New Books At The Zief Law Library

Publisher: Oxford, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2025.
"Antitrust in the Decentralized Economy" explores all aspects of the application of EU competition and US antitrust law in decentralized finance, virtual assets, central bank digital currencies, and blockchain products and services. Using the latest caselaw and literature in law, economics, and computer science, this book discusses economic and commercial activity in decentralized markets, shows how to perform market definition and measure market power, and analyzes abuse of dominance, monopolization, and collusion in these markets.

Publisher: Abingdon, Oxon; New York, NY: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2024.
AI is increasingly being used to create texts, images, and musical compositions. This increase in the application of AI within the creative industries can enhance human performance while producing creative and commercial challenges for human authors. This book considers how current mechanisms for incentivising creativity - including legal regulations, such as copyright, state funding and tax regimes - are inadequate in the age of AI. Acknowledging the opportunity that AI presents, the book then proposes alternative regulatory mechanisms through which human creativity can be incentivised. This book will appeal to scholars and researchers in the areas of socio-legal studies, intellectual property law, media law, and law and technology.

Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
The rise of artificial intelligence is challenging the foundations of intellectual property. In "AI versus IP: Rewriting Creativity," science writer Robin Feldman explains how AI threatens to erode all of intellectual property (IP) - patents, trademarks, copyrights, trade secrets, and rights of publicity. Using analogies to the Bridgerton fantasy series and the Good Housekeeping 'Seal of Approval,' Professor Feldman offers solutions to ensure a peaceful coexistence between AI and IP. And if you've ever wanted to understand just how modern AI programs work, "AI versus IP: Rewriting Creativity" explains it all in simple language, no math required. AI and IP can coexist, Feldman argues, but only if we fully understand them and only with considerable effort and forethought.

Publisher: London: Facet Publishing, 2025.
Addressing the growing need for innovation and automation in library cataloguing systems, this cutting-edge book teaches readers how to build AI-powered cataloguing apps using Microsoft Power Apps. This authoritative guide provides a step-by-step approach to how cataloguing processes can be modernized by using artificial intelligence, featuring a major retro cataloguing project as the primary case study. Focusing on creating inclusive bibliographic records, this book will enable readers to train AI models, develop tools to improve efficiency and collection management and address challenges such as uncatalogued collections and the demand for more accessible, enriched metadata. With a focus on practical applications and user-friendly methodologies, this transformative book provides librarians, information professionals and data managers with an accessible guide to building their own automated cataloguing systems.

Publisher: New York : Basic Books, a member of the Perseus Books Group, 2015.
In the world's top research labs and universities, the race is on to invent the ultimate learning algorithm: one capable of discovering any knowledge from data, and doing anything we want, before we even ask. In "The Master Algorithm", Pedro Domingos lifts the veil to give us a peek inside the learning machines that power Google, Amazon, and your smartphone. He assembles a blueprint for the future universal learner--the Master Algorithm--and discusses what it will mean for business, science, and society.

Publisher: Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2025.
In the modern economy, stock price is king. The value of a corporation is measured in how it enriches its shareholders, even when doing so subtracts from long-term growth or social good. Greed, in the last half-century of corporate practice, has become very good. "Company Men" is a sweeping intellectual history of how shareholder value rose from the lesser-known edges of academic theory to the vanguard of corporate practice. Historian Sean Delehanty marshals archival resources to reveal how a group of motivated consultants, activist investors, and academic economists successfully branded shareholder value as the antidote to problems of management and economic stagnation in the 1970s. In their success, they created a class of well-heeled managers who executed shareholder-value theory as an everyday practice--and at the expense of most everything else. Delehanty's history of the modern American corporation is a sobering account of the business regime that would rule the world and produce no shortage of regrets--even amongst those who championed it.

Publisher: New York: Oxford University Press, 2025.
For centuries, directors and officers have been identified as fiduciaries, bearing a legal and ethical duty to act in the best interests of those they represent. However, the liability standards that ordinarily exist are too lenient to be characterized as fiduciary. This misrepresentation is detrimental to the rule of law, contravenes reasonable investor expectations, and impairs the integrity of the financial markets. This book argues for the adoption of a new term that accurately portrays the status of corporate directors and officers who are held to varying standards of liability; corporate directors and officers are, instead, 'discretionaries.' Against this new model, the book addresses a range of key issues, including the duty of care, the business judgment rule, exculpation statutes, the duty of good faith, interested director transactions, derivative litigation, mergers and acquisitions, and closely held corporations. "Corporate Director and Officer Liability" offers an alternative framework that enhances corporate governance standards while protecting corporate fiduciaries from undue liability exposure.

Publisher: Eagan, MN: West Academic, 2025.
This Nutshell provides an introduction to California government, including state and local governmental entities. It begins with an explanation of the state Constitution and then examines in detail the three branches of government. These chapters provide in-depth explanations of the Legislature, its legislative process, the Governor and the other eight constitutional offices, followed by a review of administrative entities and the rulemaking process before exploring the state's judiciary. Thereafter, the book looks at local governments and the role they play as well as the state's electoral system.

Publisher: Boston, Massachusetts: Harvard Business Review Press, 2025.
"Just be yourself" might be the worst advice you've ever received. For years, we've been told that authenticity is the key to success--that we should be true to ourselves, tune out others' opinions, and lead with unwavering genuineness. This feel-good message has spawned countless self-help books, leadership seminars, and viral social media posts. There's just one problem: science says it's wrong. Drawing on decades of research, renowned psychologist Tomas Chamorro-Premuzic reveals an uncomfortable truth: our obsession with authenticity is backfiring. From Silicon Valley's authenticity worship to failed diversity programs, he exposes how our fixation on our "true selves" undermines both individual and organizational success. The most successful people aren't those who rigidly "stay true to themselves." They're the ones who adapt and evolve, largely by paying a great deal of attention to how others see them and adjusting their behavior to the requirements of each situation. The evidence is clear: when we focus less on expressing our authentic selves and more on understanding others, we become better humans. Blending the latest revelations in psychology with razor-sharp cultural critique, "Don't Be Yourself" doesn't just challenge conventional wisdom--it offers a playbook for long-lasting career success.

