishing Limited, 2025
This research handbook presents an in-depth examination of the International Court of Justice (ICJ). Contributing authors dissect the global governance functions of the ICJ and its impact on national legal orders worldwide. Incorporating a comprehensive analysis of the key functions of the ICJ, including the attainment of international peace and law-making, leading experts situate the jurisprudence of the Court in a broader theoretical framework. They identify its core judicial practices and delineate its interactions with international and supranational courts and tribunals such as the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, the Court of Justice of the European Union and the Inter-American Court of Human Rights.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025
This cutting-edge research handbook examines how investment law and policy can foster or frustrate sustainable development goals and accords. Expert authors explore opportunities for environmental, social, and economic rules to shape international investment flows, advancing global sustainability and justice. Presenting novel proposals, this handbook is a crucial resource for scholars and practitioners in international investment law, environmental law, human rights law, and sustainable development law. Its insights will also benefit policy leaders in governments, tribunals and international organizations.

Publisher: Eagan, MN : West Academic Publishing, [2023]
"Becoming a Lawyer: Discovering and Defining Your Professional Persona" addresses a range of attitudes and behaviors required to succeed -- and flourish -- in the legal profession. The book covers foundations of a robust and sustainable professional persona (achieving competence, habits, intelligence, and leadership); self-management -- professionalism from the inside (mindset and dispositions, time management and organization, and wellbeing); and relationships -- professionalism with the outside (working with others, talent management, and effective communication). With greater intentionality, each of us can become better and happier professionals.

Publisher: Chicago, Illinois : ABA Publishing, American Bar Association, [2022]
"This book is a comprehensive guide to mock trial. If you're a beginner, Championship Mock Trial will teach you the nuts and bolts you need to be competitive. If you're experienced, this books advanced advice will take you from good to great."

Publisher: Washington, D. C. : Full Court Press, Fastcase, Inc., 2022
In this must-have text for both new advocates and experienced trial attorneys, veteran trial lawyer John P. Blumberg shows the reader how persuasion science can lead to successful jury verdicts. Blumberg’s new methodology for approaching courtroom advocacy solves the mystery of what makes certain strategies successful, and why information is accepted or rejected by jurors.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025.
This insightful book discusses how law schools engage with the public to expand the public's understanding of the law. It shows that effective engagement is achieved through recognising the university and the public as part of a shared community, working towards both individual and collective goals. By examining the historical roles of universities and law schools, he develops a model of engagement, detailing the organization, ideas, choices and values of these institutions.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This research handbook explores the interactions between law and time, demonstrating how both are pivotal in the organization of human activities, including legal proceedings and societal functions. The book expands upon the structural relationship between law and time, examining how societies and legal systems coordinate around timing conventions and how the use of time constraints can alter litigation and deter socially destructive behavior. Expert contributors evaluate transition and timing rules, analyzing the 'dilemma of waiting', delayed implementation, the use of temporary laws in emergency situations, and third-party losses arising from delays. They also investigate practical issues such as mandatory retirement, how statutes of limitations work, and the impact of legal developments over time.

Publisher: Abingdon, Oxon [UK] ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2025
This book integrates research on the causes, responses and protective strategies for vicarious trauma that are recognised in a range of human services and argues their relevance to the legal profession.

