U.S. Supreme Court Research

Select "Case Law" before you search. Google Scholar has all Supreme Court opinions, from 1791 to the present (with selected coverage of pre-1790 decisions). Federal court of appeals and federal district court opinions from about 1925 to the present. (The texts of the cases are drawn from various sources, including Justia and Cornell's Legal Information Institute.)

Cornell's Supreme Court opinion collection gives fast, free, same-day access to new opinions. Cornell's complete archive goes back to 1990, and has hundreds of pre-1990 decisions of historical significance.

Selected pre-1990 landmark decisions from the Court, grouped by topic.

"Findlaw's searchable database of U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1760." You can search by party name, case title, citation, full text and docket number. You can brows by year and U.S. Reports volume number.

For almost immediate notification that the Court has granted review, run a search in Westlaw's U.S. Supreme Court Cases database to retrieve the Court's memoranda decisions granting review. These orders do not contain any summary of the issues, but they do link to the case below, if that opinion is available on Westlaw. Westlaw subscribers can set up a Westlaw Alert in this source along these lines:

adv: (petition +s writ +s certiorari +s granted) or ("probable jurisdiction" /3 note or noted) and citation(mem) and date(after 7/2016)

Supreme Court opinions from 1790 to the present, including new full-text Supreme Court opinions, memoranda and orders within minutes of their release. Use the "Search within results" box on the left-hand side of the screen to find opinions by key word, docket number or party name. Follow these examples for docket number or case name searches:

number(12-307)
name("united states" and windsor)

Covers: 1790 to 1956.

Covers: 1957 to the present.