Publisher: Chicago, Illinois: American Bar Association, Senior Lawyers Division, 2025.
This book equips readers to harness technology for personal and professional growth. It explores essential tools, AI, cybersecurity, health tech, and more, offering practical advice to integrate, adapt, and thrive. Clear and engaging, it empowers users to master technology's transformative power and unlock new opportunities in today's digital-driven world.

Publisher: New York: Columbia University Press, 2025.
Race, it is widely understood, is a social category that has no genetic basis, yet biological notions of race keep reemerging. Attempts to redress disparities in biomedical research emphasize recruiting racially representative trial participants. Forensic use of DNA evidence purports to pinpoint the race of a potential suspect. Genetic ancestry tracing companies explain test results to customers using racial categories. The makers of genomic databases seek to ensure racial inclusivity. Jonathan Kahn argues that this predicament arises from a surprising source: the concept of diversity. Because diversity has become such a central concept across domains, Kahn contends, it enables slippage between these contradictory ideas, entangling biological and social views of race. Tracing the parallel histories of the Human Genome Project, workforce diversification efforts, U.S. Supreme Court cases over affirmative action, the rise of precision medicine, and the COVID-19 vaccine trials, he shows why diversity is often deployed in ways that threaten to biologize race or undermine efforts to address racial injustice.

Publisher: New York, NY : New York University Press, 2025.
In our increasingly polarized society, violence and echo chambers drown out all possibility of civil discourse. Thinly veiled racism, misogyny, and homophobia dominate media coverage. Again and again, national debates on race, gender, and justice go in circles. Is our language failing us? "Rules for Reactionaries" serves as both a faux guidebook for ultraconservative debaters and an analysis of their rhetorical strategies. Lee Bebout lays out how language can be manipulated by those who wish to suppress progressivism and maintain structures of inequality. Taking his readers across the turbulent political landscape of the late twentieth and early twenty-first century, he delineates the rhetorical strategies that have long been used to hinder progressive movements. "Rules for Reactionaries" reveals how language both reflects and shapes our politics. By reminding us each of the power we possess, Bebout challenges us to not only combat the rhetoric of reactionaries, but to change our own way of thinking.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
Copyright is meant to promote access to knowledge and culture and reward creators. But around the world, publishers, record labels and other investors continue to hoover up the rights and rewards due to creators and leave masses of creativity locked away from the public. This book shows why this bargain is broken, and how reverting copyright to creators can help redress it - allowing them to revitalize old works, turbocharged by technological advances that are providing more opportunities to do so than ever before. With cutting-edge empirical and doctrinal analysis of dominant reversion models from the United States, the Commonwealth and the EU, the book provides policymakers and academics with best-practice principles for designing reversion mechanisms that can help copyright laws do a better job of supporting the public interest in access while helping artists get paid.

This book will assist readers' learning and exam preparation in criminal procedure courses and for the bar exam. This volume covers arrest, search and seizure, interrogation, identification, suppression issues, and entrapment. The fifth edition includes questions concerning matters addressed in recent decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, as well as issues addressed by state and lower federal courts.

New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2025.
Since the 1970s, sentencing in many countries has evolved from a system in which courts enjoyed wide discretion to one where courts must consider guideline recommendations. This movement towards greater structure has led to the creation of independent bodies which sit alongside courts of appeal and play a pivotal role in guiding courts, advising legislators, and communicating with the public. Sentencing commissions and councils perform a range of other functions including increasing transparency and promoting fairness, consistency, and public confidence in the courts. "Sentencing Guidelines and Commissions" synthesizes existing literature on commissions and guidelines, identifies key issues, and clarifies the future of commissions and guidelines. The authors look back to the cumulative experience around the world since the first guidelines were created, and propose a model regime for legislatures to consider. "Sentencing Guidelines and Commissions" aims to determine whether and how guidelines may solve, or at least mitigate, some of the problems of current sentencing practice.

Publisher: Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2025.
"Impermissible Punishments" explores the history of punishment inside prisons and how governments grappled with obligations to justify the punishments they impose. Legal scholar Judith Resnik charts the creation of the corrections profession and weaves together the stories of people who made rules for prisons and the stories of those living under the resulting regimes. Her account documents the impact of World War II, the United Nations, the US Civil Rights movement, and the pioneering prisoners who insisted that law should protect their individual dignity. Taking us to the present, Resnik analyzes the expansion of imprisonment, the inability of public and private prisons to provide safe housing, and the impact of abolition politics. Exploring the interdependency of people in and out of prisons, "Impermissible Punishments" examines what governments committed to equality owe to the people they detain and argues that many contemporary forms of punishment need to end.

Publisher: Chicago ; London : The University of Chicago Press, 2024
A far-reaching examination of how America came to treat street and corporate crime so differently. While America incarcerates its most marginalized citizens at an unparalleled rate, the nation has never developed the capacity to consistently prosecute corporate wrongdoing. "Dual Justice" unearths the intertwined histories of these two phenomena and reveals that they constitute more than just modern hypocrisy. By examining the carceral and regulatory states' evolutions from 1870 through today, Anthony Grasso shows that America's divergent approaches to street and corporate crime share common, self-reinforcing origins.

Publisher: Lincoln: Potomac Books, an imprint of the University of Nebraska Press, 2025.
For fourteen years Reese worked with men and women in prisons to develop, edit, and produce stories from "system-impacted" students, including some who had committed murder. He went on more than 250 hours of ride-alongs with law enforcement officers to see crime from the front end. He sought to understand addiction, trauma, and why people commit unlawful acts, some hauntingly heinous, with results rippling far beyond the primary victims to families, friends, and communities. In a forthright reckoning with his own fear, desire for protection, and lingering anxiety, Reese wrestles with what humankind is capable of and what mercy means in the work of moving forward. "Coming to a Neighborhood near You" presents true accounts of mass incarceration and an interrogation of how to confront the human rights crisis in America's criminal justice system.

