Skip to main content

International Trade, WTO & Environmental Law - A Research Guide

Tips and sources for researchers exploring the intersection between international trade law and international environmental law. Prepared for members of the International Trade, WTO, and Environmental Law Seminar at the USF School of Law.

Why Articles?

Law review articles are useful for finding discussions of narrower issues in trade and environmental law. They are also good for finding citations to relevant treaties, IGO or NGO documents, laws, dispute settlement reports, cases, and regulations.

This guide emphasizes "indexes" — article-finding tools that allow very precise searching but do not themselves contain the full-text of articles. For searching for full-text articles, and for comparisons of the various article-finding tools, take a look at the Zief Library's Finding Articles research guide for links to and descriptions of all the tools for finding law review articles.

Law Review Articles - Index to Legal Periodicals

The Index to Legal Periodicals is a comprehensive collection of citations to articles from academic law reviews and other scholarly legal publications. The online version covers 1908 to the present.

To search Index to Legal Periodicals for articles dealing with international trade and environmental law, use the Advanced Search option, and pattern your searches on the following examples.

For a broad search for articles dealing with international trade and environmental law, enter the following in the first search textbox, and select "SU Subject Terms" from the adjacent pull-down menu.

"international trade" and environment*

To narrow your search, you can limit by publication date, and/or add other search terms (e.g., "shrimp) to the other search textboxes.

"Full Text" Articles on Westlaw

The "Law Reviews & Journals" source on WestlawNext is not as comprehensive as the "indexes" (ILP and Legal Resource Index), but you may prefer the familiar search interface (especially if you are just getting started) and you may also find intriguing brief discussions tucked inside articles that are not otherwise relevant to your research.

Try both "natural language" and "terms and connectors" searching. If a terms and connectors search retrieves too many articles to review, try searching for your terms in the "title" field, or try a natural language search.

Legal Articles Published Abroad

If you'd like to expand your research to legal articles published outside the United States, try these sources:

Legal & Non-Legal Articles - Google Scholar

Google Scholar, while not comprehensive, provides a quick way to get a cross-disciplinary set of articles. It can be especially useful as you start your research and are still refining your search terms.

School of Law | 2130 Fulton Street | San Francisco, CA 94117-1080 | (415) 422-6307