Publisher: Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2025
This book asks why justice is important to both individuals and to society as a whole. A number of justice questions are raised to evaluate whether mediation can deliver social, distributive, procedural, or substantive justice and fairness. Focussing on a scrutiny of mediation in the context of justice, the book covers social justice and justice issues posed by confidentiality, bias, lack of fairness, and online dispute resolution. Discussing whether mediation can truly deliver justice to all, this book identifies areas where this fails and provides solutions and suggestions for improvement.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025.
In this prescient book, expert authors identify key areas of development, conflict and tension within patent law, providing crucial insights into the field to steer future research and policymaking. Encompassing traditional and cutting edge technologies, chapters examine the interactions between patent law and a wide range of pertinent sectors including the information and communications technology, pharmaceutical and biotech industries.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2025
This ground-breaking work delves into the world of sub-patent intellectual property rights, exploring utility model and similar protection offered by over 100 countries worldwide. Drawing on the expertise of leading scholars from around the globe, this volume provides a comprehensive analysis of sub-patent protection systems, comparing and contrasting statutory frameworks, registration requirements, corporate strategies and litigation tactics. The book also highlights current policy debates surrounding these systems, including their potential to promote local innovation and economic development, proposals for cross-border harmonization, and their interaction with increasingly integrated litigation systems.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025.
Taking a critical approach, this book advances understanding of the social, legal and ethical aspects of digitalization in law enforcement and the reliance on data-driven tools to predict and prevent crime. It shows how the proliferation of data analytics challenges citizens' rights, at a time when what counts as 'safety' or 'policing' is being fundamentally transformed. With ethnographic case studies from border to traffic control, and from facial recognition to essentially automated data analytics, the authors argue that predictive policing is shaped not only by technology, but also by the imaginaries, policy, power, interest and resistance within policing agencies.

Publisher: Princeton, New Jersey : Princeton University Press, [2025]
A groundbreaking study of when, where, and whom police shoot in America's largest cities Police shootings in America spark outrage and protest and raise questions about police use of lethal force. Yet despite the attention given to high-profile shootings, it is extremely difficult to draw wider conclusions about the frequency and outcomes of police gunfire because there is no systematic and centralized source of information on these incidents. This pioneering book draws on original data, compiled by the authors, to examine police shootings, both fatal and non-fatal, in hundreds of American cities. It documents racial disparities in shooting incidents and shows that the media spotlight on the most shocking fatal shootings tell only part of the story of police gunfire in our cities. The authors offer other insights as well, exploring the connection between police department funding and rates of shootings, and considering the influence of a city's political leadership on police use of gunfire. It is only through a deeper understanding of police shootings, the authors argue, that we can reduce their incidence and make effective reform possible.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This book explores local autonomy as measured by the updated and extended Local Autonomy Index, and considers the underlying issues related to this multidimensional concept. It analyses dynamics spanning over three decades concerning the dimensions of local autonomy and its variables and indicators. Adopting an international comparative perspective, authors examine common and differing features of various states to show how these features pertain to local autonomy, as well as what impacts derive from local government configurations.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This comprehensive book examines the history and importance of three fundamental ideas underlying the concept of statehood: effectiveness, recognition and legitimacy. It explores the analytical and historical genesis of these concepts, as well as their practical application in navigating relationships between states. Presenting a range of diverse and divergent views, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the modern concept of statehood and how this has come into fruition.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This thought-provoking book details the national security lies told by presidents of the United States throughout history, both to Congress and to the public. Tung Yin explains how current laws do not set up sufficient prevention measures and proposes legislative reform to regulate such lies. Utilizing a strong moral and legal foundation, Yin analyzes the difference between political, personal, and national security lies, and underlines the importance of checks and balances. "National Security Lies" is a useful resource for students and researchers in law and politics as well as terrorism and security law. It is also an invigorating read for political scientists focused on constitutional separation of powers, as well as historians and journalists focused on national security.

Publisher: Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2025
Why are blue-collar workers increasingly supporting the populist radical right in Western Europe? Previous explanations for this phenomenon suggest that it is the result of their economic and cultural grievances and their general discontent towards the political system. Social identity and working class support for the populist radical right argues that these explanations are unable to account for why the working class -- despite their deteriorating economic position in recent decades -- would prefer to vote for a party family that they agree with more on cultural issues (the populist radical right) than economic issues (the populist radical or mainstream left). To explain this puzzle, the book develops a theory utilizing the literature on social identity. It argues and empirically finds that political and economic conditions relatively unfavourable to the working class increase blue-collar worker support for the populist radical right in Western Europe by strengthening these workers' national identity and thus also the salience they place on cultural issues.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
From concentration camps to refugee settlements, there is little consensus about what exactly defines 'the camp'. This timely and comprehensive book adopts a geographical perspective to develop a spatial theory of the camp, advancing the interdisciplinary field of camp studies. Richard Carter-White and Claudio Minca explore the spatial logics and practices that unite different camps, demonstrating why the camp has become such an integral tool of contemporary governance and what this reveals about the geopolitics and biopolitics of the modern nation-state. Throughout the analysis, the book draws upon Roberto Esposito's political philosophy to theorize that camps are an attempt at 'immunizing' the nation-state from its inherent state of crisis. "A Spatial Theory of the Camp" will be an indispensable reference for those interested in camp studies. It will also be beneficial to students and academics of human geography, political philosophy, Holocaust studies, and refugee and migration studies.