Publisher: New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2025.
The world has staggering levels of inequality. Most people worry about this. Some, however, accept or even approve of those inequalities. Why? "The Social Acceptance of Inequality" offers the first comprehensive analysis of the logics people use in support of economic inequalities. Turning to case studies from across the globe, it examines four primary logics. With original analyses employing a wealth of methodological approaches, the book offers a compelling investigation of the logics of acceptance, their variations and intersections, and how we may move toward a less unequal world.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY, USA: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
Income inequality in America has been on the rise for decades, but policy and legal thought has yet to catch up. Both parties in the United States have been hesitant to intervene in the market to address this problem, while the income tax system has been touted as a better and more efficient way to tackle income inequality. However, the tax system itself has failed to keep pace with the widening gaps in income. "Ending Income Inequality" challenges arguments made by legal scholars who have supported the tax system over redistributive legal rules. By examining specific areas of the law such as minimum wage, collective bargaining, antitrust law, intellectual property, and housing regulation, the book argues that using legal rules, in addition to income taxes, is a promising path to reverse rising inequality.

Since the Reagan era, conservatives in the United States have championed cutting taxes, especially for wealthy individuals and corporations, as the best way to achieve economic prosperity. John L. Campbell shows that while these claims are highly influential, they are also wrong. Using historical and cross-national evidence, the book challenges and refutes every justification conservatives have made for tax cuts - that American taxes are too high; they hurt the economy; they facilitate government waste; they constitute an unfair downward redistribution of income; and they threaten individual freedom - and conversely shows that countries can actually benefit from higher taxes, especially when tax increases fall most heavily on those most able to pay them. Campbell's book provides an accessible, engaging, and much-needed perspective on the role of taxes in American society.

Publisher: Lawrence, Kansas: University Press of Kansas, 2025.
The eight-hour day. The five-day work week. Minimum wage. Time-and-a-half overtime pay. Prohibition of oppressive child labor. Today we take these features of employment for granted, but they are the result of a long, difficult, and often violent struggle for workplace protections that culminated in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) of 1938. But it was the landmark 1941 Supreme Court decision in U.S. v. Darby Lumber Company that secured those protections. The Darby Lumber decision is a landmark case that affirmed the powers of Congress over labor standards and working conditions. Today the decision is as important as ever, with conservative groups seeking to undo these labor protections facing off against an insurgent labor movement aiming to regain lost ground.

Publisher: Oakland, California: University of California Press, 2025.
Consumers are demanding a healthier and more sustainable food system. Yet labor is rarely part of the discussion. In "Will Work for Food", Laura-Anne Minkoff-Zern and Teresa M. Mares chronicle labor across the food chain, connecting the entire food system--from fields to stores, restaurants, home kitchens, and even garbage dumps. Using a political economy framework, the authors argue that improving labor standards and building solidarity among frontline workers across sectors is necessary for creating a more just food system. Combining insights from food systems and labor justice scholarship with actionable recommendations for policy makers, the book is a call to action for labor activists, food studies students and scholars, and anyone interested in food justice.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts : Harvard University Press, 2025.
Tens of millions of US workers are required by law to have a license to do their jobs--about twice as many as are in unions. The requirements are set by over 1,500 industry-specific licensing boards, staffed mainly by volunteers from the industries they regulate. These boards have enormous power to shape the economy and the lives of individuals. As consumers, we rely on licensing boards to maintain standards of hygiene, skill, and ethics. But their decisions can be maddeningly arbitrary, creating unnecessary barriers to work. And where boards could be useful, curbing harms and ensuring professionalism, their performance is profoundly disappointing. When Rebecca Haw Allensworth began attending board meetings, she discovered a thicket of self-dealing and ineptitude. Drawing on hundreds of hours of interviews with board members and applicants, "The Licensing Racket" goes behind the scenes to show how boards protect insiders from competition and turn a blind eye to unethical behavior. Even where there is the will to discipline bad actors, boards lack the resources needed to investigate serious cases. The consequences range from the infuriatingly banal--a hairdresser prevented from working--to the deeply shocking, with medical licensing boards bearing considerable blame for the opioid crisis and for staffing shortages during the COVID epidemic. Meanwhile, unethical lawyers who are allowed to keep their licenses are overrepresented among advocates working with the most vulnerable groups in society. If licensing is in many arenas a pointless obstacle to employment, in others it is as important as it is ineffective. Allensworth argues for abolition where appropriate and outlines an agenda for reform where it is most needed.

Publisher: Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2025.
In the United States, the promise of a green-energy future is complicated by its realities. The country's legacy energy systems are decrepit; the rollout of new technologies is unequal and piecemeal; households find themselves increasingly without reliable or affordable access; and Americans are excluded from the decisions that shape their energy futures. Having power in America has become an exercise in race, class, and wealth--in more ways than one. "Power Lines" is a sweeping portrait of American energy in the twenty-first century, rendered in terms of its increasing--and inevitable--human costs. Coal miners in West Virginia lose their livelihoods as energy markets change; historically marginalized households cannot easily access new technologies; children in "sacrifice zones" adjacent to mineral-mining sites suffer health problems and limited resources; and cities and towns are burdened from the production of alternative energies. Sanya Carley and David Konisky show current challenges and an uncertain future of America's greatest policy imperative. The result is not only sobering but also essential for planning and pursuing a clean-energy transition that improves on the errors of the past.

Publisher: Boston, Massachusetts: Harvard Business Review Press, 2025.
Climate has changed the game for businesses around the world. With climate-related disasters costing billions in damages and public pressure rising, over a hundred nations joined the 2015 Paris Agreement, setting 2050 as the target for net-zero carbon emissions. In a recent survey of large, global firms, one-third reported that climate change was already affecting their operations. Business leaders need help navigating this complex, fast-changing environment. This guidebook by Harvard Business School professor and policy expert Gunnar Trumbull answers this need. "A Concise Business Guide to Climate Change" provides a single, short, and accessible account of the information crucial to understanding and addressing these challenges. In crisp, reader-friendly, and data-rich chapters, Trumbull presents the basic scientific, economic, policy, and accounting frameworks that managers need in order to answer these questions. Effective as an overview or as a reference on specific challenges, this book is your go-to business guide for dealing with climate change.

