LibGuides: Immigration Clinic Research: Immigration Law

Introduction

This page highlight practice guides on U.S. immigration law and procedure, as well as sources for federal cases and administrative decisions.

Immigration Law Practice Guides

Many of these practice guides cover Special Immigrant Juvenile Status at least briefly. See the notes for each guide for the SIJS sections of that guide. Or, run a search such as the following:

"special immigrant" /10 juvenile [for Lexis]

"special immigrant" /s juvenile [for Westlaw]

Most of the guides also touch on refugee/asylum law and procedures. See the notes for each guide for details.

Immigration Fundamentals: A Guide to Law and Practice, 5th ed. - by Austin T. Fragomen, et al.
Available in print (Zief Library location: Law Stacks KF 4819 .F725 2015).
Immigration Law and Defense - by National Immigration Project of the National Lawyers Guild.
Westlaw version. [FORMS]
Immigration Law and Procedure, rev.ed. - by Charles Gordon, et al.
Lexis version. [FORMS]
Immigration Law and the Family - by Sarah B. Ignatius, et al.
Westlaw version. [FORMS]
Immigration Law Service 2d - by Shane Dizon, et al.
Westlaw version. [FORMS]
Steel on Immigration Law - by Richard D. Steel.
Westlaw version. [FORMS]
Asylum Case Law Sourcebook
This Sourcebook summarizes U.S. federal decision on asylum law. This is the Westlaw version. Coverage begins in 1980.
Special Immigrant Juvenile Status and Other Immigration Options for Children and Youth, 4th ed.
Available in print (Zief Library location: Law Stacks KF 4819 .J86 2015).

Federal Cases and Administrative Decisions

Immigration Cases - Westlaw
Includes "cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, courts of appeals, district courts, bankruptcy courts, Court of Federal Claims, Tax Court, military courts, and related federal and territorial courts that relate to the rights and disabilities of foreign persons in the United States. Coverage begins with 1789."
Immigration Administrative Decisions & Guidance - Westlaw
Covers decisions from: Board of Immigration Appeals; Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals Decisions; the Office of Chief Administrative Hearing Officer.
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals Cases - Westlaw
This source is devoted exclusively to cases from the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. Includes case on all topics. Coverage begins in 1891.
Board of Immigration Appeals Decisions - Westlaw
This source is devoted exclusively to Board of Immigration Appeals decisions. Coverage begins in August 1940.
Immigration Precedent Decisions: BIA, AAO/AAU - Lexis
Decisions from: the Board of Immigration Appeals; U.S. Department of Homeland Security Administrative Appeals Office (AAO, formerly AAU); and the Attorney General (AG) of the United States. Coverage begins in 1940. To search, run a Terms & Connectors search in the "Search Within Results" box.
Immigration Non-Precedent Decisions: BIA, AAO/AAU - Lexis
This source "contains selected Non-Precedent Decisions from the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA) & Administrative Appeals Office (AAO) from February 1985." To search, run a Terms & Connectors search in the "Search Within Results" box.