Publication Date: 2025-03-03
Publisher: Oxford, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2024]
Every country provides some form of direct cash transfer to people in need, and this provision of money reaches hundreds of millions of people worldwide. But these provisions are often accompanied by heated debates on whether and how such assistance should be provided. Seeking a way to better understand the current global debates on cash transfers, "Timely Cash" provides a historical overview of the concept. By connecting historical perspectives with the present day, identifying reoccurring patterns, and codifying diversity in experiences, Ugo Gentilini illuminates the roots of modern cash transfer dilemmas and reveals the surprising lessons the past can offer for these contemporary debates.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
As the world faces new complex challenges, we need innovations in how public policy can support innovation to unlock economic, societal and technological progress. Bringing together expert contributors from across science, technology, innovation and policy making, this book presents thought leadership pieces that address the question: What does the future of innovation policy look like? Inspiring forward-thinking about how innovations in innovation policy can enable economic, social, and environmental impact, this book is an essential read for researchers and students in the field of innovation, science and technology policy. Policymakers, industry professionals, business leaders and civil society stakeholders engaged in innovation initiatives will also benefit from the valuable insights offered.

Publisher: University Park, Pennsylvania : Pennsylvania State University Press, [2025]
"A Tale of Two Surrogates" explores the complicated emotional, medical, legal, and ethical issues surrounding assisted reproduction. Based on more than a decade of ethnographic research conducted by a sociologist and an anthropologist, this book presents, in an accessible graphic novel format, the intertwined stories of two fictional women who decide to become gestational surrogates. It immerses the reader in the worlds of Jenn, from California, and Dana, from Tel Aviv, as they decide to become surrogates and make sense of the process, involve their families, and manage their relationships with the intended parents. The experiences of these composite characters highlight various paths, interpretations, and experiences that are common in surrogacy. This book also offers valuable perspective to anyone involved in the surrogacy process--not only surrogates and intended parents but also medical providers, lawyers, legislators, and family members.

Publisher: Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar Publishing, [2025]
In this innovative book, Juan Diaz-Granados and Benedict Sheehy offer a meticulous examination of the legal foundations, structures and challenges, as well as potential solutions for the legal and regulatory issues posed by the rise of platform-based businesses. With examples drawn from the sharing economy, such as Uber and Airbnb, Diaz-Granados and Sheehy demonstrate how law facilitates and constrains the operation of these companies as they deliver convenient goods and services. They offer fresh insights into how and why these platforms disrupt existing legal norms, economic markets and social practices.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025
This book considers the potential solutions that the sharing economy offers to tackle the increasing challenges of urbanisation and sustainability facing cities. It emphasizes the need for robust policies to ensure that the sharing economy supports urban sustainability and resilience by promoting more efficient and circular use of urban resources through practices like car-sharing, accommodation rentals, and the sharing of physical goods. "Understanding the Urban Sharing Economy" presents a rich blend of empirical studies and theoretical insights exploring business models and the role of sharing organizations and digital platforms. Through interdisciplinary case studies and examples from eleven diverse cities, the book takes a holistic approach to analyzing the varied governance approaches and institutionalization mechanisms within the urban sharing economy.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025.
"Esports Law and Practice" serves as an authoritative guide to the rapidly expanding field of esports law. This comprehensive work provides detailed analysis of all aspects of this complex and multifaceted sector. It delves into the history and development of the evolving legal landscape, offering practical insights into the challenges and opportunities that esports presents. Practitioners in intellectual property law or international arbitration dealing with esports cases will find the book's detailed guidance on regulatory issues, disciplinary actions, and dispute resolution methods particularly beneficial. Policymakers, regulators, investors, business strategists, academics, and students interested in these legal areas will also find the work's theoretical and practical insights invaluable.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025.
This incisive book presents a critical analysis of contemporary issues in international taxation, considering the long-standing question of how best to tax income and consumption. Leading experts from across the globe explore the future of tax in a changing world, promoting a re-examination of fundamental issues in tax law and policy. Chapters reflect on highly debated topics in international tax law, discussing how tax policy and legislative processes can be improved. Ultimately, the book looks towards the future of tax law, highlighting attempts to address evolving economic, social and environmental challenges as well as the need to learn from past reforms.