Publisher: New York: New York University Press, 2025.
It is no secret that the fossil fuel industry inflicts immense destruction to our environment. The past, present, and future of US energy have been determined not just by engineers, but by financiers, an under-studied group of energy investors. Drawing on four years of ethnographic work in Houston, Texas, the financial center of the oil industry, "Carbon Capital" explores how oil financiers decide what a good investment is, and how they incorporate ethics into their decision making. Sean Field's interviews and observations demonstrate that the people who finance the energy industries are actually deeply concerned with ethics. They grapple with questions about climate change and what it means to do the right thing, but the choices they make are ultimately guided by a combination of how they perceive the historical context in which they operate, their faith, which is largely religious Christian; their financial interests; plus the capitalist system in which they are running, all of which come together to shape their moral understandings about what a good energy future looks like. While the worldview of oil financiers may not align with our own, the author argues that given their importance in shaping environmental approaches, it is crucial that we understand what drives their ethical sensibilities.

Publisher: Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, 2025.
"Frontier Comrades" examines six accounts of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender lives on the frontier of the American West. Each account interprets this history through experiences that take place in different parts of the West, moving chronologically from the fur trade era to the dawn of the automobile age. Jim Wilke provides the first comprehensive accounts of figures such as transgender stage driver Charley Parkhurst; transgender Seventh Cavalry laundress Mrs. Noonan (also known as Mrs. Nash); and the extraordinary Clara Dietrich and Ora Chatfield, known by the contemporary press as "lady lovers." "Frontier Comrades" also offers glimpses of individual personalities. The maelstrom of opportunities and conflicts that made up the West affected lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender westerners in intrinsically personal ways. The accounts in "Frontier Comrades" provide an intimate yet expansive view of the American West.

Publisher: Durham: Duke University Press, 2025.
In "Queer Traffic", Jennifer Tyburczy traces how sexual dissidents across the Mexico-Canada-US borderlands transport the objects and experiences that nourish their sexual and social lives. She situates the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) as a pivot point in the formation of panics aimed at stamping out these outlaw sex practices. Highlighting NAFTA's erotic investments in hetero- and homonormativity, racial capitalism, markets of dispossession, and neocolonialism, Tyburczy directly engages with art, activism, and archives to revisit the struggles of people who invented circuits of sexual exchange through four decades of violence and criminalization. In conversing with actors from bureaucrats to pornographers and in studying choreographies, social movements, and street vocabularies, she examines an array of tactics that undermine the market logics of trade law and policy. Dreaming of other forms of living that go beyond mere survival, "Queer Traffic" guides us through the renegade pathways that circumvent the seemingly endless reach of free-trade capitalism toward other routes to pleasure.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
Kennedy presents a new way of evaluating the regulation of deceptively induced intimacy, that is, sex and sexual/romantic relationships, on the basis of an innovative genealogy of legal responses to this conduct. This book traces the development of a range of civil and criminal laws across c. 250 years, showing how using deception to induce intimacy has been legally understood, compensated and punished. It offers an original interpretation of the form and function of these laws by situating them in their social and cultural contexts. It argues that prevailing notions of what makes intimacy valuable, including the role it plays in self-construction, have shaped and constrained the laws' operation. It shows how deceptively induced sex has come to be treated more seriously while the opposite is true of deceptively induced relationships and concludes by presenting a new framework for deciding whether and when deceptively induced intimacy should be regulated by law today.

Publisher: Chicago, Illinois: American Bar Association, Health Law Section, 2024.
This book addresses the old and new generations of cybersecurity laws, compliance requirements, and threats, which need to be considered in conjunction with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) - a law that celebrated its 25th anniversary in August 2021 and continues to evolve. International cybercriminals have become more brazen, as attacks in 2021 and 2022 were aimed at children's hospitals - Boston's Children's Hospital and SickKids in Toronto, Canada. Actions like those perpetrated on children's hospitals, as well as other infrastructure considerations, such as the Colonial Pipeline prompted Executive Order 14028 - Improving the Nation's Cybersecurity, which called for the public and the private sectors to improve its prevention, detection, and correction of cyber risks and events. Government agencies, including the U.S. Department of Justice acted and implemented cyber-fraud and other cybersecurity enforcement initiatives. Now more than ever, healthcare industry participants - whether covered entities, business associates, or subcontractors - should utilize resources such as those set forth by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Health Sector Cybersecurity Coordination (HC3).

Publisher: New York: New York University Press, 2025.
As the US struggles to provide affordable housing, millions of Americans live in deteriorating public housing projects, enduring the mistakes of past housing policy. In "The Projects," Howard A. Husock explains how we got here, detailing the rise and fall of public housing and the pitfalls of other subsidy programs. He takes us inside a progressive movement led by a group of New York City philanthropists, politicians, and business magnates who first championed public housing as a solution to urban blight. Despite the movement's lofty ideals, the creation of the Projects led to the destruction of low-income communities across the country. Husock looks beyond these neighborhoods' physical conditions to their uncounted riches, from local artists to vital community institutions. As he shares residents' stories, he honors what they crafted through their own plans, rather than those of city planners. Through interviews with residents, he reveals how public housing transformed the lives of Americans and the physical faces of cities and towns. He ultimately critiques "repair and reform" efforts, making policy recommendations that address the core failings of public housing for the people it was once designed to help. Mapping out a better path for policy-makers, he lays a new foundation for upward mobility in America.

Publisher: Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2024.
This handbook provides a comprehensive global survey and assessment of the law and policy relating to homelessness prevention, examining how different jurisdictions from across all five continents of the world have encountered, framed and responded to homelessness. Written by expert scholars and leaders in their field, the book engages in a multidisciplinary and comparative analysis of homelessness as an issue of acute social concern. Understandings of homelessness are geographically, culturally and historically situated, making analysis of each jurisdiction's approach by a national expert deeply insightful. The collection examines legal and extra-legal policy interventions targeted at reducing or preventing homelessness from across the globe and will appeal to students and scholars of homelessness, sociology, social policy, anthropology, and urban sociology, as well as international and national policymakers.

