Skip to main content

Foreign Legal Systems - Basic Research Resources

Resources for starting a search for: information about foreign legal systems; for the text of foreign laws or cases; or for discussions of how other countries approach specific legal issues or topics.

Introduction

Use the tips on this page to find reliable, scholarly book-length discussions of specific topics or areas of law with a comparative law slant.

Finding Scholarly Books at USF - Ignacio

Ignacio searches broad descriptions of books. These are just a few examples of Ignacio keyword searches for legal topics:

"insider trading" law
"first amendment" religio*
"fundamental rights" united states
energy law
"family law" comparative
"discrimination in employment" "law and legislation"
"european union" law environment*
"european union" law employ*
"human rights" europ*

To further refine your Ignacio search results, select "Law Stacks" from the "Location" options on the left-hand side of the results screen.

Finding Scholarly Books Worldwide — WorldCat

To find scholarly books worldwide, try WorldCat.

WorldCat searches broad descriptions of books. Here are some examples of WorldCat keyword searches for books on legal topics:

"dispute resolution" indigenous
family leave law
police interrogation law
copyright comparative
"european union" and "intellectual property" and reform*

For even more flexible searching, try WorldCat Advanced Search.

In WorldCat Advanced Search, try "Subject" searches, which can be very thorough and powerful. (You can combine "Subject" searches with key words and can narrow your search in a number of ways.) Here are some examples of Subject searches:

"Intellectual property" "European Union countries"
Discrimination "European Union countries"

Finding Books Worldwide — Google Books

Find books by searching the full text of books using Google Books.

Because Google Books searches the full text, you can often get good results with more narrow, specific searches than would be useful in Doncore or WorldCat — searches such as:

"eminent domain" "public use" kelo
"digital rights management" "fair use"
"rational basis with bite"
"age discrimination"
"part time" work "comparative law"
"european union" law climate change carbon trading
"european union" privacy databases

With Advanced Search, you can search by author and title, and limit by publication date.

International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law

This encyclopedia's suggestions for further research include citations to important scholarly books.

Szladits' Bibliography

The Szladits' Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law is very helpful for finding book-length treatments of compartive law topics published before 1990. The online version in the HeinOnline "Parker School" library is fully searchable. The Zief Library also has the print version.

School of Law | 2130 Fulton Street | San Francisco, CA 94117-1080 | (415) 422-6307