Publisher: Stanford, Calfornia : Stanford University Press, [2024]
Governments across the globe find themselves in an exploratory phase as they probe the limits of their sovereignty in the cyber domain. Cyberspace is a singular environment that is forcing states to adjust their behavior to fit a new arena beyond the four traditional domains (air, sea, space, and land) to which the classic understanding of state sovereignty applies. According to Lucie Kadlecová, governments must implement a more adaptive approach to keep up with rapid developments and innovations in cyberspace in order to truly retain their sovereignty. This requires understanding the concept of sovereignty in a more creative and flexible manner. In times of booming competition over cyber governance between democracies and authoritarian regimes worldwide, cyber sovereignty is a major topic of interest, and concern, for the international community.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts : The MIT Press, [2025]
In 1997 the United States decided that the Internet should be governed not by governments but by something called the "global Internet community." ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers), created in 1998, was the US government's answer to the question of who would control the Internet registries -- a key part of the Internet infrastructure supporting domain names, network numbers, IP addresses, and other protocol parameters. The US government refused to let go of ICANN for 15 years, triggering geopolitical conflicts over sovereignty and US power. Mueller details why, what prompted its change of heart, and how the problem of making ICANN accountable to its community in the absence of US government control sparked a political battle in Washington. His account gets to the very heart of a pressing question with profound global implications -- is state sovereignty the immutable foundation of global governance, or do new technological capabilities change the model?

Publisher: Cham, Switzerland : Springer Nature Switzerland, [2024]
This book explores the dynamic legal semantics of territory as applied to data. It offers a theoretical assessment of the legal challenges that data flows pose for the principle of territoriality and for state sovereignty more generally. The concept of sovereignty has traditionally developed in close connection with the exercise of powers over a territory, and ideas of jurisdiction have always been based on the principle of territoriality. Digitalization questions however the very idea of physical frontiers. The analysis focuses on data from a holistic perspective (personal and nonpersonal) with the aim of investigating divergent and convergent solutions provided by different branches of the law (data protection, IP law, international law, and fundamental rights protection). It assesses in particular, the relationships between digitalization and the principle of territoriality, focusing on the specific legal aspects: the connections between law and territory; the impact of digitalization on state sovereignty; the use of extraterritoriality to circumvent territorial limitations on data flows; the rise of digital jurisdiction and its challenges; the interplay between digital jurisdiction and state sovereignty, and the alternative technological and legal solutions to data localization.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This book explores the digital future of the EU, critically analysing the governance of digital single market actors and the platform economy. It discusses notions of freedom, responsibility and accountability, examining the circulation of unlawful content through the broad lens of digital governance. "Governance of Digital Single Market Actors" is a crucial resource for students and academics in human rights and IT law. Its unique insights will also greatly benefit legal and business practitioners navigating evolving regulatory landscapes.

Publisher: Cheltenham, UK : Edward Elgar Publishing Limited, 2025.
Multidisciplinary authors provide a field-defining examination of years of transformative law and robotics scholarship. Presenting insightful perspectives on the societal risks and opportunities of robotics and artificial intelligence, authors focus on the legal and policy questions that robots present as well as their disruption of existing legal regimes. The book also offers a range of legal, policy, and ethical interventions to help channel robotics and AI in the public interest.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025.
This innovative new work presents a succinct overview of the central issues in the global semiconductor sector. It provides a detailed analysis of the law regulating semiconductors, drawing comparisons between the UK and jurisdictions in Asia, the EU, and the US. This practical guide provides invaluable guidance for in-house legal counsel, patent attorneys, private practice lawyers, semiconductor firms, and policymakers responsible for achieving economic growth by supporting technical innovation. It is also a beneficial resource for researchers as well as students interested in corporate strategy and intellectual property.