Publisher: Athens, Georgia: University of Georgia Press, 2025.
As a lifelong resident of the U.S.-Mexico borderlands, Eric Gamino has always been curious why some U.S.-born Latinos were indifferent toward Latino immigrants. "Enforcing Order on the Border" offers a personal, ethnographic examination of Gamino's life as a resident of the RGV coupled with his experience as a police officer for two different police departments in the region. Gamino reveals how the concept of race functions within a predominantly Latino-origin community and unpacks the interplay between local police, federal immigration officials, and civilians as they encounter immigration. "Enforcing Order on the Border" illustrates how institutional practices such as immigration enforcement occur on the South Texas-Mexico borderlands as collaborative efforts between local police and U.S. Border Patrol from an institutional perspective. Consequently, this collaborative effort creates a distinctive method of policing, which he tellingly refers to as "constitution-free policing."

Publisher: New York: New York University Press, 2025.
The children of immigrants who arrive in the United States each year sometimes grow up without any knowledge of their undocumented status and the risks it poses. Julia Albarracín explores the lives of undocumented immigrant youth with a focus on the unique experiences of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) recipients and DREAMers in the United States. Drawing on interviews and legal research, Albarracín shows us how the precarity surrounding the youth's DACA status impacts their sense of political identity and belonging, particularly as Republican politicians target legal protections provided to them under DACA and the DREAM Act. The author examines how changes in immigration policies expose undocumented youth to constant ups and downs, leaving them in a limbo between deportation and integration into society, and limiting their social, economic, and political opportunities for advancement. Albarracín shows us how DREAMers confront--and fight to overcome--barriers in their lives and navigate their identity in the only country they know as home, and how they come-of-age without a path to citizenship.

Publisher: Tucson: The University of Arizona Press, 2025.
"Life Undocumented" captures the compelling stories of Latinx undocumented young adults growing up and living in two distinct sociopolitical contexts: California, which provides legal pathways into higher education for undocumented youth, and Georgia, which does not. The book is about how undocumented young adults in these two contexts navigate the pathway to and through adulthood, and the powerful role state laws and policies play in shaping their prospects for social mobility and their sense of belonging. This book underscores the resilience and agency of undocumented youth as they confront and resist the structural constraints imposed by immigration laws, offering a vivid portrayal of their emotional and social journeys and is a vital resource for anyone committed to creating equitable and inclusive systems for undocumented students.

Publisher: Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2025.
Migrants' and refugees' stories have become an essential part of the public debate around immigration. Benjamin Gatling edits interdisciplinary essays that bring together the distinct perspectives of researchers, activists, and policymakers to emphasize how these often-siloed communities can use stories as social science data and advocacy tools. Ranging from oral history projects to the asylum process to calls for decolonial justice, the contributors' analyses illuminate how migrants' and refugees' personal narratives influence both perceptions and policies. Their merger of perspectives provides a nuanced understanding of migration and emphasizes the importance of how storytelling can foster empathy, challenge stereotypes, and drive social change. At the same time, the essays center migrants' and refugees' voices within public debates and in work done to humanize the reality they face. Original and multifaceted, "Migration Stories" provides a vital addition to how we study and frame immigration.

Publisher: Oakland, California: University of California Press, 2025.
Over several decades, the influx of wealthy, white "lifestyle" migrants has transformed the economic, social, and ecological fabric of many rural communities across the United States--from alpine towns of the Rockies to forest and lake communities of the Southeast--in a process akin to urban gentrification. "Illegality and the Production of Affluence" explores an under-appreciated dimension of this process: its dependence on low-wage Latine immigrant workers, many undocumented, who build and maintain gentrified landscapes and lifestyles. Drawing on fine-grained qualitative data, Lise Nelson explores how employers recruited an unfamiliar workforce to places "off the map" of immigrant settlement. The book also reveals insights into how business practices and profitability shifted through the use of racialized, "illegal," and highly precarious labor. Finally, the book investigates the disjuncture between Latine immigrants' vital role in rural gentrifying economies and their social, civic, and racialized exclusion in the spaces of everyday life.

Publisher: Abingdon, Oxon; New York, NY: Routledge, 2025.
This book provides a definitive account of the creation and rise of the international Indigenous Peoples' movement. In the late 1970s, Indigenous Peoples around the world began to organize at the international level. Although each defined itself by its relation to a unique land, culture, and often language, Indigenous Peoples from around the world made an extraordinary leap, using a common conceptual vocabulary and addressing international bodies that until then had barely recognized their existence. At the intersection of politics, law, and culture, this book documents the emergence of the international Indigenous movement, detailing its challenges and achievements, including the historic recognition of Indigenous rights through the adoption of the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples in 2007. The book shows how this participation became an increasingly assertive self-expression and an exercise of self-determination by which Indigenous Peoples could both benefit from and contribute to the international community - now, crucially, by sharing their knowledge about climate change, approaches to development and well-being, and struggles against the impact of extractive industries on their lands and resources.

Publisher: Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands: Kluwer Law International, 2024.
The number of international tax disputes is constantly increasing as a consequence of the pressure that is exerted on the global tax system by a rise in the number of internationally active and mobile taxpayers and tax competition between states. The implementation of measures to tackle base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS) by multinational enterprises gives rise to further disputes. Another increase of disputes might arise from the latest reforms of the international tax system, namely the Two-Pillar-Solution to address the tax challenges arising from the digitalisation of the economy. The time is right for an institutionalised international tax dispute resolution mechanism that takes into account the interests of taxpayers, states, and the public and allows for a swift and binding resolution of international tax disputes. This book offers a comprehensive overview of existing international tax dispute resolution mechanisms - and an analysis of their procedural rules, advantages, and disadvantages - as well as a proposal on how they can be further developed in a way that ensures greater fairness and equity for all stakeholders. The author sheds light on how improvements in the design of dispute resolution mechanisms may be found and concludes with a draft convention that would implement these suggestions.

Publisher: Stanford, California: Stanford University Press, 2025.
Established as a post-World War II response to conflict and fascism, the European Court of Human Rights is routinely characterized as the most successful human rights institution in the world with its jurisdiction extending to over 700 million people across the 46 Council of Europe member countries. The Court is the crown jewel of the Council, an international organization dedicated to human rights, democracy, and the rule of law. And yet, for years, European institutions have been haunted by the specter of failure. In the shadow of rising populism, inequality, and war, faith in democracy and the rule of law has been shaken to its core. Drawing on fieldwork with human rights advocates, lawyers, and judges at the European Court of Human Rights, as well as participant observation, in-depth interviews, and archival research, Jessica Greenberg tracks two paradoxical experiences of the European human rights system and the Court: on the one hand, the Court as a bureaucratic "machine;" on the other, the Court as the "conscience of Europe." She argues that human rights frameworks fuel imaginative approaches to social change, and compel legal actors to creatively navigate institutions through advocacy, persuasion, and innovative interpretation of what the law is and what it should be.

Publisher: Oxford, United Kingdom: Oxford University Press, 2025.
In popular perception concentration camps are synonymous with genocide and Nazi racial extermination. Yet concentration camps were and are a global phenomenon, used at times even by democracies, with an astonishing range of functions. Drawing together a wide range of multi-lingual archival research and synthesising a broad secondary literature, Alan Kramer provides a comprehensive history of concentration camps, charting their establishment on the colonial periphery, through their most extreme and inhuman instances in the mid-twentieth century, to their continued use today. Concentration camps are shown to be a transnational phenomenon that emerged both simultaneously and diachronically under a variety of regimes, often concomitant with empire-building by revolutionary dictatorships, as sites of genocide, mass murder, and performative violence, but also as central elements of utopian schemes of social and racial transformation. Integrating the perspective of perpetrators and the victims within the historiography of other carceral institutions, the book will reshape the way we think about concentration camps as part of modern civilization.

Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
The Constitution divides power between the government and the people, granting the people an affirmative, collective right to exercise control over the government through our elected representatives. The Court's doctrine divides constitutional law into rights issues and structural issues. Structural constitutional doctrine ignores the Constitution's division of power between the government and the people. The Court's rights doctrines fail to recognize that the Constitution grants the people an affirmative, collective right to exercise control over our government. "People v. The Court" presents an indictment of the Supreme Court's constitutional doctrine, and a set of proposals for changes in the practice of judicial review that are designed to enable the people to reclaim our rightful place as sovereigns in a democratic, constitutional order.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
Over the past century, countries around the globe have empowered constitutional courts to safeguard the rule of law. But when can courts effectively perform this vital task? Drawing upon a series of survey experiments fielded in the United States, Germany, Hungary, and Poland, this book demonstrates that judicial independence is critical for judicial efficacy. Independent courts can empower citizens to punish executives who flout the bounds of constitutional rule; weak courts are unable to generate public costs for transgressing the law. Although judicial efficacy is neither universal nor automatic, courts - so long as they are viewed by the public as independent - can provide an effective check on executives and promote the rule of law.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
"Smart Court" delves into the digital transformation of courts, examining key aspects such as e-filing, e-service, e-evidence, e-judgment, and AI judges. It provides a comprehensive analysis of global practices and emerging technologies, offering valuable insights into the challenges and opportunities presented by this shift. With a focus on practical applications and future trends, this book equips readers with the knowledge to navigate and shape the evolving legal landscape. Spanning both technical details and the broader implications for justice, "Smart Court" is an essential guide is for legal professionals, scholars, and policymakers eager to understand how technology is transforming justice systems worldwide.

Publisher: Clark, New Jersey: Talbot Publishing, an Imprint of The Lawbook Exchange, Ltd., 2024.
The history of the law is known above all through its literature, an extraordinarily diverse body of texts in an equally diverse variety of formats. "Histories of Legal Literature" maps the past hundred years of English-language scholarship with a bibliography of 998 publications on the origins, authorship, dissemination, design, readership, and preservation of the works that shaped the law books of today, including the vast legal literatures from outside the Anglo-American world. With the help of a detailed subject index and statistical analysis, Widener and Greenwood reveal the strengths and gaps in this body of scholarship and point to opportunities for new contributions. Histories of Legal Literature will be a useful reference for legal historians, book historians, librarians, and those working in allied fields.

Publisher: Abingdon, Oxon; New York, NY: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2025.
Against a backdrop of increased online distribution of media, this book provides an in-depth analysis of how the platformisation of television is both shaping and being shaped by the changing sports media market.

Publisher: Boston: De Gruyter, 2024.
Due to digitalization, the pandemic and several economic crises, as well as the new demands on the world of work and the responsibility for sustainable business, the legal market and the ways lawyers work are changing. Law firms are facing entirely new and more complex challenges than before. This book provides answers to all questions related to law firm formation, law firm management, employee leadership, and law firm marketing. It highlights all aspects of modern strategic law firm development, including related business models such as legal tech. The clear and didactically prepared structure with chapter breakdowns, working examples, expert statements and summaries also facilitates selective reference to specific topics.

Publisher: Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2025.
"American Law in a Global Context: The Basics", now in a thoroughly revised edition, is an elegant and erudite introduction to the American legal system from a global perspective. Drawing on some comparative examples with a focus on American law, George P. Fletcher, Hoi L. Kong, and Steve Sheppard introduce underlying principles of common and civil law, constitutional, criminal, and public law, and property and procedure. The appendices include an introduction to the common law method, instruction on how to read a case, the interpretation of statutes, and an introduction to the Federal system and US courts systems. This revised edition offers a greater focus on American law itself and includes the addition of an easy-to-use Bibliography as well as a new Civil Procedure Appendix. Fletcher, Kong, and Sheppard provide a clear roadmap through essential areas of US law with in-depth analyses of well-known cases. These cases allow readers the opportunity to examine not only law as theory but as practice, while guiding them to further exploration through suggested readings. A must-own reference source for LLM students, undergraduates, and students of US law in other countries.