Publisher: Laramie : University of Wyoming Press, [2025]
"Conservation Is Not Enough" reconsiders the most basic assumptions about water issues in the Southwest, revealing why conservation alone will not lead to a sustainable water future. The book undertakes a thorough examination of the prevailing "conservation ethos" deeply ingrained in the culture, critically analyzing its historical roots and shedding light on its problems and inherent limitations. Additionally, it explores deep ecology and an Indigenous water ethos, offering radically different ways of understanding and experiencing water.

Interdisciplinary and international in scope, this detailed book examines the types of compliance and implementation mechanisms that can support transboundary water cooperation. Alistair Rieu-Clarke draws upon a range of theoretical accounts, case studies from the Danube, Orange-Senqu and Mekong rivers, and treaty practice to provide recommendations for the design and revision of transboundary water agreements.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar, 2025.
Exploring how international jurisprudence has catalysed the development of maritime delimitation law, this accessible book explores the 'predominant interest' concept and analyses global case studies, as well as landmark legal proceedings. Nicholas A. Ioannides provides a comprehensive overview of the delimitation process, identifying the criteria used to determine how maritime areas are delimited. The book highlights how international courts and tribunals in delimitation cases have mainly relied on geographical factors, disregarding non-geographical elements, although they are at the core of the continental shelf and exclusive economic zone concepts. Discussing an array of case studies, this is a useful toolkit for international law academics and students, as well as judges ruling on maritime delimitation cases. It will also be an essential guide for state government personnel involved in delimitation disputes.

Marking the 50th anniversary of the Ramsar Convention, the first modern multilateral environmental agreement, this timely book reflects upon the Convention's work and its wider impact upon the protection of aquatic resources and wetland-dependent species. This comprehensive book examines how and to what extent the Ramsar Convention has worked to protect wetlands, while exploring how it has influenced and collaborated with other international and regional regimes. Contributions from an array of expert authors analyse the key approaches and innovations that have been applied to the global protection of wetlands, while also considering the crucial role that wetlands play in climate mitigation and in supporting the needs of humans and animals alike.

Publisher: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, [2025]
With more and more countries including provisions on women's concerns in their trade agreements, "Trade Agreements and Women: Transcending Barriers" explores how women's empowerment and trade liberalization interact, overlap, and converge. Tapping into examples from across the globe, and taking into consideration the diverse political, economic, social, and legal contexts of different countries, Amrita Bari poses and answers some key questions: What role can trade agreements play with regard to women's empowerment, and what limitations do they have? Have previous efforts to include women through trade agreements been genuinely responsive to the needs of women, or have they been merely symbolic? What, ultimately, makes a trade agreement responsive to the needs of women, and how can countries achieve this in their own trade agreements? In answering these questions, Bahri carves out a roadmap, with concrete recommendations, for the future of women-related trade provisions, and offers much-needed guidance for legal scholars, trade negotiators, and policymakers involved in preparing, revising, and inclusively negotiating trade regulations.

Publisher: Northampton : Edward Elgar Publishing, 2025.
This pioneering book examines the experiences of women in war economies, analyzing women's roles as actors, perpetrators, collaborators and victims of these. In today's armed conflicts, lines between fighting, crime and pillage merge; with warring parties engaging in large-scale illicit enterprises - both to profit, and to generate funds required to sustain insurgencies. These economies, fed and sustained by conflict, are known as 'war economies'. Orly Stern rethinks dominant paradigms about war economies using a gendered lens, offering important new perspectives that have the potential to inform future thinking on armed conflict. The book makes a vital contribution to scholarship on women's economic participation in conflict, revealing how gender norms impact on and shape war economies.