This book investigates how well-intentioned and often successful efforts to diversify American literature have also produced serious problems for literary freedom. Although progressives are correct to be focused on right-wing attempts at legislative censorship, Szetela argues for attention to the ways that left-wing censorship controls speech within the publishing industry itself. The author draws on interviews with presidents and vice presidents at the Big Five publishers, literary agents, authors, editors, marketers, sensitivity readers, and other industry professionals to examine the new publishing landscape. Szetela argues that changes to acquisition practices, editing policies, and other aspects of literary culture are an outgrowth of the culture of public outcries on online platforms, where users accuse authors--justifiably or not--of racism, sexism, homophobia, and other transgressions and that rather than address the inequities of literary production, this current moral crusade over literature serves only to entrench the status quo.

Publisher: New York, New York: Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, 2023.
Todd Rogers and Jessica Lasky-Fink offer the most valuable practical writing advice today. Building on their own research in behavioral science, they outline cognitive facts about how people actually read and distill them into six principles that will transform the power of your writing. Including many real-world examples, a checklist and other tools, this guide will make you a more successful and productive communicator.

Publisher: Oakland, California: University of California Press, 2025.
A sculptor works while wearing a GoPro camera to capture Instagram content. A painter decides whether to make pieces that she won't be able to share on Instagram, after her account was blocked for sharing "sexualized" content. An artist finds that her portraits of light-skinned women get an algorithmic boost over those featuring dark-skinned models. These creative workers are now using the content-generation skills and promotional strategies pioneered by influencers to compete for visibility online. "Influencer Creep" explores what happens when creative workers must go beyond their work to build a comprehensive online presence. Creator studies expert Sophie Bishop delineates how the tactics of professional influencers affect the ways creative workers navigate social media platforms. They must optimize their content to win the favor of opaque algorithms they do not control. They must engage in relentless self-branding, creating a compelling, consistent, and platform-ready image. And that image, in spite of being carefully manufactured, must be perceived as authentic. Taking seriously the motivations that drive more and more people into the contest for online visibility, "Influencer Creep" documents a creative workforce nervously conforming to the monopoly power of social media platforms--and occasionally resisting it.

Publisher: Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2025.
"How Low Interest Rates Change the World" explores the societal impact of changing interest rates. Taking its starting point in the remarkable four-decade decline in global interest rates from 1980 to 2020, the book examines five global trends it caused, the underlying factors that drove interest rates lower, and emerging trends likely to shape the future path of interest rates. The book contends that the steady decline in interest rates around the world from 1980 to 2020 played a pivotal role in shaping five significant global trends during the same period: soaring debt levels, escalating housing prices, surging stock markets, widening economic inequality, and increased financial risk-taking. The book also explores emerging factors likely to shape the future trajectory of interest rates. While demographic trends may keep rates low, other forces, such as rising public debt, can push them higher.

Publisher: New York: Oxford University Press, 2025.
In the last half century since the height of the rights revolution - a period marked by significant rights expansions but limited government capacity to enforce them - efforts to defend individuals' and communities' rights have hinged on the effectiveness of the "litigation state:" a fragile but sometimes powerful mode of governance that relies on private litigants and their attorneys, rather than agencies, to enforce the laws of the land. In "Agents of Justice," Quinn Mulroy argues that this system of governance was built and shaped by the concerted efforts of the agency officials who have largely been written out of the story of the litigation state. She traces how civil rights and environmental agencies established during the rights revolution developed creative strategies for mobilizing mass private legal activity on the statutes they enforce, generating significant, societal-level regulatory effects. In doing so, they acted as agents of justice. Mulroy builds a new theory of the origins and development of the litigation state, challenging the conventional view that it was created to circumvent the bureaucracy and insulate private regulatory action in the courts.

Publisher: New Haven; London: Yale University Press, 2025.
Assassination--the murder of a specific individual by an organised conspiracy in pursuit of political ends--has rarely failed to grip the imagination. In this incisive new history, Simon Ball shows how targeted political murder has become a tool of democratic states but also a key strategy of those who wish to topple them. Ball introduces us to the techniques of assassination and those who wield them, as well as the security regimes that have developed to prevent this violent practice. From the First World War and the age of empire to terrorism and the development of pilotless drones, Death to Order places assassination at the heart of modern political history--and shows how it continues to impact our world.

Cambridge, Massachusetts: The MIT Press, 2024.
Consent pop-ups continually ask us to download cookies to our computers, but is this all-too-familiar form of privacy protection effective? Rather than promote functionality, privacy, and decentralization, cookie technology has made the internet invasive, limited, and clunky. Jones traces the story of this broken consent arrangement back to the major transnational conflicts around digital consent over the last twenty-five years, finding that the policy controversy is an identity crisis rather than an information crisis. Instead of asking how people consent, Jones asks who exactly is consenting and to what. Packed into those cookie pop-ups, she explains, are three distinct areas of law with three different characters who can consent. Within (mainly European) data protection law, the data subject consents. Within communication privacy law, the user consents. And within consumer protection law, the privacy consumer consents. These areas of law have very different histories, motivations, institutional structures, expertise, and strategies, so consent-and the characters who can consent-plays a unique role in those areas of law. "The Character of Consent" takes us back to each character's origin stories within the legal history of computing and provides alternative ways of understanding the core issues within the consent dilemma.

Publisher: New York: New York University Press, 2025.
The International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 formally established the promotion of religious freedom as a U.S. foreign policy and national security priority. Tracing its origins and passage, "Prioritizing Faith" shows how the legislation was made possible by the convergence of growing evangelical and Jewish advocacy, the expanding international human rights movement, and a broader search for post-Cold War purpose. Yet implementation across administrations has been uneven, shaped by shifting geopolitical dynamics and internal institutional constraints. Hand traces how Clinton, Bush, and Obama each wove international religious freedom into their foreign policy visions while navigating competing priorities and evolving strategic interests. Through case studies in China, Vietnam, and Saudi Arabia, Hand reveals the inner workings and persistent challenges of American religious freedom policy on the global stage. Timely, insightful, and deeply researched, "Prioritizing Faith" offers an incisive assessment of the United States' efforts to promote religious freedom abroad, highlighting the enduring tensions between normative aspirations and the complexities of foreign policy practice.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2025.
Before legalization lowered the cost, one million women each year collectively paid upward of $750 million for abortions. In this illuminating book, Katherine Parkin reveals the strength of a massive consumer market that involved loans, advertising, and travel, as well as the costs associated with the procedure itself. Laying the foundation for the emergence of a public market that facilitated the buying and selling of abortions, wealthy population control ideologues encouraged positive public discourse on abortion, funded medical studies, and waged legal battles. While we may have imagined that securing an abortion was best understood as a hidden, woman-only experience, "The Abortion Market" reveals the extent to which businesses and businessmen openly selling abortion access shaped the experience of buying abortions for millions of women.

Publisher: Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2024.
The increasingly commercial nature of space activities and the intent to expand space travel have spawned renewed attempts of changing the foundations of space law, most of which originated in the twentieth century. "International Space Law in the New Space Era" addresses the international legal and regulatory aspects of outer space that govern developments in the field worldwide. It covers the five United Nations' space treaties along with soft law and other policies. With contributions from established experts, the volume encompasses the entire gamut of international space law while simultaneously addressing inadequacies that have arisen in light of current developments such as space commercialization, space tourism, and space mining.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts: The MIT Press, 2025.
Changing the world is difficult, as there is no way to make structural change without individual people making more structure-facing-decisions. In "Somebody Should Do Something," Michael Brownstein, Alex Madva, and Daniel Kelly show us how we can connect our personal choices to structural change and why individual choices matter, arguing that our most powerful personal choices are those that springboard us into working together with others. The book first diagnoses the problem of "either/or" thinking about social change, which stems from the false choice of making better personal choices or changing the system. Then it offers a different way to think about social change, anchored in a new picture of human nature emerging across the social sciences. Finally, the authors explore ways of putting this picture into practice.

Publisher: Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2025.
A revelatory book that lifts the curtain on America's most consequential public deception: how the rich get richer using tools the government gave them. Amid conflicting narratives about the drivers of wealth and inequality in the United States, one constant hovers in the background: the US tax code. No political force has been more consequential--or more utterly opaque--than the 7,000-page document that details who pays what in American society and government. Most of us have a sense that it's an unfair system. But does anyone know exactly how it's unfair? Legal scholar Ray D. Madoff knows. In "The Second Estate", she offers an unprecedented look behind the scenes of America's byzantine system of taxation, laying bare not only its capacity to consolidate wealth but also the mechanisms by which it has created two fundamentally separate American societies: the working Americans who pay and the ultra-rich who benefit.

Publisher: Chicago ; London : The University of Chicago Press, 2025
"Policy Responses to Tax Competition" provides an in-depth exploration of how jurisdictions design taxes on mobile economic factors. Tax competition between jurisdictions that seek to attract businesses and residents presents both opportunities and challenges. It can foster government efficiency and provide a counterweight to lobbying for increased spending, but it can also result in inefficiently low tax rates and revenue shortfalls as jurisdictions vie for tax bases. This volume examines the economic drivers and consequences of tax competition and presents empirical evidence on its effects. Altogether, this volume provides new insights into the nature of inter-jurisdictional tax competition and the range of potential responses available to jurisdictions at various levels in federal systems.

Publisher: Cambridge, Massachusetts: The MIT Press, 2025.
The accepted wisdom in big business is that the only worthy ideas are ones that make a lot of money. But Jim Fruchterman believes there is a different path for technology. In "Technology for Good," he delivers a comprehensive how-to for leaders who want to create, expand, join, support, and improve organizations that see building technology as a key element of delivering on their social good mission. Fruchterman makes a strong case that tech is required for social change at scale and offers guidance on how to structure, fund, staff, manage, scale, and sustain nonprofits that leverage technology for social good. The book includes actionable, proven practices; compelling case studies of nonprofits that have "cracked the code" on tech for good; and Fruchterman's own stories of what he has learned as a tech-for-good entrepreneur.

Publisher: Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota Press, 2025.
For the past century, our roadways have been engineered as pipes for cars, but they offer vast potential as public spaces. From New York and Boston to Portland and Los Angeles, cities are rethinking their streets, going beyond sidewalks and bike lanes to welcome non-motorists to share the asphalt roadway. "Reclaiming the Road" traces the historical evolution of America's streets and explores contemporary movements to retake them from cars--temporarily and permanently--for diverse forms of mobility and community life. To share the street raises important questions of equity, in transportation and beyond.

Publisher: Cambridge, United Kingdom; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2025.
With its focus on the city rather than the disaster event, this book situates natural disasters in the context of urban growth and change. It offers an original, interdisciplinary perspective by connecting the technical and socioeconomic dimensions of disaster risk and highlighting the commonalities of hazards such as river flooding, coastal flooding, and earthquakes. The book begins by proposing a novel Urban Risk Dynamics framework that emphasizes the roles of economy, landscape, and technology in influencing hazard, exposure, and vulnerability. This framework is then used to support the examination of six contrasting cities from around the world, offering generalized insights that apply to a wide range of urban risk contexts. The book will be of significant interest to students and researchers working in urban planning, civil engineering, Earth sciences, and environmental science, and to policy makers and practitioners concerned with reducing future disaster risk in cities.

Publisher: Princeton, New Jersey: Princeton University Press, 2025.
In "Trajectory of Power," William Howell and Terry Moe provide a sweeping account of the rise of presidential power, arguing that it has grown to the point where, in the wrong hands, it threatens to subvert American democracy and replace it with a de facto system of strongman rule. For much of the twentieth century, Republican and Democratic presidents pursued power in similar ways and almost always within democratic bounds. But Republican presidents since Ronald Reagan, in a transformation that has grown increasingly extreme over time, have gone beyond the "normal" incentives that have traditionally shaped presidential behavior to pursue a presidency of such expansive unilateral power, and with such disregard for basic democratic requirements, that it puts democracy at serious risk. "Trajectory of Power" traces this divergence in approach to the backlash of conservatives against the administrative state, and to their epiphany that a war on big government could only be waged through a presidency of extraordinary power.